Customer Reviews for

Storm Thief

Average Rating 4.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    All time favorite! Can be read over and over again

    I love this book it is one off my many favorites, i love the fact that it is written in parts instead of chapters it really keeps you guessing and the characters a so colorful, the plot is interesting, really love Chris Wooding's style of writing.I love this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting and thrilling.... A must read

    Storm thief will keep you on the edge of your seat through out the whole book. The main characters, Rail and Moa, are thiefs in the city of Orokos. They steal any thing from jewerly to food. But once they come across an ancient artifact that creates magical door ways their whole life changes. They go on an amazing adventure through the city, dodging probability storms, revenants, and the protectorate. I would recommend this book to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    Memorable

    I read this book years ago in middle school ( though it hada cooler cover in print) and I still remember it. This along with his other works like poison and a haunting are very good. I have wondered for a long time if this book ever had a sequel written for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    LOVE IT!!!! inspiring the best ive read yet. amazing really real

    LOVE IT!!!! inspiring the best ive read yet. amazing really really amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    I looooove this book it is amazing.

    This book will have you on end it has adventure horror and even a little bit of romance.i reccomend this book to the whole entire world. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Twisted Propable Faith

    Storm ThiefBy: Chris WoodingNew York: Scholastic Inc. 2007Page #'s 310Look out Atlantis, another hidden civilization has arrived! Storm Thief, unleashes the "possibility" of looking at an advanced civilization in the future. But, the future is grim, characters such as Rail and Moa, experience the horror of control throughout the land. These two thieves venture out of the "city of chaos", and find the secret behind the land of Orokos. The divine ruler of Orokos is called The Patrician, which seems to have the gift of knowledge and eternal life. The Patrician defends the civilized people of Orokos from the demon sprits called the Revenants. The future holds so much wizardry, when the two thieves discover the hidden truth behind the Orokos and find they're way out. Making this the most exciting book to read if you enjoy the thrill of excitement and love to venture new lands to unlock the mysteries may lie.Storm Thief utilizes your imagination to see the twisted world that holds secrets to life. The hidden secrets are portrayed as Rail and Moa venture into the outskirts of Orokos to find the answer about a specific creature, a bird. To accompany the thieves on their journey out of the city is a peculiar looking human, which has human-like flesh and other mechanical parts to make him an ugly help for the team. They then have to endure close deaths until they reach the "safe" area of Orokos. That area is known for its poverty and desperate freedom from the Patrician.I have read many adventure books that show characters leaving a hostile area to another place, and meeting new people, the character then creates a new life, and then "they live happily ever after, the end", boooring! This book takes the three adventures back to the city, and speaks to the "ghost" who archived all of Orokos' past. While I read this book, I was engulfed into the mystical world of the future, and the details given in this book seem to jump out of the page. Making this one of the best books I had ever read.Though, I still wonder about the leader of the thief's, or Anya-Jacana, it seemed like she was more like a greedy obese person. But I really wonder what was here past, how does she became the head of the criminal world in Orokos. Orokos was not just a place were they was poverty and misfortune, but there is also a wealthy layer. Vago, was first introduced in the story as a servant that did the bidding of a wealthy toymaker. Vago then fled out of the wealthy palace, the book did not tell anymore information about the toymaker's family, which I wonder what happened to the family after Vago left. But the most important question in my mind is what ever happen to Rail and Moa? Towards the end of Storm Thief, the three escape Orokos via boat in search for foreign lands. It seemed like a happy ending for Rail and Moa, but the book does not tell what ever happened to them, I hate cliffhangers.Storm Thief, is a book that utilizes the main parts of the brain, the thinking and the imagination portions. In a book, these are especially useful for a reader to fulfill the thought and world inside the pages. In Storm Thief, it followed through with these utilizations thoroughly and perfectly. It made me think, it made my emotions flare up, it made me read the book as if I was watching a movie. A good book deserves an award and apparently Louisiana Young Reader's Choice Awards in 2009 did give it an award. I just hope the author of this book, Chris Wooding, takes care of his award because the probability of the "thief" stealing his award is greater than the number of Revenants in the modern world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Storm Thief.

    March 7, 2010Storm ThiefChris WoodingStorm Thief. Chris Wooding. Broadway, New York: Scholastic Inc., 2006. 307pages.Ever hear of The Twilight Zone? It is a TV show where anything can happen, where anyone can be anything, where the greatest fear is fear itself. I am only saying this because Storm Thief and The Twilight Zone have a common theme to the story. Anything can happen. Storm Thief, by Chris Wooding, is a story of imagination. The world of Orokos, the island of which Storm Thief takes place, is home to many. However, outside of the island "life does not exist".Rail, a young man faces the cruel world of Orokos, lives in the ghettos of Orokos and makes day to day by stealing. Rail, the unlucky character he is, also was hit by a probability storm, he also was not one to forgive and forget. Page 46, paragraph 3, "He wouldn't accept what had been done to him by the probability storm. Why couldn't he understand that change just happened, that there was nothing anyone could do to prevent it". Probability storms are the connection between The Twilight Zone and Storm Thief. Probability storms can alter, annihilate, vanish anything it touches. Due to the storm Rail now has to wear a respirator to breath. Moa, Rails apprentice, is frail, which drags Rail down some times during a get-a-way. Both Rail and Moa work for a thief lord named, Anya-Jacana. This common job of stealing they did every day, gets turned upside down when Moa and Rail are sent to steal from the Mozgas. The Mozgas stole something from Anya-Janaca, as ironic as that sounds, Anya-Janaca wants her goods back. The task on hand was a little bit challenging for the duo.Aside from the normal loot they usually find, the Mozga were holding some ancient disk, soon to be discovered as Faded Technology. Even after it is determined as Faded Technology the two did not know that the same power of probability storms were in their hands. Thinking that Anya-Janaca did not know that the disk was there, they took it for themselves. But, Anya-Janaca sent them there mainly for that purpose, to retrieve the disk. Vago, a golem mentioned earlier in the book, allies with Moa and Rail and later on becomes great friends with Moa. Rail on the other hand wants to ditch Vago, kind of mean of Rail. But, Rail has his reasons, Vago may be strong, immune to aether but he is also gigantic and ditzy, and when you are a thief, always trying to hide, a huge body is not the best thing to have with you. Other people do not like Vago either, page 32; paragraph 3, "Grandpa says you're a golem!' Ephemera had crowed. 'You didn't have a mama or a papa. Someone ade you. Aren't you ugly?" Vago could or is considered ugly, but you don't just go shouting it in his face. So, the three, Rail, Moa and Vago the golem are being pursued by Anya-Janaca, Finch, Secret Police, the occasional probability storm and roaming revenants.The setting of the book, Orokos and how if anyone ventures off the island, they will be destroyed by droids, reminds me of The Matrix directed by the Wachowski Brothers. It's the life of people controlling your life, trying to make a perfect world. Orokos is the only place where "life exists". No one is allowed off the island. I also think that this Chris Wooding's theory about life in outer space. You will not know if there is life form out there unless you voyage far enough to the point of sacrifice. Orokos' citizens want to leave the island, but they cannot, so they tell themselves that life does not exist outside of Orokos. They do not want to take a chance outside of their own little world.There were a couple of things that made me chuckle here and there. Chris replaced "freaking" with "frecking". Page 43, paragraph 4 is just one out of the many examples that kept me laughing, "You frecking what? Moa cried." Moa is usually the only who says "frecking" but when Rail finds out Moa is alive towards the middle, he uses it too! I laughed on page 141, paragraph 5, "She's alive, Vago. She's frecking alive."This book was definitely a success. I mean the book was unbelievable, it has a story of no other. Story of two thieves in a world of chaos, who may become the most powerful people alive?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Storm Thief

    Rail and Moa are thieves in the only city of Orokos (and by only I mean only - there is nothing else). While on a mission they discover a piece of ancient technology and they don't turn it in to their patron. This is all the start of a very grand adventure as Rail and Moa run from the secret police, monsters knows as Revenants, and the thugs sent by their thieve's patron.

    Along the way the meet a very interesting "person". A golem named Vago that has quite an interesting past,of only he could remember what it was. Together the three flee across the city looking for a new and better life.

    This was a fantastic story. The characters are fantastic and come to life on the pages. Their relationship is unique and wonderful to read about. They are all bound together by a fate that is greater than any one of them.

    5/5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    MUST Read! LOVE IT WITH A PASSION!!

    I picked up this book my freshman year in high school because I needed a book for my AR points in my English class. I read through this book in a matter of three days (& I'm a very slow reader!) I just couldn't put this book down! Chris Wooding made me feel emotions towards the characters that he had created. I have read this book multiple times and every time it still makes a very good read. I recommend this to every person who wants adventure with twists and turns that will shock you. I will admit that I had drown to love the characters and was sad that there was no sequel to this fabulous book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2010

    Twisted Probability

    Title: Storm Thief
    By: Chris Wooding
    New York: Scholastic Inc. 2007
    Page #'s 310
    Look out Atlantis, another hidden civilization has arrived! Storm Thief, unleashes the "possibility" of looking at an advanced civilization in the future. But, the future is grim, and the characters such as Rail and Moa, experience the horror of control throughout the land. These two thieves venture out of the "city of chaos", and find the secret behind the land of Orokos. The divine ruler of Orokos, called The Patrician, seems to have the gift of knowledge and eternal life. The Patrician defends the civilized people of Orokos from the demon sprits called the Revenants. Revenants are evil sprits which can poses dead humans called Taken; "The mere touch of a Taken meant death" (Page 93), when touched by their aura. The future holds so much wizardry, such as a gadget that can "open doors, anywhere" (Page 52) The two thieves, Moa and Rail discover the hidden truth behind the Orokos and find they're way out. Making this the most exciting book to read if you enjoy the thrill of excitement and the love of venturing to new lands to unlock the mysteries that may lie.

    Storm Thief uses imagination to allow you to see the twisted world that holds secrets to life. The hidden secrets are portrayed as Rail and Moa go out and ventures into the outskirts of Orokos to find the answer about a specific creature, a bird. "Well I'm no expert, but I think you've got something quite unusual here" (Page 35). Then from that moment on, the journey began. To accompany the thieves on their journey out of the city is a peculiar looking human, which has human-like flesh and other mechanical parts to make him an ugly help for the team. Throughout the entire story Vago and a few other people had wondered "what were you made for?"(Page 57). To search for the answers, they have to endure close deaths and violent regions until they reach the "safe" area of Orokos. That area is known for its poverty and desperate freedom from the Patrician where they find the answer.

    I have read many adventure books that show characters leaving a hostile area to another place, and meeting new people, the character then creates a new life, and then "they live happily ever after, the end", boring! This book takes the three adventures back to the city, and speaks to the "ghost" who archived all of Orokos' past. While I read this book, I was engulfed into the mystical world of the future, and the details given in this book seem to jump out of the page, making this one of the best books I had ever read.

    Title: Storm Thief
    By: Chris Wooding
    New York: Scholastic Inc. 2007
    Page #'s 310

    Look out Atlantis, another hidden civilization has arrived! Storm Thief, unleashes the "possibility" of looking at an advanced civilization in the future. But, the future is grim, and the characters such as Rail and Moa, experience the horror of control throughout the land. These two thieves venture out of the "city of chaos", and find the secret behind the land of Orokos. The divine ruler of Orokos, called The Patrician, seems to have the gift of knowledge and eternal life. The Patrician defends the civilized people of Orokos from the demon sprits called the Revenants. Revenants are evil sprits which can poses dead humans called Taken; "The mere touch of a Taken meant death" (Page 93), when touched by their aura. The future holds so much wizardry, such as a gadget that can "open doors, anywhere" (Page 52) Th

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2010

    Storm Thief Chris Wooding New York: Scholastic Inc,2006. 310 pages.

    This book is an story packed with Visual details that make the story line seem like its real. The story is about two Kids Named Moa And Rail who are theives with their Friend A Mechanical half-human Golem named Vago who has wings but not used to fly but to glide around the air, trying to protect and item known as The Artifact and Destroy the Chaos Engine which lives inside the city of Orokos.The Choas Engine is A Machine that can Basically do anything that involves Drastic changes or Altercations. In the story there are many difficult obstacles that Moa,Rail,and Vago have to go through. Such as going face to face with Taken's: monsters that are made of aether that if they touch any human it's instant death,Revenants: ghost like monsters that can walk through walls and fly through the air and other monsters. Several times they almost experience death, but somehow they manage to escape it and contiue protecting the artifact.Overall i think the book was great. Every line and word made me feel like i was experiencing the book at first hand. It used visual contexts and other descriptions to make me feel that i was actually there.In the end however was a complete let down. The book left off with many unanswered questions. Basically too me that was the only downside. To me Chris Wooding should make this into a series to answer all those unanswered questions. Overall I recommend this book to any Kid or Teen that likes Action Packed Adventure stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2010

    Storm Thief, A must Read.

    A book written by a British, sci-fi loving author, Storm Thief will keep your imagination fueled and the adrenaline running. Telling a story of a dystopian city in the middle of and ocean, it combines the science fiction genre with Gothic arts and a corrupted, futuristic setting. With two puny main characters and a monstrous, synthetic creature looking for answers, this book is a perfect blend of a powerful story and amazing action sequences.

    The book has an overall dark and mysterious theme along with several tense scenes of action. Not only does it have such a widespread list of how the setting affects the characters, but it also has a shallow background explanation in the book. In the city of Orokos, a team of scientists build a engine that can generate probability storms, a wave of energy that can alter anything in Orokos. It is completely random, and cannot be controlled. Orokos is divided into classes, based on wealth. The majority of the city is on the lower class, or the ghetto-folk. The two main characters, Rail and Moa, are nothing more than two outcasts in an anarchic city. There is also another character, Vago, who is a golem, in other words, a bulky, robotic sentinel with wings. The plot involves a white bird flying through Vago's window one day and crashes, collected by Vago and tied around his neck. On another side of the story, it involves Rail and Moa, two thieves working for Anya- Jacana, otherwise known as the thief mistress. Rail has his lungs incapacitated by a probability storm, and therefore must always wear a respirator strapped over his back and a mask over his face. Moa is a lost girl who is befriended by Rail after losing her father.
    Vago is a much unexpected character. He appears in a bedroom of a house, with no memory of who he was. He is accepted by the house's owner, Gretch to stay there. But soon, Gretch kicks him out of the house after breaking one of his mechanisms. Vago then lurks the streets, attacked by citizens and hunted down by the authorities. On the other side of Orokos, Rail and Moa capture a chest of treasures, and brings it to Anya-Jacana. Rail steals an artifact from the chest, and Moa tries it on her hand. Anya-Jacana realizes that it is missing and sends some of her thieves to hunt them down and recover the artifact.

    Moa discovers that the artifact she has on her hand can opens holes in solid matter, and therefore allowing her to travel through it. It can also only be used by her Rail and Moa both escape the captors, only to be exposed to the vast city of Orokos. They're still being hunted by Anya-Jancana, and while running from her thieves, they confront Vago inside an alley. Moa is interested by the bird around Vago's neck, she finds that it is completely foreign to the city of Orokos and takes Vago along with her so that it can be studied by Kittiwake, a clan inside the class of the ghetto-folk. In order to reach there, the trio must cross the Revenant district. The Revenants are basically ghost -like orbs, able to pass through sold matter and kill any human with one touch. "The Revenants: invisible ghosts of energy that could possess the body of a person, could take them over entirely and live inside their skin. These possessed husks, animated on by the will of the Revenants, were called the taken" (pg 91). The only way a person can see them is through a type of visor called a glimmer visor. Also, the only way a Revenant can be destroyed is by being shot with a aethe

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2009

    Storm Thief. Chris Wooding. New York: Scholastic Inc, 2006. 310 pages.

    Assuming that you've ever read the newspaper, watched the news on TV, or stepped at least five feet outside your front door, you probably know that a lot of bad stuff happens in our world. Children become bone-thin from lack of food, soldiers constantly blow each other up, people lay sick dying from all kinds of diseases, families live in filth and rags on the streets. Now, if you think that's bad, imagine those issues times ten. Imagine people so undernourished that they are reduced to eating "nutrient gruel", a substance with appallingly gruesome components. Imagine soldiers not only killing their enemies, but their own countrymen - ordinary citizens - as well. Imagine hundreds of poor, sick, and homeless people confined to ghettoes, forced to live off of whatever they can get.by any means necessary. There are no relief organizations, little to no government, and very few people with anyone in mind but themselves. There is just constant suffering and unfairness. The only renewable resource is fear.
    This is the world of the people of Orokos.
    Chris Wooding weaves an intricate web of adventure, deceit, mystery, hate, and yet above all, hope, in his 2006 novel Storm Thief. This book focuses on two children, or should I say, "adolescents", Rail and Moa, who brave the perils of the remote island city of Orokos every day of their lives, from dealing with the Protectorate, the people who are the supposed "protectors" of the citizens of Orokos, to avoiding Revenants, the sworn enemy of the Protectorate. One touch from a Revenant and you're good as dead. Rail and Moa are at the lowest level in Orokos' society - ghetto folk. The poor people. While the people in ghettoes live in squalor, those in other parts of the city live richly and comfortably, thinking of the poorer citizens as a particularly nasty kind of insect - more annoying than anything else, but still fun to fry under a magnifying glass. " 'Northwest 43 is a ghetto district. Who cares what the stupid ghetto-folk say? ' " (pg. 30) In one aspect of life on Orokos, however, social class doesn't matter - because the rich and the poor are all the same when it comes to probability storms. Probability storms (which aren't at all like the thunder-and-lightning-type storms that we're used to) can occur at any time, and affect anything and anyone. Entire buildings might disappear in a second, or just change color. Someone might wake up and find themselves grossly deformed, or simply change from being right-handed to left-handed. No one, not even the all-powerful (and slightly creepy) Patrician who rules the city, knows what will be affected by the storms next. The same apprehension, the same fear of the future that the people of Orokos felt was what kept me going as I read this book. I needed to know what was going to happen; I needed to quench my thirst for knowledge. How Wooding gave all of the characters their own distinct personalities and was able to tell the stories of about five people at once and still keep the story line intact was what made Storm Thief a great read.
    In the beginning, we are introduced to the main characters, Rail and Moa. They each have their own unfortunate past - Rail, having been struck by a probability storm that caused him to loose the ability to breathe on his own, wears a respirator that covers the bottom half of his face. Moa, who lost both of her parents, was taken in by Rail on her first day in the ghetto. They make their living by being thieves, and

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    WORTH IT!

    One of the best books I've ever read, dont get turned away by the cover, a perfect read for anyone. When you read it its like you can see whats going on, its great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    storm thief is absolutely amazing! the uncertainty of life in the setting of orokos where anything can change...at any time is an original idea that i've never read before. chris wooding is a great writer and i love the strength and power of the friendship between rail and moa. it really adds to the plot. although a couple things were kind of predictable, i would recommend it to anyone who loves paranormal/fantasy/friendship/mystery books. storm thief has all that in between it's two covers. remember to always keep reading, it opens doors for you that nothing else can.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2006

    Wonderful!

    I've never been in to books in this sort of category--realistic fiction. So I originally thought Storm Thief would just be another boring book with no originiality. But when I read the back and the first chapter, I instantly fell in love with it! It's full of action, adventure, suspense, and always keeps me begging for more. I had each of my friends read it and they wanted to buy a copy for themselves! This book has got to be the best one I've read this year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2007

    THIS IS THE BEST BOOK I HAVE EVER READ!!

    This book was really good. I never wanted to stop reading it!! I really liked the suspense, the setting, and the kind of things that happen through out the story. I f you haven't read this book yet you definitely should.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2006

    great

    this book is a great.i liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2006

    The best of Chris Wooding!

    I have read a few of Chris Wooding's books, but so far, this has been the best. Right up in front of ''Poison'', another of Chris's books, this book is a must have for any book lover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2006

    KEWL!!!!!!!!

    This is the best book i have read all year, its my all time favorite!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2