Customer Reviews for

Stormdancer (Lotus War Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

There have been only a few times that I have been rendered speec

There have been only a few times that I have been rendered speechless in my life with not even a single coherent thought passing through my head. This is one of those moments. When I finished the last page of the book I was numb – numb from realization that I did not ha...
There have been only a few times that I have been rendered speechless in my life with not even a single coherent thought passing through my head. This is one of those moments. When I finished the last page of the book I was numb – numb from realization that I did not have any more to read of this wonderful, this magnificent piece of book called Stormdancer. I want more.

I knew this book would have been amazing… look at the cover, look at the blurb, look at the fact that it is a Japanese Steampunk featuring Thunder Tigers and Chainsaw Katanas – but the enormity of its amazingness blew me away. It was like reading a manga in text – the world was that vivid, the book was that action packed, the mythology was that enthralling, the characters that compelling – I can find no better praise to give a fantasy novel.

I am in awe. Literally. This book made me feel so many emotions at once I was like a ferris wheel rotating while running in full speed over a rollercoaster. I laughing hard at the dialogues one moment (Yes, Jay you are one witty man) and then slack-jawed the next. I cried while reading this book… (view spoiler) I loved the narrative with alternating viewpoints. I loved the way the action sequences were described – smoothly and kickass-ly. There were no vague gestures and no underscoring the attacks – they were there in all the gory and not-so-gory details. But the best part of Jay’s writing was the show and tell method – the information about the world, the beasts, the myths, the characters – they were written flawlessly that I did not feel either information overload or the lack of proper explanations. I was really glad that the romance was downplayed (really downplayed) and the heroine had her priorities straight. Saving the world with her great Thunder Tiger first; fantasies of the samurai with the blue-green eyes later.

Hands down, Yukiko was an amazing protagonist – beautiful, sarcastic, kickass, brave, kickass, smart, kickass and for extra emphasis kickass again. I can count in my single hand the YA protagonists who didn’t make me feel like my brain cells were dying just by the realization that I was also a teenage girl like them. I didn’t even roll my eyes at Yukiko’s actions even once, I didn’t even want to. The girl got my respect. As did Buuru. Buuru was the soul of this book. I was thinking HOLY FRICKIN’ HELL I WANT A PET GRIFFIN! He was that awesome. The way he slowly warmed up to Yukiko and got ready to fight the battles together was amazing! Heck, everything about Stormdancer was amazing!!

The Oni were creepy. The Lotusmen were creepier. Kin was adorable. Hiro was…there. Amaterasu, Izanami, Izanagi, Susano-¿, Tsukiyomi reminded me of Itachi Uchiha (who, in my, opinion is the greatest manga character of all time). The mythical world was fresh and interesting. The legends of the past Stormdancers and the stories of the long ago Gods were captivating. I would love to elaborate more about every frigging part of the book but honestly, I am running out of positive adjectives. I’m still stuck in the fact that it is over... and I don’t have the sequel yet!

Stormdancer is not just a book, it is THE book. THE book that breaks all the clichés in YA and gives us a fresh story to read. THE book with the storyline and fantasy that has not been recycled, reused, raped and printed by countless books before it. THE book with a heroine who knows what she’s doing, why she’s doing it and her reasons actually makes sense. THE book with a best friend who is not only a friggin’ Thunder Tiger but also witty, sarcastic and loyal. THE book with Chainsaw Katanas.

Seriously? What other reasons you need to read this book?

5 Stars! No doubt about it!!There have been only a few times that I have been rendered speechless in my life with not even a single coherent thought passing through my head. This is one of those moments. When I finished the last page of the book I was numb – numb from realization that I did not have any more to read of this wonderful, this magnificent piece of book called Stormdancer. I want more.

I knew this book would have been amazing… look at the cover, look at the blurb, look at the fact that it is a Japanese Steampunk featuring Thunder Tigers and Chainsaw Katanas – but the enormity of its amazingness blew me away. It was like reading a manga in text – the world was that vivid, the book was that action packed, the mythology was that enthralling, the characters that compelling – I can find no better praise to give a fantasy novel.

I am in awe. Literally. This book made me feel so many emotions at once I was like a ferris wheel rotating while running in full speed over a rollercoaster. I laughing hard at the dialogues one moment (Yes, Jay you are one witty man) and then slack-jawed the next. I cried while reading this book… I loved the narrative with alternating viewpoints. I loved the way the action sequences were described – smoothly and kickass-ly. There were no vague gestures and no underscoring the attacks – they were there in all the gory and not-so-gory details. But the best part of Jay’s writing was the show and tell method – the information about the world, the beasts, the myths, the characters – they were written flawlessly that I did not feel either information overload or the lack of proper explanations. I was really glad that the romance was downplayed (really downplayed) and the heroine had her priorities straight. Saving the world with her great Thunder Tiger first; fantasies of the samurai with the blue-green eyes later.

Hands down, Yukiko was an amazing protagonist – beautiful, sarcastic, kickass, brave, kickass, smart, kickass and for extra emphasis kickass again. I can count in my single hand the YA protagonists who didn’t make me feel like my brain cells were dying just by the realization that I was also a teenage girl like them. I didn’t even roll my eyes at Yukiko’s actions even once, I didn’t even want to. The girl got my respect. As did Buuru. Buuru was the soul of this book. I was thinking HOLY FRICKIN’ HELL I WANT A PET GRIFFIN! He was that awesome. The way he slowly warmed up to Yukiko and got ready to fight the battles together was amazing! Heck, everything about Stormdancer was amazing!!

The Oni were creepy. The Lotusmen were creepier. Kin was adorable. Hiro was…there. Amaterasu, Izanami, Izanagi, Susano-¿, Tsukiyomi reminded me of Itachi Uchiha (who, in my, opinion is the greatest manga character of all time). The mythical world was fresh and interesting. The legends of the past Stormdancers and the stories of the long ago Gods were captivating. I would love to elaborate more about every frigging part of the book but honestly, I am running out of positive adjectives. I’m still stuck in the fact that it is over... and I don’t have the sequel yet!

Stormdancer is not just a book, it is THE book. THE book that breaks all the clichés in YA and gives us a fresh story to read. THE book with the storyline and fantasy that has not been recycled, reused, raped and printed by countless books before it. THE book with a heroine who knows what she’s doing, why she’s doing it and her reasons actually makes sense. THE book with a best friend who is not only a friggin’ Thunder Tiger but also witty, sarcastic and loyal. THE book with Chainsaw Katanas.

Seriously? What other reasons you need to read this book?

5 Stars! No doubt about it!!

posted by shayana on September 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I am just so disappointed in Stormdancer. This is one of the few

I am just so disappointed in Stormdancer. This is one of the few books during my one year of blogging that I DNF-d. I always ask myself, whenever I contemplate whether to DNF a book or not if I am enjoying the novel, if I am easily distracted while reading it, if I even...
I am just so disappointed in Stormdancer. This is one of the few books during my one year of blogging that I DNF-d. I always ask myself, whenever I contemplate whether to DNF a book or not if I am enjoying the novel, if I am easily distracted while reading it, if I even understand what is going on, and lastly if I want to find out the ending or how the story progresses and reaches the end. Unfortunately for Stormdancer I just didn't care. The book was SO full of unnecessary details that derailed me from the plot. There are so many new terms and characters that I had to keep on flipping back and forth and try to understand what the hell is going on. Also, I have to stress on this, the detaillllllllls. Why do authors love to complicate things? A person enters the room. Yes describe what they're wearing, what they look like, but don't spend TWO pages giving me descriptions of the surroundings! I was so restless, so fidgety and so easily distracted while reading this novel. I just couldn't enjoy it, and I couldn't even bear to make myself finish. There are multiple books, such as The Unnaturalists and The Diviners, that I made myself go through and finish even though in the end I didn't enjoy them. However Stormdancer, from the first page, couldn't hold my interest. I am so disappointed because this was one of my most anticipated 2012 titles and I actually received a physical ARC of it. Which is why I am giving away my physical ARC for someone else that would appreciate and enjoy this novel.

posted by majibookshelf on November 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 19, 2012

    There have been only a few times that I have been rendered speec

    There have been only a few times that I have been rendered speechless in my life with not even a single coherent thought passing through my head. This is one of those moments. When I finished the last page of the book I was numb – numb from realization that I did not have any more to read of this wonderful, this magnificent piece of book called Stormdancer. I want more.

    I knew this book would have been amazing… look at the cover, look at the blurb, look at the fact that it is a Japanese Steampunk featuring Thunder Tigers and Chainsaw Katanas – but the enormity of its amazingness blew me away. It was like reading a manga in text – the world was that vivid, the book was that action packed, the mythology was that enthralling, the characters that compelling – I can find no better praise to give a fantasy novel.

    I am in awe. Literally. This book made me feel so many emotions at once I was like a ferris wheel rotating while running in full speed over a rollercoaster. I laughing hard at the dialogues one moment (Yes, Jay you are one witty man) and then slack-jawed the next. I cried while reading this book… (view spoiler) I loved the narrative with alternating viewpoints. I loved the way the action sequences were described – smoothly and kickass-ly. There were no vague gestures and no underscoring the attacks – they were there in all the gory and not-so-gory details. But the best part of Jay’s writing was the show and tell method – the information about the world, the beasts, the myths, the characters – they were written flawlessly that I did not feel either information overload or the lack of proper explanations. I was really glad that the romance was downplayed (really downplayed) and the heroine had her priorities straight. Saving the world with her great Thunder Tiger first; fantasies of the samurai with the blue-green eyes later.

    Hands down, Yukiko was an amazing protagonist – beautiful, sarcastic, kickass, brave, kickass, smart, kickass and for extra emphasis kickass again. I can count in my single hand the YA protagonists who didn’t make me feel like my brain cells were dying just by the realization that I was also a teenage girl like them. I didn’t even roll my eyes at Yukiko’s actions even once, I didn’t even want to. The girl got my respect. As did Buuru. Buuru was the soul of this book. I was thinking HOLY FRICKIN’ HELL I WANT A PET GRIFFIN! He was that awesome. The way he slowly warmed up to Yukiko and got ready to fight the battles together was amazing! Heck, everything about Stormdancer was amazing!!

    The Oni were creepy. The Lotusmen were creepier. Kin was adorable. Hiro was…there. Amaterasu, Izanami, Izanagi, Susano-¿, Tsukiyomi reminded me of Itachi Uchiha (who, in my, opinion is the greatest manga character of all time). The mythical world was fresh and interesting. The legends of the past Stormdancers and the stories of the long ago Gods were captivating. I would love to elaborate more about every frigging part of the book but honestly, I am running out of positive adjectives. I’m still stuck in the fact that it is over... and I don’t have the sequel yet!

    Stormdancer is not just a book, it is THE book. THE book that breaks all the clichés in YA and gives us a fresh story to read. THE book with the storyline and fantasy that has not been recycled, reused, raped and printed by countless books before it. THE book with a heroine who knows what she’s doing, why she’s doing it and her reasons actually makes sense. THE book with a best friend who is not only a friggin’ Thunder Tiger but also witty, sarcastic and loyal. THE book with Chainsaw Katanas.

    Seriously? What other reasons you need to read this book?

    5 Stars! No doubt about it!!There have been only a few times that I have been rendered speechless in my life with not even a single coherent thought passing through my head. This is one of those moments. When I finished the last page of the book I was numb – numb from realization that I did not have any more to read of this wonderful, this magnificent piece of book called Stormdancer. I want more.

    I knew this book would have been amazing… look at the cover, look at the blurb, look at the fact that it is a Japanese Steampunk featuring Thunder Tigers and Chainsaw Katanas – but the enormity of its amazingness blew me away. It was like reading a manga in text – the world was that vivid, the book was that action packed, the mythology was that enthralling, the characters that compelling – I can find no better praise to give a fantasy novel.

    I am in awe. Literally. This book made me feel so many emotions at once I was like a ferris wheel rotating while running in full speed over a rollercoaster. I laughing hard at the dialogues one moment (Yes, Jay you are one witty man) and then slack-jawed the next. I cried while reading this book… I loved the narrative with alternating viewpoints. I loved the way the action sequences were described – smoothly and kickass-ly. There were no vague gestures and no underscoring the attacks – they were there in all the gory and not-so-gory details. But the best part of Jay’s writing was the show and tell method – the information about the world, the beasts, the myths, the characters – they were written flawlessly that I did not feel either information overload or the lack of proper explanations. I was really glad that the romance was downplayed (really downplayed) and the heroine had her priorities straight. Saving the world with her great Thunder Tiger first; fantasies of the samurai with the blue-green eyes later.

    Hands down, Yukiko was an amazing protagonist – beautiful, sarcastic, kickass, brave, kickass, smart, kickass and for extra emphasis kickass again. I can count in my single hand the YA protagonists who didn’t make me feel like my brain cells were dying just by the realization that I was also a teenage girl like them. I didn’t even roll my eyes at Yukiko’s actions even once, I didn’t even want to. The girl got my respect. As did Buuru. Buuru was the soul of this book. I was thinking HOLY FRICKIN’ HELL I WANT A PET GRIFFIN! He was that awesome. The way he slowly warmed up to Yukiko and got ready to fight the battles together was amazing! Heck, everything about Stormdancer was amazing!!

    The Oni were creepy. The Lotusmen were creepier. Kin was adorable. Hiro was…there. Amaterasu, Izanami, Izanagi, Susano-¿, Tsukiyomi reminded me of Itachi Uchiha (who, in my, opinion is the greatest manga character of all time). The mythical world was fresh and interesting. The legends of the past Stormdancers and the stories of the long ago Gods were captivating. I would love to elaborate more about every frigging part of the book but honestly, I am running out of positive adjectives. I’m still stuck in the fact that it is over... and I don’t have the sequel yet!

    Stormdancer is not just a book, it is THE book. THE book that breaks all the clichés in YA and gives us a fresh story to read. THE book with the storyline and fantasy that has not been recycled, reused, raped and printed by countless books before it. THE book with a heroine who knows what she’s doing, why she’s doing it and her reasons actually makes sense. THE book with a best friend who is not only a friggin’ Thunder Tiger but also witty, sarcastic and loyal. THE book with Chainsaw Katanas.

    Seriously? What other reasons you need to read this book?

    5 Stars! No doubt about it!!

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Shima is a perfect steampunk dynasty. It was so vividly painted

    Shima is a perfect steampunk dynasty. It was so vividly painted that it was more like watching a movie that reading a book. The words left nothing lacking in it’s tapestry.

    Yukiko is a beautiful girl. Not in physical beauty because the labor of the world has hidden that away, but in ideal. She cares for what others would abandon or turn a blind eye and that is one of her greatest strengths. She’s slightly naïve in the beginning; she understands yet doesn’t really understand the matters at play that move her world. Her growth is one of the best ever written.

    Buruu is special. He completes Yukiko. His reason, and sometimes lack thereof tempers her weaknesses and at times strengthens her as well. In the beginning Buruu didn’t need her and acted that way, but with all things, there’s a gradual understanding that grows into a beautiful love.

    The story is quick paced. There’s never a page where something isn’t happening that isn’t important to the story. Every word has meaning and it’s written so well, that the plot doesn’t lead the reader by the nose. It unfolds rather beautifully and smoothly.

    Overall, this book was superb. This was a perfect blend of history, mythology and steampunk ever experienced. There is certainly nothing like this and there’s no justifiable way to describe the perfection that is this unique story. A recommend read for all fantasy, YA, Steampunk, Japanese, and Mythology readers. In any or no combination. ^_^

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Spellbinding Debut!

    I was really excited to read this and hoped it would live up to the hype - and IT.DID! Stormdancer begins with a gorgeous cover and continues with fantastic characters who take you on a spellbinding journey of love, sacrifice and hope that left me in tears. (Ugly-cry sobbing is more like it.) This story sucked me in right away and Jay Kristoff is a master worldbuilder. He transports the reader right into a Japan on the brink of war by painting such vivid pictures through sights, sounds and smells. (I kept catching myself covering my face, as if I could actually smell the stench.) The relationship between Yukiko and Buruu is honest and heart-aching in it's tenderness and left me wishing for a Buruu of my own. (Are you listening Santa?) Yukiko is definitely out numbered by men and Kin and Hiro are just two who find themselves rotating in her orbit. One is quiet and determined while the other is a fierce warrior. Both are loyal in their dedication and it's that loyalty that might just be their undoing. Yukiko does every girl proud with her strength, beauty and stubbornness. She doesn't do anything half way, whether it's fighting for what she believes in or loving those around her. She makes a few mistakes and learns some tough lessons about love and friendship but it's not until she suffers a gut wrenching betrayal that she learns the true meaning of sacrifice. The Lotus Wars has only just begun and I can't wait to see what happens next!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2012

    Yukiko is a 16 year old girl, belonging to the Kitsune clan. Her

    Yukiko is a 16 year old girl, belonging to the Kitsune clan. Her father is the Hunt Master, and they are off on a journey to capture a thunder tiger - a beast of legend, extinct long ago. Extinct, however, it seems not. They capture the tiger before crashing their airship. Now Yukiko is separated by her father and stuck with the thunder tiger, a bond between them forming.


    Stormdancer is a novel filled with vivid detail and dazzling descriptions. This novel took me longer than I would usually would to read. I was overwhelmed by the amount of detailed description, and took my time reading slowly and carefully, savouring every word. I constantly stopped and imagined Yukiko's world, and when I came across a word I didn't know or something I couldn't imagine, I would look it up before I continued. Yukiko was a strong character, a brave girl admist all the evil. Buruu, the thunder tiger, was my favourite of the characters, smart and witty. There are many other characters in this novel, their personalities suitably fitting each of them.


    The plot-line of this story really drew me in. I felt like I was right beside the characters all the time. Stormdancer has a little bit of everything - fantasy, romance, action, betrayal, murder and so much more. I am glad there is going to be more than one book, because I am definitely wanting more of this world to come alive.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2013

    A book like this only comes along once in a very long while. Inc

    A book like this only comes along once in a very long while. Incredibly rich worldbuilding, a cast of characters that will stay with you long after you're finished and action on an epic scale come together to create a truly unique book I'll never forget.




    If you prefer your stories quick and simple, this isn't the book for you. Jay Kristoff weaves a world with layer upon layer of detail, drawing on Japanese history, myth and legend, steampunk elements, political intrigue and a healthy dose of fantasy. The result is spectacular.




    Yukiko is a gutsy, realistic teenaged protagonist, surrounded by a cast of characters who each deserve their own book. I'm looking forward to seeing some in the sequel, and starting a campaign now for some prequel novellas featuring the adventures of Masaru and co. before the story proper opens. Buruu, the thunder tiger, has some of the best lines of the book, and is a triumph all of his own.




    The plot is a rich combination of action and politics, and in a book where nobody's safe (warning: I cried more than once), the story picks you up and relentlessly carries you onward.




    The word 'epic' is overused these days, but Stormdancer is epic in every sense of the word.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    It only took two pages before I knew that I would be highly enjo

    It only took two pages before I knew that I would be highly enjoying this book.

    THE WORLD 
    Stormdancer is described as a "Japanese inspired steampunk fantasy", so I was already mentally preparing myself for the world of
    Stormdancer. It took me a bit before I fully took it all in, but it was incredible how vivid the setting was. There are people dying along
    with their land and the growth of the Lotus that is poisoning everyone. There are also creatures such as griffins hiding out in the land.
    GRIFFINS, PEOPLE. GRIFFINS.

    THE CHARACTERS
    Let's start with the super awesome Yukiko. She is skilled in fighting, can communicate with animals, and goes on hunting trips for the
    Shogun. Yukiko starts off as an angsty 16 year old and transforms into this fierce heroine. Buruu, the griffin, is my favorite character
    along with Yukiko. He develops from an almost barbaric animal with his thirst for killing into a complex, human-like creature. Buruu
    slowly builds a sense of sarcasm, and a great personality.

    OVERALL
    There were moments when the story was a bit slow, especially when things were being introduced and explained, but the story
    held my attention the whole time. Stormdancer was constantly entertaining with the writing, characters, and setting. I will most definitely
    be reading more of mister Kristoff's work.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    5 STARS FOR A BRILLIANTLY ORIGINAL STORY !!!

    I hope the author can maintain the exotic originality of the settings and characters. Minor quibble with japanese language use (a *Samisen* is held and played very much like a guitar, plus it only has 3 strings) the instrument that the author describes being played in the royal "living quarters" is most likely a *Koto* a long, thirteen string floor harp. Plus as already mentioned incorrect usage of the honorific "Sama".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Hi

    I kind of felt offended at the beginning of the book. They were tryiing to hunt a griffin... my name is griffin.

    Overall, the book was amazing. There better be a book 2 or ill have to sue the writer for not making another book to go along and make a series.


    ... but sereously... he better make a book 2. The whole concept of the dying world and the broken down, well, everything is an idea you cant just walk away from.its an amazing book and there should be more.

    HIT YES IF YOU AGREE!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    This book tries really hard to sound Japanese, but it seems the

    This book tries really hard to sound Japanese, but it seems the author did some rudimentary research on the culture and put whatever cool vaguely Asian thing he could think of in there. The end result is a jumble of unnecessary Japanese terms thrown in every 5 words for good measure, many of them used laughably wrong. There might be a story underneath all that, but it all reads like bad anime fan-fiction (you know, the stories where everyone says "hai" instead of yes and for some reason uses Japanese word wherever the author managed to find a translation for them) . Remove the embarrassing Japanese misappropriation and we're left with a boringly generic plucky, naive, rebellious teenage female protagonist (yawn) on some adventure or other(sorry, couldn't get past page 30 or so). Wouldn't recommend this book to anybody who enjoys Japanese culture and myths and would not like to see them butchered.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I am just so disappointed in Stormdancer. This is one of the few

    I am just so disappointed in Stormdancer. This is one of the few books during my one year of blogging that I DNF-d. I always ask myself, whenever I contemplate whether to DNF a book or not if I am enjoying the novel, if I am easily distracted while reading it, if I even understand what is going on, and lastly if I want to find out the ending or how the story progresses and reaches the end. Unfortunately for Stormdancer I just didn't care. The book was SO full of unnecessary details that derailed me from the plot. There are so many new terms and characters that I had to keep on flipping back and forth and try to understand what the hell is going on. Also, I have to stress on this, the detaillllllllls. Why do authors love to complicate things? A person enters the room. Yes describe what they're wearing, what they look like, but don't spend TWO pages giving me descriptions of the surroundings! I was so restless, so fidgety and so easily distracted while reading this novel. I just couldn't enjoy it, and I couldn't even bear to make myself finish. There are multiple books, such as The Unnaturalists and The Diviners, that I made myself go through and finish even though in the end I didn't enjoy them. However Stormdancer, from the first page, couldn't hold my interest. I am so disappointed because this was one of my most anticipated 2012 titles and I actually received a physical ARC of it. Which is why I am giving away my physical ARC for someone else that would appreciate and enjoy this novel.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    First of all, it's an excellent book, and you should read it. Bu

    First of all, it's an excellent book, and you should read it. But before you pick it up, you need to know that it's very slow to get going--the first part of the book is extremely description-heavy, so much so that it can be overwhelming. I set the book down for long intervals in the beginning and I thought I was going to have to struggle to finish it. Those of you who picked up this book to soak in the steampunk setting may find this exciting, but the rest of us will be stuck waiting for the plot and characters to actually grab us.

    I'm happy to report that they do. Not right away, but once this book starts picking up, you won't want to put it down. The characters are very real and easy to relate to, including the young female lead, who is bratty in the beginning in a way that you come to really sympathize with later on. The book deals with a lot of really emotional issues related to environmental stewardship, misplaced loyalty, and social injustice, and there is a constant tie-back to the region's nearly-forgotten, but beautiful ancient mythology. The ending is also satisfying while still making you look forward to a Book 2.

    In short, I liked this book by the end enough to immediately go back and re-read the beginning so that I could appreciate it in a way that I didn't at first. If that doesn't convince you to give it a read, I don't know what would.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2014

    Highly recommended

    Japanese, Steampunk, mythical creatures. I loved the uniqueness of this book. I will certainly be moving on to book 2. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2014

    stormdancer review

    This novel wasn't what I expected. I liked the plot and the main characters but struggled to get into the novel. It was interesting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2014

    you should read this

    so good can,t wait for book 2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    Alright, this book promises to be a lot of things (a Japanese st

    Alright, this book promises to be a lot of things (a Japanese steampunk novel laced with fantasy/mythological roots?!!!), and I am happy to report it delivers on all of them. This book is REALLY slow in the beginning, there's going to be a lot of world building for the 1st half of the book. I'm fairly positive most people are with me when I say the author spends a bit too much time on descriptions. HOWEVER, just stick with it and I promise it will deliver a great adventure story. Once I really got into the main plot I was addicted. It's an amazing and inventive story, I mean it's got a little bit of everything in here (adventure, espionage, romance, friendship, betrayal, ect.). It's one of the story's that has you racing to grab the next book in the series. Definitely worth the time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    BlazingShadow

    May I join?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Darkmoon

    No problem.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Bosstar

    Well well little one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    Celestialstar

    AWSOME! Thnx :3. P.s snowfrost you have a stepdad in my den, but dont go in there. Once we are fully mates ill bring him out and announce itto the rest of the clan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    To all INPORTENT

    Windheart is coming back!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4