Customer Reviews for

Stormbreaker (Alex Rider Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 959 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(675)

4 Star

(146)

3 Star

(66)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(47)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Alex Rider is a great kid that has to deal with alot of stress and action, but I love to read the books and can't put them down

I thought this book was great, it was an outstanding start to the Alex Rider Series. I thought it had alot of action and I didn't want to put the book down. Being a teenager myself it seemed amazing that a kid younger than me could do this stuff. I can't wait to read th...
I thought this book was great, it was an outstanding start to the Alex Rider Series. I thought it had alot of action and I didn't want to put the book down. Being a teenager myself it seemed amazing that a kid younger than me could do this stuff. I can't wait to read the other books and I hope you make movies for them.

posted by Anonymous on August 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

NOT ENOUGH ACTION

Personally, I thought the book was boring. It could have had more action and could have been a bit different. I really love books that have action right away. I read this one book called Maximum Ride by James Patterson and there was so much action; it actually caught my...
Personally, I thought the book was boring. It could have had more action and could have been a bit different. I really love books that have action right away. I read this one book called Maximum Ride by James Patterson and there was so much action; it actually caught my attention the first sentence. This book didn't do that. Like every book the beginning is boring because the writer wants to make sure the reader knows what's going on before the so called action comes. Here's a bit of what the book is about.
In London, a boy named Alex Rider just lost his uncle and he doesn't understand why. The police say he was in a car crash but the evidence just isn't right. What Alex finds out is that is uncle is a spy and works for the MI-6, Britain's top-secret intelligence agency. What's more shocking is that Alex now has to take over the family business. His uncle Ian died during a mission and it's Alex's responsibility to finish it. Alex goes on a mission to spy on this guy named Sayle who has made a revolutionary computer called the Stormbreaker. It's based on a completely new technology. Sayle, the owner of Sayles Enterprise, is planning to give thousands of these computers to every school in England to thank the country for giving him a new home. The MI-6 thinks it's too good to be true. Alex goes undercover and finds the real reason for these computers. Alex is about the have the ride of his life. Will Alex finish the mission or die the same way as his uncle?
I recommend this book to anyone who likes action with spies and gadgets. I don't recommend it for people who like action page after page after page. This book is for people who are willing to wait for the action to come and when it does they are ecstatic. Now I'm not saying this was the worst book ever but it's just not the book for me.

posted by MountainView on September 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    NOT ENOUGH ACTION

    Personally, I thought the book was boring. It could have had more action and could have been a bit different. I really love books that have action right away. I read this one book called Maximum Ride by James Patterson and there was so much action; it actually caught my attention the first sentence. This book didn't do that. Like every book the beginning is boring because the writer wants to make sure the reader knows what's going on before the so called action comes. Here's a bit of what the book is about.
    In London, a boy named Alex Rider just lost his uncle and he doesn't understand why. The police say he was in a car crash but the evidence just isn't right. What Alex finds out is that is uncle is a spy and works for the MI-6, Britain's top-secret intelligence agency. What's more shocking is that Alex now has to take over the family business. His uncle Ian died during a mission and it's Alex's responsibility to finish it. Alex goes on a mission to spy on this guy named Sayle who has made a revolutionary computer called the Stormbreaker. It's based on a completely new technology. Sayle, the owner of Sayles Enterprise, is planning to give thousands of these computers to every school in England to thank the country for giving him a new home. The MI-6 thinks it's too good to be true. Alex goes undercover and finds the real reason for these computers. Alex is about the have the ride of his life. Will Alex finish the mission or die the same way as his uncle?
    I recommend this book to anyone who likes action with spies and gadgets. I don't recommend it for people who like action page after page after page. This book is for people who are willing to wait for the action to come and when it does they are ecstatic. Now I'm not saying this was the worst book ever but it's just not the book for me.

    11 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Pick up something else

    You know how there are those books that you see everywhere, in every library, in every bookstore, and then one day you just break down and pick it up? This is one of those books.
    And I should have just left it.

    The first few pages were fine--I was all prepared to get sucked into this book . . . I mean, I'd seen it EVERYWHERE, after all. It had to be good, right? It happened with the Pendragon books, it'll happen here too, yeah?

    And then everything after those pages was complete nonsense. I was immediately disenchanted. But before I go into large-scale issues, I'd like to mention that these are the paragraphs that immediately set me against this book:

    "'We can't just send in another agent . . . He'll be expecting a replacement. Somehow we have to trick him."
    "We have to send someone in who won't be noticed. Someone who can look around and report back without being seen. We were considering sending down a woman. She might be able to slip in as a cleaner or a kitchen helper.'"

    . . . I kid you not, this is actually in the book. The whole novel had this sexist voice, and the worst of it is that this is set in the current time. Really! She can slip in as a cleaner or a kitchen helper.

    Also, a thing of note: the only non-white in this book was the villain . . .

    The whole book was empty. Empty motives propelling empty actions. I couldn't even tell you what Alex's character is like. He's just a cardboard vessel that the "plot" throws around. Not to mention that I was shaking my head at each new "twist" because they were all impossible and completely ridiculous. I can't even tell you how many times I've had to close the book for a moment to groan and try to surpress the urge to throw the thing at the wall (it might have been the fact that it's a library book that saved it).

    Dialogue was sometimes laughable . . . and way out of character. Alex, a 14-year-old boy saying "Nor can I" (or something along those lines)? Really? Does that actually happen or . . . ?

    Oh and I wouldn't want to leave out this lovely example expressed by the villain: "'You've done well, Alex. . . I congratulate you. And I feel you deserve a reward. So I'm going to tell you everything."

    Wooooow.
    This is great literature right here.

    It's like Horowitz is trying to reinforce the assumed notion: oh kids are only interested in violence and action and BOOMS! Everything else is dispensable.
    Because at the end I think I counted at least 4-5 huge mushroom explosions. That were completely unnecessary. But OH GOD EXPLOSIONS, MAN.
    He's trying to trick his readers into thinking something epic is happening when it's really something trivial.

    I'd advise everyone against reading this book. It may keep young readers turning pages, but there's better literature out there that'll do the same without the cheap effects and gimmicks.

    9 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2009

    NOT AS GOOD AS THE REST OF THE BOOKS IN THE SERIES! RATHER UNORIGINAL!

    Stormbreaker is probably not the best book in the Alex Rider series. The plot is not very original, the characters are far too two-dimensional, and the imagery is not in the least bit descriptive. Although Stormbreaker was not very good, the rest of the series isn't as bad. Anthony Horowitz improves with Point Blank, and with Skeleton Key and Eagle Strike, the series reaches its climax. Scorpia is very good as well, with Ark Angel being somewhat disappointing and Snakehead bringing the series to an adequate conclusion for now. The eighth book, Crocodile Tears, and its release date are soon to be announced.

    7 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    ERROR

    I bought the book and all i got was the free sample
    Nothing but about two sentences of the book
    I cant even write an accurate review because i CANT READ THE BOOK

    5 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    WORST BOOK EVER

    DO NOT BUY TERRIBLE PLOT BAD CHARACTERS

    DISAGREE? REPLY TO: QWERTY3

    3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Couldn't Even Finish It

    First of all, it was extremely boring and the suspense was practically pointless. And it was horribly written. There are many, many places where Anthony Horowitz could have used better words. The editor must not have been very good, either. I do not recommend this. It can't even continue reading it, it is just so horrid.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    sample :(

    Whats the point of a sample if its one and a half sentences? Not sure if i really want this book. The reviews are mixed and the sample definately did not help.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Balls

    Ithink it sucks ball

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Haters: don't hate

    Lots of haters out there. I think the series is pretty interesting to all u haters out there.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Noah

    The book sucked

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Boring

    I thought this book was incredibly boring because first it wasnt even that long and second it was fine for the first part but when he went on this little "quest" it gpt so boring i just stoped reading it. If you want a good book i suggest the forbidden game and why? By valicity garris but the forbidden game isnt by valicity garris only why?

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    One Word: Terrible!

    This book was absolutely terrible! It was extremely predictable, characters were flat and unrealistic. Whoo-hoo, happy ending, Alex saves the day using his cool spy gadgets! I expected better; this book got really good reviews, but don't waste your money. Its hardly worth getting from the library.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2010

    A terrible storm!

    This book was not good at all, it was predictable and had no surprises. Alex Rider is a 14 year old boy who is taken in by his uncle. His uncle mysteriously dies and the entire book is about Alex trying to find out how his uncle died and who did it. Alex goes off on a mission assigned by MI-6 and ends up in a villains mansion. Throughout the book Alex fights bad guy after bad guy and and goes through chase after chase. If I had to describe this book in one word, it would be predictable. Every action sequence was predictable and boring.To be completely honest the only thing I liked about this book was the size since it was a short read. I suggest that you don't read this book and if your looking for action reads, read other books like "Artemis Fowl" and "Flight". All in all, this book is a short boring read and thats why I gave it one out of five stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    Really bad - don't read it.

    I don't like this book. Its story was uninteresting and the characters were boring. The plot was unrealistic, confusing, and was not a good read. i would not recommend this book to anyone. The cover of the book was also bad, it did not give you any idea of what the book was about and looked bad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    Horrible,Don't read,Waste of your time

    I did not like this book at all.It may just be that its not the kind of book that I like but when i asked other people they didn't like it either.First off,right when i saw the cover...it looks horrible!I honestly don't even know what's happening,well from what i can see its dull and theres a picture of someone in the background and a guy running at a light with lightning all over the page.I also almost stopped reading a couple of times but i kept on going because i wanted to give it a chance but when i finally read the last page,I felt it wasn't worth the reading.So,my final sentence is,DON'T READ THIS BOOK!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Horrible Book this sucked!!

    This is the worst book I have ever read. If you like this book then you are dumb. I'm sorry did I call you dumb.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2006

    Worst book ever

    This book is terrible and sends a bad message to children. Don't read it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2006

    This was horrible.

    I read a few reviews and thought I'd give this book a chance. I'm disappointed in myself I even gave the book 'Stormbreaker' that chance. There were so many horrible cliches in there. I was able to skip an entire chapter and find out that nothing new had happened. Any sort of fiction about a teenage secret agent will end up being horrible, and making the guy British didn't do anything for it. I'm disappointed that I even wasted two days of my life trying to enjoy it. But the biggest thing was that one of my friends' little brother read the books. So, if you're nine, you could enjoy this pathetic excuse for enjoyable teenage fiction. Otherwise, save your money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2006

    Too, too horrrible.

    When I cracked this book, I was expecting a kind of 'young james bond' thing. No such luck. The plot was OK, but there are too many flaws to count--Alex Rider has no personalilty, ect, but also a lot of technical jargon (I'm a computer design and annalysist freak.) Do we really want our kids reading about people getting gutted by cheese wire or shocked to death by stingrays (by the way, Alex's escape from the stingray tank couldn't of happened, there is no iron in saltwater fish tanks, it has chemicals in it that could kill the animal), and do we really want to hear about mad almost-mass-murderers? Do we care? Heck, if I want a no-nonsense, good plot I open Redwall. SKIP THIS BOOK, don't trust the critics. It STINKs of gore, blood, and violence. But another thing is, it puts another little pocket of evil on this earth. (the end I mean.)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2005

    Seriously You Can Do Better Than This

    This is one of the saddest books I've ever read. I'm hopeing that 'The Bartieamas Trilogy' is better..... EAGLE STIKE IS TOTALLY PATHETIC

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3