Customer Reviews for

Storm of Visions (Chosen Ones Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 118 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

action-packed paranormal romantic suspense

Storm of Visions
Christina Dodd
Signet, Aug 2009, $7.99
ISBN 9780451227638

Jacqueline Vargha rejects the idea that she is one of the magnificent seven Chosen Ones; instead she insists she has no paranormal skills. However, her her adoptive mother psychic Zusane ...
Storm of Visions
Christina Dodd
Signet, Aug 2009, $7.99
ISBN 9780451227638

Jacqueline Vargha rejects the idea that she is one of the magnificent seven Chosen Ones; instead she insists she has no paranormal skills. However, her her adoptive mother psychic Zusane knows better and forces a reluctant Jacqueline to join with the other six special Chosen.

The team is shocked when their selected mentors die in a bombing. The reluctant untrained Chosen One and Zusane's bodyguard Caleb, who was once Jacqueline's lover, accompanied by two unskilled elderly assistants with no extrasensory skills hunt the assassin while dodging their natural enemies the Others and struggling with an attraction neither want but both desire.

STORM OF VISIONS is an action-packed paranormal romantic suspense that sets the stage for what looks like will be a terrific series, but also insures the opening act contains a strong story line. Caleb is an interesting male lead, but Jacqueline is the more fascinating protagonist as she prefers to pretend she has no paranormal abilities just like she prefers to ignore her feelings for the bodyguard. Although the romance is more like a light switch being turned on and off throughout the plot, fans of Christina Dodd will enjoy her suspense laden paranormal thriller.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on July 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

The only thing I loved was the beginning

This was my first C. Dodd novel and it will probably be the last. It had a wonderful beginning, the bodyguard/ex-boyfriend who caught up to his charge who was hiding hundreds of miles from her home and responsiblity. He took her back to her family kicking and screaming...
This was my first C. Dodd novel and it will probably be the last. It had a wonderful beginning, the bodyguard/ex-boyfriend who caught up to his charge who was hiding hundreds of miles from her home and responsiblity. He took her back to her family kicking and screaming. She stepped in the circle acknowledging her part as a Chosen One... And then everything went south from there.

Eventhough the background behind The Chosen Ones and the Others seemed fascinating it took way too long to get the story moving. The Chosen Ones were a clueless bunch of misfits who haphazardly pulled their talent together and the plot was weaker than the coffee I just got from Chic-fil-a.

posted by Atlanticia on August 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Storm of Visions is a Hit!

    Thank you so much Christina for letting me read the book before it hits the stands.

    Christina Dodd takes you on the ride of your life in this new series. I loved the new characters she introduces you to, as well as, bringing back an old one. Storm of Visions takes place after the Wilders successfully broke their 1,000 year old pact with the devil (The Darkness Chosen series). In Storm of Vision Aleksander Wilder returns and has been recently inducted as one of the new "Chosen" . Aleksander and the rest of the "Chosen" must work together if they are to succeed in defeating the devil. However, "The Others" have their own plans and they don't include defeat.

    In Storm of Visions, you are introduced to Jacqueline Vargha. Jacqueline has wanted nothing more than to be just a normal girl. She never wanted her gift and has struggled to hide it all her life. But the tattoo of an eye on the palm of her hand says differently. It seems that destiny has different plans for Jacqueline and normal just won't do! Jacqueline is destined to be the most powerful Seer the "Chosen" has ever had and as the newly appointed Seer she must come to terms with her gift and she must do this fast. For the fate of herself, the other "Chosen" as well as the rest of the world is relying on her. The battle between Good and Evil is at an all time high. Who will win?

    I can hardly wait for Storm of Shadows!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    action-packed paranormal romantic suspense

    Storm of Visions
    Christina Dodd
    Signet, Aug 2009, $7.99
    ISBN 9780451227638

    Jacqueline Vargha rejects the idea that she is one of the magnificent seven Chosen Ones; instead she insists she has no paranormal skills. However, her her adoptive mother psychic Zusane knows better and forces a reluctant Jacqueline to join with the other six special Chosen.

    The team is shocked when their selected mentors die in a bombing. The reluctant untrained Chosen One and Zusane's bodyguard Caleb, who was once Jacqueline's lover, accompanied by two unskilled elderly assistants with no extrasensory skills hunt the assassin while dodging their natural enemies the Others and struggling with an attraction neither want but both desire.

    STORM OF VISIONS is an action-packed paranormal romantic suspense that sets the stage for what looks like will be a terrific series, but also insures the opening act contains a strong story line. Caleb is an interesting male lead, but Jacqueline is the more fascinating protagonist as she prefers to pretend she has no paranormal abilities just like she prefers to ignore her feelings for the bodyguard. Although the romance is more like a light switch being turned on and off throughout the plot, fans of Christina Dodd will enjoy her suspense laden paranormal thriller.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    As always, I find the character development, the humor, the plot

    As always, I find the character development, the humor, the plot, the romance hard to put down. Way to Go, Ms Dodd! I love your books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    The Chosen Ones Series by Christina Dodd

    Once you start reading you wont want to stop!The series is paranormal romance. Which starts as a secret society of seven "Chosen Ones", every seven years a new group is chosen and trained.They have no idea what they got themselves into by sighning a contract that must be fullfilled. There is no way out! Half the group doesn't want anything to do with eachother, let alone find out their assignment. Once they come together tragity hits and forces them to come together just to stay alive. The story line is based on the chosen ones fighting for not only their own lives but also finding abandoned children like themselves who have special powers that ways the balance between good and evil. Christina Dodd's writting is on the same page as Sherrilyn Kenyon and Patricia Brigg's. If you like their books you'll love this series!. So far there are four books in the series and one in the making. I am not sure what the fifth books name is or when it will be published. When it's released I will be the first to buy it. It is definatly one of my fav"s!
    A must read series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing

    The book is filled with passion, detail, love, loss, pain, suspense and "the supernatural." A great read cover to cover! I am looking forward to reading the rest of the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Spellbinding and Explosive Tale of Paranormal Romance & Suspense

    The supreme test for a new league of The Chosen Ones has begun. They are a powerful force for good and "light" in a fearful, troubled world and their mission is to use their unique gifts to courageously confront and vanquish the evil forces that flourish in our contemporary society. But the peril is great because the Devil's treacherous minions The Others are out there lurking in the shadows. They fanatically serve their evil master and won't hesitate to use their powerful gifts to ruthlessly destroy anyone who stands in the way of the devil's complete world domination.

    In her latest undertaking into the paranormal romance genre, author Christina Dodd again pens a fast paced, high stakes adventure that explores the ever fascinating conflict between the forces of Good and Evil. Set mainly in present day NYC, in STORM OF VISIONS the talented Ms. Dodd plunges readers headlong into a sinister, spellbinding and explosive tale of paranormal suspense that's intricately blended with a blazingly provocative, passionate and emotionally charged romance. telling a story that kept me firmly on the edge of my seat and definitely wanting MORE.

    The Story's heroine, Jacqueline Vargha is intelligent, physically fit, beautiful-and angry. She wants to choose her own path in life, but she was born with the mark of a seer-an eye-in the palm of her hand. It's something not seen since the first of the Abandoned Ones and might be an indication she may be destined to become one of the greatest psychics the Chosen Ones have ever known. But adamantly denying her gift, Jacqueline's been on the run for a couple of years, and now the time has come for her to accept her responsibilities. She must confront her fears and the reasons for her anger, and recognize that her visions-and Caleb D'Angelo-are an inevitable part of her destiny.

    The hero, Caleb D'Angelo shows the world a hard, intimidating, aggressive and dangerously tough exterior-a necessity in his work as a bodyguard-but he's also quite honorable, dependable and extremely protective of those he feels responsible for and loves. And, though he was at times domineering and heavy-handed with Jacqueline, I felt the gravity of their situation called for it. There was no doubt in my mind that Caleb loved her-and if necessary, would die to protect her.

    I thought the main characters were very well written. Ms Dodd created two good, strong, compelling and relatable characters-realistically imperfect people-with a full range of human emotions, faults, failings, doubts and fears. And during the course of the story we see their growth as they become more emotionally resilient, wiser and willing to make concessions for the greater good. I really liked them both.

    As with any series of this type there were several supporting characters introduced-all were crucial to the development of storyline-and we're given a necessary and enlightening peek into their individual personas, temperaments and special abilities. However, I felt the main focus of this book was on Jacqueline and Caleb, and their journey toward declaring their love. I also think Jacqueline will play a pivotal role in future stories and Caleb will continue to be her support and her anchor. She'll need his love to ground her; for the ultimate confrontation between darkness and light is on the horizon... and battling the Devil is not for the faint of heart.

    Wonderfully executed; an altogether winning first installment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2009

    Great Read

    I loved this book. If you like Christina Dodd you will love this new series. It gives you the in-depth feel of characters that her other series have given. I enjoy meeting all of the characters in the first book and getting to know them as the series goes on. She does a great job of not forgetting characters. I can't wait for the other books to come out.
    Thanks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A great first book in a new series for lovely Diva Christine Dodd

    In her new series The Chosen Ones Christina gives us a group of misfits who have a few things in common one being they were all abandoned at birth and two they all have "special gifts". This book is the story of the new realm of The Chosen Ones and specifically of Jacqueline the current seers daughter and Caleb the bodyguard.

    As you would expect Ms. Dodd throws us right into the storm in her new paranormal thriller Storm of Visions. She gives us eclectic new characters who run the gamut from really weird to almost normal and they are all memorable to the point of excitement knowing they will be starring in their own special tales as The Chosen. Her story line is unique in a world of many good vs evil tales and her writing style is dramatic and keeps you on the edge of your seat from the time you open the book until you read the last page. Her love scenes are super sexy and as I like them on the Sizzle Burner, but with tender sensuality. Her dialogue is witty and exciting and so full of detail that you can visualize the catastrophes she describes on the page.
    This is a must summer read not only for lovers of paranormal tales but those of us who love a great romance, wonderful characters and love scenes that sizzle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3