Customer Reviews for

The Storm of War: A New History of the Second World War

Average Rating 3.5
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Fantastically detailed history of WW II full of very interesting facts

Anyone who lived through any war, but especially WW II, needs to read this greatly detailed and informative book that gives details, stories, actions, and facts many of which were never published. The author writes in a way that draws you to each page because, while the...
Anyone who lived through any war, but especially WW II, needs to read this greatly detailed and informative book that gives details, stories, actions, and facts many of which were never published. The author writes in a way that draws you to each page because, while the book is fact, it never gets boring. From the very beginning of the book where, in April 1934, Hitler met with the German minister of Defence to make a secret pact where the army would support Adolph Hitler upon the death of Paul von Hindenburg (then leader of Germany). Most of us have in our minds that the war started in 1939 when Germany invaded Poland but the plans for Hitler's demonic plans to control the world had started with the plans for his leadership years earlier. Several things I advise to all readers of this complete book; remember to refer to the maps at the front of the book as campaigns in different areas occur, and do not think you will skip through a page because the book is extremely long. If you skip you will miss some important and interesting tidbit. I had forgotten the maps and now I wish I had remembered them to allow me to know exactly where certain battles occurred. I also tried to read by skipping and I found out it doesn't work. How Andrew Roberts garnered all the information and wove it into a terrific resourceful book I will never know. There is no way a review could ever do this book justice. I will hit a few highlights but you must physically read it to gain the knowledge it contains. Hitler had been a corporal in the German army in WW I so he had felt war first hand and was twenty-nine years of age when that war ended in 1918. Hitler had a huge war machine in place. Two major factions were the OKH and the OKW, both strategic in running the military. Many leaders changed throughout the book. Hitler would have high expectations for various campaigns and when the result was not to his liking he took no remorse in immediately changing generals. Hitler controlled all the many units of might such as the Wehrmacht, the SS, the Luftwaffe (air), the Panzers (tanks), and a naval branch that, had Hitler allow it to develop fully, could have made the war much longer and given Germany a huge advantage. The German Generals, some of whom were Field Marshall's, were many; Jodl, Keitel, Himmler, von Runstedt, von Manctein, Goebbels, Rommel, and, in general were very brilliant men but too many times Hitler forced them to do his method, not theirs. One section of the book that was about a subject I thought I did know but the author gave some details that blew my mind of how humans could treat other humans as they did. Excerpts of the authors words; "After they were rounded up in their local communities from all across German-occupied Europe, Jews were transported by train to Auschwitz or one of the other five extermination camps in Eastern Europe". "Once the transports arrived at the siding at Birkenau, there would be the first selection, where SS officials would choose the able-bodied men and women - numbering roughly 15% - who would be taken to the camp barracks to join work details, leaving the old, the weak, the infirm, the children, and the mothers of children, who would be immediately walked to the gas chambers and exterminated." This is only a small part of the inhumane things the Germans carried out in order to "cleanse" the world of Jews. The inhumane actions of war do not lie just with the Germans. Their allies, as

posted by CBH on May 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

I got the wrong book!

BN sent the wrong download, I got Aunt Sassy instead of The Storm of War. Fix this!

posted by TimGMN on May 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastically detailed history of WW II full of very interesting facts

    Anyone who lived through any war, but especially WW II, needs to read this greatly detailed and informative book that gives details, stories, actions, and facts many of which were never published. The author writes in a way that draws you to each page because, while the book is fact, it never gets boring. From the very beginning of the book where, in April 1934, Hitler met with the German minister of Defence to make a secret pact where the army would support Adolph Hitler upon the death of Paul von Hindenburg (then leader of Germany). Most of us have in our minds that the war started in 1939 when Germany invaded Poland but the plans for Hitler's demonic plans to control the world had started with the plans for his leadership years earlier. Several things I advise to all readers of this complete book; remember to refer to the maps at the front of the book as campaigns in different areas occur, and do not think you will skip through a page because the book is extremely long. If you skip you will miss some important and interesting tidbit. I had forgotten the maps and now I wish I had remembered them to allow me to know exactly where certain battles occurred. I also tried to read by skipping and I found out it doesn't work. How Andrew Roberts garnered all the information and wove it into a terrific resourceful book I will never know. There is no way a review could ever do this book justice. I will hit a few highlights but you must physically read it to gain the knowledge it contains. Hitler had been a corporal in the German army in WW I so he had felt war first hand and was twenty-nine years of age when that war ended in 1918. Hitler had a huge war machine in place. Two major factions were the OKH and the OKW, both strategic in running the military. Many leaders changed throughout the book. Hitler would have high expectations for various campaigns and when the result was not to his liking he took no remorse in immediately changing generals. Hitler controlled all the many units of might such as the Wehrmacht, the SS, the Luftwaffe (air), the Panzers (tanks), and a naval branch that, had Hitler allow it to develop fully, could have made the war much longer and given Germany a huge advantage. The German Generals, some of whom were Field Marshall's, were many; Jodl, Keitel, Himmler, von Runstedt, von Manctein, Goebbels, Rommel, and, in general were very brilliant men but too many times Hitler forced them to do his method, not theirs. One section of the book that was about a subject I thought I did know but the author gave some details that blew my mind of how humans could treat other humans as they did. Excerpts of the authors words; "After they were rounded up in their local communities from all across German-occupied Europe, Jews were transported by train to Auschwitz or one of the other five extermination camps in Eastern Europe". "Once the transports arrived at the siding at Birkenau, there would be the first selection, where SS officials would choose the able-bodied men and women - numbering roughly 15% - who would be taken to the camp barracks to join work details, leaving the old, the weak, the infirm, the children, and the mothers of children, who would be immediately walked to the gas chambers and exterminated." This is only a small part of the inhumane things the Germans carried out in order to "cleanse" the world of Jews. The inhumane actions of war do not lie just with the Germans. Their allies, as

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    I got the wrong book!

    BN sent the wrong download, I got Aunt Sassy instead of The Storm of War. Fix this!

    8 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    wrong book is sent to you for the download

    me too--what happened?

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Ditto, Saucy Auntie is what you get instead of this book

    WARNING!!!!!

    Looks like a good book, but you get 'SAUCY AUNTIE' instead.

    Something is wrong BN, Fix it or give me back my money!

    5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    Good book, but sloppy production

    I am on a bit of a WWII history reading binge, so this book provided a welcome framework for other more topical histories. There is not much factual history there that has not been covered before, but the context is good. One may regret a few too many "greatest mistakes of the war" that may have turned things around for the Germans if they had been led by a sane person. But then the Nazi philosophy pretty much guaranteed that they would lose, as they despised most of the people who could have become their allies. The Japanese were doomed anyway by their insufficient industrial capabilities. There are unfortunately a lot of typos in the book, with partially repeated sentences and other that stop in mid-air, missing paragraphs etc. At that price the publisher could have produced something more polished, they would not have gotten away with this in a printed version.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    Excellent War Cronicle

    I've become somewhat of a WWII-phile over the past year and this book is a wonderful collection of facts and remembrances by the people who fought it. It's a bit large at 740 pages though. But at any rate an excellent book for those interested in both sides of view of the war.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2011

    fascinating and comprehensive account of most important event of the 20th century

    eminently readable and well-organized overview of wwII, compares
    favorably with other wwII histories. glad i read it and have
    recommended to many other history buffs

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    War is nothing but what Sherman said it was

    You'll like it, because it doesn't read like a textbook. The author puts forth a lot of facts, but explains them in context with preceding and resulting events. Included is a chilling summary of what might have happened if Hitler had not been so obsessed.
    A few things stuck with me:
    --It was not so much the allies on the western front, but the Russians in the east who bled the Third Reich white.
    --Great Brittain would have gone bankrupt quite early in the war if not for a big "loan" from the United States.
    --Stalingrad was a incredible nightmare.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    Must read

    Roberts' writing style and skill are extraordinay. Unlike other WW-II authors, he gets to the meaning and outcome of decisions and develop- ments. The same for his Masters and Commanders. Truly incisive and revealing of WW-II principal and war developments.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Poorly writtenĀ 

    Poorly written 

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2013

    Do not waste your time with this book. Contrary to the sub-titl

    Do not waste your time with this book. Contrary to the sub-title there is nothing new in this study of World War II. I forced myself to wade through it, hoping, vainly, that perhaps on the next page or the next, there would be new information drawn from recently discovered documents or a fresh insight based on recently declassified archives only to turn the final page in disappointment. While well written The Storm of War left me very dissatisfied. History of the Second World War by B H Liddell Hart remains the gold standard for military studies of World War II. Len Deighton wrote a much better general study of the conflict with his books Blood, Tears and Folly and Blitzkrieg. Finally, if you only have the time or inclination for a single volume overview, The Second World War by John Keegan is unsurpassed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Great book, bad e-book

    Excellent book but very disappointed at quality of e-book which has so many errors in the text. Obviously the e-book text was not given any kind of real proofreading. The author and all of us who paid for the book deserve better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2012

    Excellent and well researched and written book. Very exciting.

    Excellent and well researched and written book. Very exciting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    Great overview of WWII

    Provides a fantastic look at the events of WWII and how they shaped history. A great read for those - such as myself - who only gained a superficial understanding of the war in history classes. If you are remotely interested in WWII, this book will educate and continue to spark your interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    Nicely done.

    This book does what it sets out to do. It gives an overall comprehensive view of WW2. If this time period fascinates you then get this book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Good

    Very good book i enjoyed it alot

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3