Customer Reviews for

Storm Warning: Whether Global Recession, Terrorist Threats, or Devastating Natural Disasters, These Ominous Shadows Must Bring Us Back to the Gospel

Average Rating 3.5
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Storm Warning by Billy Graham

Storm Warming Completely Revised and Updated
By Billy Graham
I was drawn to read the book Storm Warning by Billy Graham because I know he is a world renowned evangelist. People of many religious backgrounds and positions in life seek him with questions regarding God a...
Storm Warming Completely Revised and Updated
By Billy Graham
I was drawn to read the book Storm Warning by Billy Graham because I know he is a world renowned evangelist. People of many religious backgrounds and positions in life seek him with questions regarding God and His Word, known as the Bible. His combined knowledge gathered over his 71 years in ministry and his vast experience across this world sparked my interest in reading this book to see what he has to say about the book of Revelation.
In this book Billy Graham shares his understanding of this book of the Bible and how what is written on its pages relate to what our world is currently experiencing in government, finance, spirituality and morality.
Billy Graham presents "warnings" from throughout the Bible about things to happen. Some things have already come to pass and some are yet to come. He uses the analogy that the older generations put in their hearing aids and turn them up and the younger generations set aside their headphones so we can hear these warnings from heaven.
Billy Graham speaks of the deception that is rampant in our world today. He asks the hard questions, Is God ashamed of our churches today? When the unbeliever spends time with the "churchgoers" do they see a reflection of Christ?
Throughout the whole book I see the heart of Billy Graham in his writing of this book. His intent is obviously a cry to the people to repent and to be sure of their place in heaven through Jesus Christ alone. He exclaims we are to be ready for what God has told us will come, and God says it will be soon.
He explains that the evidence of God's mercy and love to those who still do not know Him is in His patience and how He is still holding out His arm of salvation but that day will soon come to an end as promised in scripture.
He ends the book with the explanation of the hope we as Christians have in Jesus Christ. He offers some glimpses from the book of Revelation that speaks of heaven and our eternity there with God and His Son Jesus, forever in their presence and worshipping in peace and love.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

posted by sgbares on July 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Kit

The kit stares blankly at Beetlepaw before turning to leave. He calls back,"I will not tell anyone if you do not want me to."

posted by 11320693 on April 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Beetlepaw

    He ran back to camp.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Recommendation

    I received this book free, courtesy of Booksneeze several months ago, and have taken my time reading it! For those of you interested in the "Signs of the Times", this book sheds some light and wisdom on this ever captivating topic!! It is my belief that God is Graceful and Loving, and ALWAYS makes a way where there seems to be noway; and to that extent, I am happy to rest in the Calm of the Storm!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    OK - So We Know What's Wrong...What Do We Do?

    This book focuses on the Book of Revelation in light of what is going on in today's world. We all know that things are not going great in this world these days and it just keeps going downhill. Billy Graham talks about the hope that we have as Christians and how we should live outside the world instead of being sucked in by it. This is a good way to look at things. Many times I watch the news and I am just disgusted by what I see. I want to do something about it too. This book spurs us on to action and talks about how churches are not here for programs and fun (though they can still be fun) but they are here to bring God glory and to bring his Word to people who need it.
    The only thing I really didn't like about this book was how much time Graham spent focusing on all the negative things in this world. Describing what's on TV and things that children are learning in school. Saying that the family is going downhill and morality is almost non-existent for those without God's compass to guide them. Though it is important to realize this, I felt that he spent far too many pages simply complaining about all the negative things in our society. Yes. Things need to change. And Graham did spend time talking about how to change these things. But I for one do not like to read or listen to complaining for too long. Honestly, he reminded me of an old man..."Back in my day..."
    The overall concept is great and it is true that change needs to happen and we need to heed the warning. I just could have done without so much complaining.

    ______________________________________

    I receive these books free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2010

    Storm Warning By Billy Graham

    Storm Warning
    By Billy Graham
    Published by Thomas Nelson

    One of the most famed Christian evangelist's of all time, Billy Graham, explores the book of Revelation and its correlation to events past and present. Graham examines John's visions of Armageddon and provides commentary on the warnings, signs and ultimate hope this book reveals to mankind.

    The pages of Storm Warning are overflowing with life experience and rich with scripture. There is no denying the wisdom in Grahams words or the wealth of knowledge, understanding or practical application behind them.

    While I found the book a slow and sometimes distracted read, I would have loved to take each paragraph (and/or story) and read them as individual thoughts to contemplate, rather than reading them through in a book. In that context, it would almost feel like sitting on the back porch with one of the world's greatest minds, listening to some of the most precious stories ever told.

    I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    Good for new christians

    Storm Warnings by Billy Graham reminded me of sitting in church and listening to a preacher you've grown up with. You are forever checking your watch and thinking "can it only be that 10 minutes has past?" and yet you know that you know more afterwards then you did before. This book wasn't at all what I was expecting. I thought Storm Warnings was going to point out recent world events and show how they fit into biblical prophecies. Instead Mr. Graham pointed out different world schools of thoughts and shifts in trends on a far more general basis. A number of the chapters definitely made me think and wonder what I could be doing to better help my fellow man as well as encouraged me to take a good hard look at my own heart. I would recommend this book to new christians as well as people who are searching for spiritual answers as Mr. Graham does what he does best. He hammers home the most important question of all - What are you going to do about Jesus?



    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1