Customer Reviews for

Stormbreaker (Alex Rider Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 950 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(667)

4 Star

(145)

3 Star

(66)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(47)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Alex Rider is a great kid that has to deal with alot of stress and action, but I love to read the books and can't put them down

I thought this book was great, it was an outstanding start to the Alex Rider Series. I thought it had alot of action and I didn't want to put the book down. Being a teenager myself it seemed amazing that a kid younger than me could do this stuff. I can't wait to read th...
I thought this book was great, it was an outstanding start to the Alex Rider Series. I thought it had alot of action and I didn't want to put the book down. Being a teenager myself it seemed amazing that a kid younger than me could do this stuff. I can't wait to read the other books and I hope you make movies for them.

posted by Anonymous on August 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

NOT ENOUGH ACTION

Personally, I thought the book was boring. It could have had more action and could have been a bit different. I really love books that have action right away. I read this one book called Maximum Ride by James Patterson and there was so much action; it actually caught my...
Personally, I thought the book was boring. It could have had more action and could have been a bit different. I really love books that have action right away. I read this one book called Maximum Ride by James Patterson and there was so much action; it actually caught my attention the first sentence. This book didn't do that. Like every book the beginning is boring because the writer wants to make sure the reader knows what's going on before the so called action comes. Here's a bit of what the book is about.
In London, a boy named Alex Rider just lost his uncle and he doesn't understand why. The police say he was in a car crash but the evidence just isn't right. What Alex finds out is that is uncle is a spy and works for the MI-6, Britain's top-secret intelligence agency. What's more shocking is that Alex now has to take over the family business. His uncle Ian died during a mission and it's Alex's responsibility to finish it. Alex goes on a mission to spy on this guy named Sayle who has made a revolutionary computer called the Stormbreaker. It's based on a completely new technology. Sayle, the owner of Sayles Enterprise, is planning to give thousands of these computers to every school in England to thank the country for giving him a new home. The MI-6 thinks it's too good to be true. Alex goes undercover and finds the real reason for these computers. Alex is about the have the ride of his life. Will Alex finish the mission or die the same way as his uncle?
I recommend this book to anyone who likes action with spies and gadgets. I don't recommend it for people who like action page after page after page. This book is for people who are willing to wait for the action to come and when it does they are ecstatic. Now I'm not saying this was the worst book ever but it's just not the book for me.

posted by MountainView on September 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 958 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 48
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2008

    Alex Rider is a great kid that has to deal with alot of stress and action, but I love to read the books and can't put them down

    I thought this book was great, it was an outstanding start to the Alex Rider Series. I thought it had alot of action and I didn't want to put the book down. Being a teenager myself it seemed amazing that a kid younger than me could do this stuff. I can't wait to read the other books and I hope you make movies for them.

    35 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Wardrip aka "The Genius" for TeensReadToo.com

    Fourteen-year old Alex Rider knows something bad has happened when the doorbell rings in the middle of the night. He soon learns that his caretaker uncle, Ian Rider, was killed in an automobile accident on his way home. A banker who works for Royal & General, Alex's uncle was a fine man who wasn't home much--but he's still devastated by his death. Except the appearance of some strange people who claim to be his uncle's co-workers, a gun-toting man at his uncle's funeral, and the findings of his uncle's bullet-ridden car make Alex think that there's more than meets the eye to the "automobile accident" story. <BR/><BR/>Alex soons find out that his Uncle Ian's life, at least where he himself was concerned, was based on a lie. Ian Rider was a spy, employed by the Special Operations Divison of MI6. And the last case he was working on, concerning multi-millionaire Herod Sayle, was a case that got Ian Rider killed. Now Mr. Blunt and Mrs. Jones, head of SOD, want Alex to pick up where his uncle, their operative, left off--infiltrate the compound where Herod Sayle is building his new Stormbreaker computers, and find out what Ian Rider had to die for. <BR/><BR/>What follows is an action-packed story of danger, bullets, viruses, and out-and-out excitement. At fourteen, Alex is savvy, trained in martial arts, can speak multiple languages, and is, in fact, a truly bliddy good spy! <BR/><BR/>Anthony Horowitz has devised a real winner with Alex Rider and his new career (although he was actually forced into working for MI6), and I can't wait to read the next book in the series and see what mission Alex will be sent on next!

    23 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    8 years of love

    I first read this book when I was twelve. Now at twenty and working on my English major, I still find it captivating! The writing is simplistic enough so young kids can follow along, but has a serious enough story for adults who like adventure. Perfect for those days you want your imagination to run wild without over exerting your mind. A.H. descriptions are wonderful. One of my favorite series of all time, highly recommended.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    What a great book!

    This book is amazing. It's about a kid who's Uncle used to work for a spy agency. So the boy or Alex Rider joins the agency. It's action packed and you just will want to read more and more. I definently recomend this to anyone who is thinking about reading this. This is totally a must read! =)

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2008

    All action-loving teens must read Alex Rider

    I loved this book! Alex Rider could totally kick James Bond's butt in a fight. The stunts and the gadgets were unrealistic, but who really wants to read a spy book that is bound to the very limited confines of reality? Anthony Horowitz is a great author. The characters and the scenery jump off the pages, making it feel like you're actually there, watching the story unfold. I could not put this book down. Though the series appears to be aimed at boys, many girls, like myself, will like this book as well.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    NOT ENOUGH ACTION

    Personally, I thought the book was boring. It could have had more action and could have been a bit different. I really love books that have action right away. I read this one book called Maximum Ride by James Patterson and there was so much action; it actually caught my attention the first sentence. This book didn't do that. Like every book the beginning is boring because the writer wants to make sure the reader knows what's going on before the so called action comes. Here's a bit of what the book is about.
    In London, a boy named Alex Rider just lost his uncle and he doesn't understand why. The police say he was in a car crash but the evidence just isn't right. What Alex finds out is that is uncle is a spy and works for the MI-6, Britain's top-secret intelligence agency. What's more shocking is that Alex now has to take over the family business. His uncle Ian died during a mission and it's Alex's responsibility to finish it. Alex goes on a mission to spy on this guy named Sayle who has made a revolutionary computer called the Stormbreaker. It's based on a completely new technology. Sayle, the owner of Sayles Enterprise, is planning to give thousands of these computers to every school in England to thank the country for giving him a new home. The MI-6 thinks it's too good to be true. Alex goes undercover and finds the real reason for these computers. Alex is about the have the ride of his life. Will Alex finish the mission or die the same way as his uncle?
    I recommend this book to anyone who likes action with spies and gadgets. I don't recommend it for people who like action page after page after page. This book is for people who are willing to wait for the action to come and when it does they are ecstatic. Now I'm not saying this was the worst book ever but it's just not the book for me.

    11 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Pick up something else

    You know how there are those books that you see everywhere, in every library, in every bookstore, and then one day you just break down and pick it up? This is one of those books.
    And I should have just left it.

    The first few pages were fine--I was all prepared to get sucked into this book . . . I mean, I'd seen it EVERYWHERE, after all. It had to be good, right? It happened with the Pendragon books, it'll happen here too, yeah?

    And then everything after those pages was complete nonsense. I was immediately disenchanted. But before I go into large-scale issues, I'd like to mention that these are the paragraphs that immediately set me against this book:

    "'We can't just send in another agent . . . He'll be expecting a replacement. Somehow we have to trick him."
    "We have to send someone in who won't be noticed. Someone who can look around and report back without being seen. We were considering sending down a woman. She might be able to slip in as a cleaner or a kitchen helper.'"

    . . . I kid you not, this is actually in the book. The whole novel had this sexist voice, and the worst of it is that this is set in the current time. Really! She can slip in as a cleaner or a kitchen helper.

    Also, a thing of note: the only non-white in this book was the villain . . .

    The whole book was empty. Empty motives propelling empty actions. I couldn't even tell you what Alex's character is like. He's just a cardboard vessel that the "plot" throws around. Not to mention that I was shaking my head at each new "twist" because they were all impossible and completely ridiculous. I can't even tell you how many times I've had to close the book for a moment to groan and try to surpress the urge to throw the thing at the wall (it might have been the fact that it's a library book that saved it).

    Dialogue was sometimes laughable . . . and way out of character. Alex, a 14-year-old boy saying "Nor can I" (or something along those lines)? Really? Does that actually happen or . . . ?

    Oh and I wouldn't want to leave out this lovely example expressed by the villain: "'You've done well, Alex. . . I congratulate you. And I feel you deserve a reward. So I'm going to tell you everything."

    Wooooow.
    This is great literature right here.

    It's like Horowitz is trying to reinforce the assumed notion: oh kids are only interested in violence and action and BOOMS! Everything else is dispensable.
    Because at the end I think I counted at least 4-5 huge mushroom explosions. That were completely unnecessary. But OH GOD EXPLOSIONS, MAN.
    He's trying to trick his readers into thinking something epic is happening when it's really something trivial.

    I'd advise everyone against reading this book. It may keep young readers turning pages, but there's better literature out there that'll do the same without the cheap effects and gimmicks.

    9 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2009

    NOT AS GOOD AS THE REST OF THE BOOKS IN THE SERIES! RATHER UNORIGINAL!

    Stormbreaker is probably not the best book in the Alex Rider series. The plot is not very original, the characters are far too two-dimensional, and the imagery is not in the least bit descriptive. Although Stormbreaker was not very good, the rest of the series isn't as bad. Anthony Horowitz improves with Point Blank, and with Skeleton Key and Eagle Strike, the series reaches its climax. Scorpia is very good as well, with Ark Angel being somewhat disappointing and Snakehead bringing the series to an adequate conclusion for now. The eighth book, Crocodile Tears, and its release date are soon to be announced.

    7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2008

    The Little James Bond

    The book Stormbreaker as a book with nonstop action. It is about a boy named Alex Rider who is 14 and lives with his uncle Ian Rider. One day he cane fine from school and found out from his housekeeper Jack that his uncle is dead. He thought that the way his uncle died did not sound right so he put the clues together. When he figured out his uncle had actually been shot he got suspicious. Then a secret organization called M16 told him to come by their building. When he did they said that his uncle had actually been a spy and wanted him Alex to finish off the mission. If Alex does not, M16 will mess up his future and it could be the end of England. The whole book was great. Every chapter was interesting and filled with important details. I really couldn¿t relate to the book very well but most people aren¿t spys. This book is part of the Alex Rider Series. It is the firdt bllk and the next one is Point Blank. Boys from the ages12-14 might like this book. It is a book with a lot of action, suspense, and mystery. If you like those three things I recommend this book for you.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    ERROR

    I bought the book and all i got was the free sample
    Nothing but about two sentences of the book
    I cant even write an accurate review because i CANT READ THE BOOK

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    WORST BOOK EVER

    DO NOT BUY TERRIBLE PLOT BAD CHARACTERS

    DISAGREE? REPLY TO: QWERTY3

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2008

    sick nasty best book of my life

    stormbreaker. a computer of unlimited tasks. thats wht alex rider is after in this book.this book os amazing in alot of ways. it is very action packed. it is adventuous and defiinantly a good read. it is also mysterious. alex rider is a good book series especiallt after uve finished the artemis fowl series. i would recommend this book to any one that likes mysteries and secret agent things. this book all in all is amazing.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2008

    This is awesome! Keep reading the series!

    Do you want to have a book that will keep you reading? If so this is the one for you. I felt that this book was great because you can really visualize Alex Rider's adventures all throughout the book, plus you get to read two whole series from Anthony Horowitz. If you like this book, read the whole series because they are all fantastic!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Great book

    To all you folks who dont know if you really want to buy this book:
    This book is very very good i think anyone from 10-30 will love this book. It pulls you in from the start and keeps you on the edge of your seat through out the whole story. Worth youre money and youre time!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    sample :(

    Whats the point of a sample if its one and a half sentences? Not sure if i really want this book. The reviews are mixed and the sample definately did not help.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2012

    Great Book!

    Stormbreaker is about a fourteen year old kid who has an uncle that was secretly a spy. His Uncle died on a mission, and the agency needs someone knew who won't get caught. That's when Alex comes in to play. This book is chalk full of adventure and always keeps you reading. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone and everyone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Couldn't Even Finish It

    First of all, it was extremely boring and the suspense was practically pointless. And it was horribly written. There are many, many places where Anthony Horowitz could have used better words. The editor must not have been very good, either. I do not recommend this. It can't even continue reading it, it is just so horrid.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Writer makes it fun and avoids the outlandish

    I look for books that can get kids who are currently completely caught up in video to take up reading as a fun thing to do. The idea that a youth is going to take up a mission for his murdered uncle in the British Secret Service is outlandish at its face, but the author deftly steps around it as he tells his story. He does create a boy of truly unusual talents, versatility, and pluck, but he has a plausible story behind this personal development. Later on, when the boy on several occasions gets himself into mortal peril, the author doesn't have him do something unbelievable to extricate himself. Instead he depicts him as a kid who knows how to keep his head and to take advantage of lucky breaks as they appear. I think this is a good starter book for a youth to use in learning to read for pleasure, and I gave a copy of this to a friend for her son for that reason. The other book I am recommending may be for a little younger reader, but I enjoyed it when I did my screening read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2007

    A spectacular and original read...

    I first read this book when I was still a kid and became a big fan of the series. The action, storyline, simplicity yet uniqueness, and other components worked well together. While I enjoyed it very much at the time, I decided to read it again as a young adult. It was just as good if not better, due to the fact that I could visualize the scenes more efficiently. So whether you're a kid or a teenager, you are sure to enjoy this thrilling novel! This may just be the book to get you back into reading, again. 'My other recommended books are for more mature audiences, however.'

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    I remember finding this book when I was in 5th grade at the scho

    I remember finding this book when I was in 5th grade at the school library. I read it and thought it was the greatest thing ever. I found whatever books from the series I could find and read them. I have all of them now, including the last two (can't think of the names right now and I'm too lazy to get up and look). This series is such a great thing to have. If you're a parent and you want your kid(s) to read, give them this. I recommend they be at least 10 or 11 however because there is some things a younger one might not understand and there is some slight profanity in some of the books. For those who want to try and read something new, this series is just amazing c:.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 958 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 48