Customer Reviews for

Storm Prey (Lucas Davenport Series #20)

Average Rating 4
( 458 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(187)

4 Star

(136)

3 Star

(79)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Storm Prey is the twentieth Prey police procedural, but retains the freshness of the series opening act

Dr. Weather Karkinnen, wife of Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension Chief Lucas Davenport, is one of the surgical team diligently working to separate twins co-joined at the head. As they begin the complex series of operations, four men rush into the hospital's pha...
Dr. Weather Karkinnen, wife of Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension Chief Lucas Davenport, is one of the surgical team diligently working to separate twins co-joined at the head. As they begin the complex series of operations, four men rush into the hospital's pharmacy, taking millions in drugs. The surgery is postponed for one day.

Weather saw the face of one of the men in the garage and in the elevator. She also sees their vehicle. The robbers understand that Weather is a witness who can identify them; so she must die. They shot at her when she was in her car, but she gets away unscathed. Lucas provides his spouse with police protection while he and his unit investigate the theft. He learns that one of the thieves was a doctor. Once he finishes his inquiry and she the surgery, he and Weather become predators and no longer the prey.

Storm Prey is the twentieth Prey police procedural, but retains the freshness of the series opening act (see First Prey) as this case is personal. There is plenty of action in the plot as explosions and violence frequently occur; nut not enough to turn off the audience. The hero has grown over the course of the series, but though experienced he remains true to his values as he still does not play by someone else's rules though he adheres to the law.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on March 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Why do I need to read it now?

"Publishers Weekly"'s synopsis gave spoilers for most of the book! Thanks a lot, guys! >:-(

posted by Deb88 on May 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 459 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Storm Prey is the twentieth Prey police procedural, but retains the freshness of the series opening act

    Dr. Weather Karkinnen, wife of Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension Chief Lucas Davenport, is one of the surgical team diligently working to separate twins co-joined at the head. As they begin the complex series of operations, four men rush into the hospital's pharmacy, taking millions in drugs. The surgery is postponed for one day.

    Weather saw the face of one of the men in the garage and in the elevator. She also sees their vehicle. The robbers understand that Weather is a witness who can identify them; so she must die. They shot at her when she was in her car, but she gets away unscathed. Lucas provides his spouse with police protection while he and his unit investigate the theft. He learns that one of the thieves was a doctor. Once he finishes his inquiry and she the surgery, he and Weather become predators and no longer the prey.

    Storm Prey is the twentieth Prey police procedural, but retains the freshness of the series opening act (see First Prey) as this case is personal. There is plenty of action in the plot as explosions and violence frequently occur; nut not enough to turn off the audience. The hero has grown over the course of the series, but though experienced he remains true to his values as he still does not play by someone else's rules though he adheres to the law.

    Harriet Klausner

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    more of the same...which is good

    A good read, I enjoyed it quite a bit and gave it 4 out of 5 stars. I like that it had new bad guys, Lucas Davenport is still a strong character, and it included some of Sandford's new rising star, Virgil Flowers.

    It was not as strong as some of the early prey series books but the story still kept me attentive and wanting to pick it back up to see what would happen next.

    An interesting ending too.

    Good read

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2010

    Good suspense; slopply publishing

    Having read all of John Sanford's books, and most of the 'Prey' series more than once, I knew what to expect - good writing, good suspense, and a fast-moving plot.

    What else can one say about this successful series?

    On the other hand, a top notch author like Sandford deserves better treatment from his publishers.

    The plot blurb on the flyleaf of the dust jacket says "Very ealy, four forty-five on a bitterly cold Minnesota morning"..... Page one, chapter one, says "fifteen minutes after five o'clock on a bitterly cold winter morning." That's just too sloppy for words, as is the fact that forty pages into the book, a woman is referred to twice as blond, but two or three paragraphs later she is refered to as blonde. Is editing a totally lost art?

    The list of best selling authors being given short shrift by the Putnam group just keeps on growing.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A solid B+

    If you have been reading the Prey series from the beginning -Storm Prey being the 20th installment- each new book is sort of like dropping in on old friends you have not seen in a while: you don't really expect much to have changed.and it usually hasn't. That is the feeling reading this new volume.

    The basic story, a robbery by some dim-wits that goes bad, is perfectly serviceable; but the feeling is that Sandford could have done a better job had he not decided to put the character of Davenport's wife, Weather, in the middle of the whole thing. The coincidence that gets her involved -she just happens to pass the bad guys' car in a hospital parking garage- is both way too contrived and played to unbelievable effect. Think of it this way: how many of us would remember the face of a driver in a car that passes us for just an instant? Even were the "pass" a near miss, almost a collision, it is unlikely that anyone would be able to recall the face of the driver with clarity enough to carry the weight Sandford places on the incident in this book.

    Still, the action as it draws out is well done, even if Sandford, having mistakenly had his Davenport character adopt a teenager years ago, now must trot her out for a few useless lines in every book just to show she's still around. The bad guys are well drawn, and the end is somehow satisfying. No big BOOM.just a believable conclusion.

    All in all, these characters are old friends I will look forward to visiting again in another year or so.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    Sandford does not disappoint

    Easy reading and enjoyable

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Love the Prey Series

    I have been reading John Sandford's novels for quite a while now. I have an affinity for these characters. Lucas is complex and flawed and I love his family. His surrounding cast is also lovable. The plot is kinda strange but the best way to sum it up is there are a bunch of dumb perpetrators who panic over a minute detail and it causes them to lose their damn minds and act totally irrational leading to even dumber decisionns than robbing a hospital pharmacy.

    There is an underlying story of the medical persuasion where twins a joined at the brain and Lucas' wife is an instrumental pat of the medical team who will seperate them. All of this is done under the backdrop of the ongoing investigation nto the hospital robbery.

    Most Davenport stories end with the main suspect tring to go out in a blaze of glory, this is no exception. The story tidies up nicely. I would love to have had more of Sandy and Letty and I too look forward to the next Flowers installment. If you are new to JS Prey series, personally, I like the earlier ones. Lucas wasn't a family man yet and the stories were so much deeper on a psycho level. In all, I am a fan and I like that these are far less predictable than a James Patterson thriller.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Maybe Davenport is Human After All

    Storm Prey actually has nothing to do with storms. It is the latest in the continuing saga of Lucas Davenport chasing psycho killers across the frozen north country. What makes this one different is the added touch of humanity we see in both the good guys and the bad guys. They make a lot of mistakes, they lose control, and they let their emotions interfere with their decisions. These flaws actually make the characters more believable and the story much more interesting.

    Lucas and his top cops are hot on the trail of an unlikely bunch of mediocre criminals who have suddenly become deadly. The violence steadily escalates as the group tries to close up ranks and tie up loose ends. Davenport's wife Weather turns out to be a key potential witness and becomes a prime target. Unfortunately, she is busy working with a team of skilled surgeons to perform a delicate operation to save the lives of two young infants.

    The medical team races against their own deadline as Lucas and the guys try to find the killers and shut them down. Both dramas unfold at the same time, keeping you continually caught up in the emotions of everyone involved. The unexpected mistakes of both the cops and the killers provide for continuous surprises along the way, and the ending is vintage Sandford.

    By bringing his characters back down to earth, Sandford has cooked up a gritty and enjoyable thriller. He proves that even fictional people can seem real. I can't wait for the next one!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    John Sandford is one of my most favorite authors.

    I truly enjoy the Lucas Davenport series and also Virgil Flowers, and I especially like them together in the same story. This author knows how to expertly weave the storyline together, engaging the reader from the books beginning to the end. I am only saddened when the story ends, but then begins the waiting process for John Sandford's next offering.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2010

    Why do I need to read it now?

    "Publishers Weekly"'s synopsis gave spoilers for most of the book! Thanks a lot, guys! >:-(

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    He's done it again!

    Another great story from Sanford. He never disappointed me before and definitely came through again. Can't wait for the next one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2010

    Sluggish Prey

    What has happened to John Sandford? For the last few years the Prey series has been dull. I feel that he has been showing better attention to the Virgil Flowers series and the Lucas Davenport is suffering. In Storm Prey I know it s focus was Lucas wife but the conjoined twins surgery was unnecessary and dragged on to long.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Rednecks and Brain Surgeons?

    And interesting combination of tales - the separation of conjoined twins juxtaposed with a redneck drug robbery gone bad. The characters are a little thin, and some of the plot leaves you scratching your head (sorry, no plot-busting here) but all in all it was a good beach read. As a part of the long line of Lucas Davenport books (#20, I think?) it fills the bill, but as a read-alone it's just OK.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    As expected great book

    Sanford does another great job capturing the reader. Very nice job keeping the series fresh and interesting

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Lucas Davenport is the central character in all of the Pray seri

    Lucas Davenport is the central character in all of the Pray series. His
    rise from a Minneapolis Police officer to the Minnesota BCAis part of
    the story as he tracks down the Bad guys and Gals. I have enjoyed
    reading these novels and would highly recommend them to anyone. They
    hold your attention and you even find yourself as being part of the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2012

    A Great Thriller

    True to his previous books, John Sandford brings the reader another exciting story in the Lucas Davenport series. The story is fast paced and twisted in an intriguing way that only Sandford can produce. This is a must for Davenport fans and a really good read for people who love mysteries.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Sandford does it again

    I love his style, and this does not disappoint!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    There was a sense of humor ...

    There was a sense of humor throughout this book that made it esp fun to read. There were times I thought I was a part of the old "America's Dumbest Criminals" TV show (I think that was the name), but then you wondered if they just weren't a bunch of down-to-earth biker guys who got in way over their heads (Except for Cappy & Barakat, of course). Interaction between the law enforcement guys was often a hoot (like always w/J.S.) & made me laugh out loud. All that said, the conjoined twins & Weather storyline was compelling & realistic amid the chaos of the criminal storyline. This read didn't keep me "on the edge of my seat w/anticipation", but it was fun from start-to-finish.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2011

    Highly recommend

    A thriller. Davenport has cooled down a bit and doesn't make his Porsche go as fast as he use to but the speed of the book makes up for it.

    As a note. If you are able to find any of the Lucas Davenport recorded books at the public library, check it out and listen. The person that reads the book is without a doubt the very best reader in the world. Think I'm kidding? Find one and see for yourself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    Haven't read a book of his I didn't like

    Two authors I'll buy in a heartbeat. Sandford and Child. Always entertaining. Some better than others, but all worth reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2010

    Man oh man--what a ride!

    Man, oh man--what a ride! This is the reason that the Prey Series is my favorite series. Sandford does such a great job with this story. From the characters, to the mystery itself, this is what a dirty, gritty cop-drama should be about. The characters in this book are written so well. Great detail is given to describe each one, from the pharmacy workers, to the bad guys, to Lucas Davenport. All of them have great personality and depth. All of them are easy to connect with. The mystery itself is a good one. It starts with the "small crime" of robbing a pharmacy and quickly mushrooms into drugs, kidnapping and multiple murders. You read along and start to worry; start to wonder how in the world Davenport is going to put it together. But in the end he pulls it off without a hitch. The bad guys are taken care of and the good guys are safe. This book has it all for anyone that loves a dark, rough cop story: sex, drugs and murder. If that sort of story appeals to you and you haven't started this series yet, do yourself a favor and grab the first book today!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 459 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23