Customer Reviews for

Storming the Castle: An Original Short Story with Bonus Content

Average Rating 4
( 303 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(100)

4 Star

(98)

3 Star

(72)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Good book

I liked this book quite a bit. I would have preferred a full length story for them. It helps that I read "A kiss at midnight" before I read this book. You then know more about the main male character and the people that live in the castle. A nutty family, but entertaini...
I liked this book quite a bit. I would have preferred a full length story for them. It helps that I read "A kiss at midnight" before I read this book. You then know more about the main male character and the people that live in the castle. A nutty family, but entertaining.

posted by BookGeek47 on December 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Hurry-up ending

This was an enjoyable book with likable characters. It felt like along the way that there was a lot of backstory that we should have known from a prequel. I did not look up the info to see if there is an earlier book or not, though. The story was going right along wh...
This was an enjoyable book with likable characters. It felt like along the way that there was a lot of backstory that we should have known from a prequel. I did not look up the info to see if there is an earlier book or not, though. The story was going right along when it seemed that all of a sudden the author decided to end the book so she rushed an ending out. It was not a bad ending, just felt rushed.

posted by Rune2011 on January 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    What a great read! really enjoyed it. I could really connect wi

    What a great read! really enjoyed it. I could really connect with the characters. Can only recommend

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Wonderful Novella!

    A wonderful novella telling the story of Wick - the illigetimate half brother of the Prince Gabriel from A Kiss at Midnight.

    After reading the story a Kiss at Midnight I loved the character Wick and wanted good things for him. While I hoped there would be a novel detailing his story I never found one. But last night looking for a quick read I found this short story and 10 pages in to the story realized that this is exactly what I was looking for.

    The beautiful Phillipa comes to Prince Gabriel and Kate's castle in hopes of aiding their sickly newborn and avoiding an unwanted marriage. Of course, she finds the same antics and family humor that Kate found when she came to the castle- but she has a friend in Kate who immediately recognizes her as a true lady and not a servant.

    While caring for the newborn prince she falls in love with the Prince Gabriel's loyal, smart but illigetimate half brother Berwick. Berwick of course falls instantly in love with Kate too.

    But Wick (as he is known to family and friends) is not but a servant and an illigetimate one at that. Kate is a lady and would become a servant to by marrying Wick, not to mention her father and the fiancee that shabbily tooker her virginity are expecting her to come home and meet her obligations and compete her marriage vows.

    Will their love overcome what seems to be insurmountable obstacles?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Very Sweet

    I am not much of a romance reader, but I found this light and very enjoyable. It is a short story, but it packs a punch. I really like Phillipa, she is smart and kind. I like Wick too, although I wanted to kick him in the rear. I won't spoil it for you, but I am happy she wasn't forced to marry someone she didn't love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2014

    Book #1.5 in Eloisa James' Fairy Tales series, this is a novella

    Book #1.5 in Eloisa James' Fairy Tales series, this is a novella.
    This is the sweet and very romantic story of Wick, Gabriel’s brother from A Kiss at Midnight. Wick (short for Berwick) is the son of a grand duke “born on the wrong side of the blanket.” He and Gabriel are extremely close and Wick has voluntarily installed himself in Gabe’s life and employ as his majordomo/butler. He has a gentleman’s education but can never hope for true respectability in Polite Society. He is a reserved and honorable man whose sensible counsel and cool head manage the castle and royal family.
    Miss Philippa Damson of Ha’penny—love these names!—gave her virginity to Sir Rodney Durfey, her betrothed since childhood. Only after they’ve done the deed does she realize her grave mistake, so she plans an escape when she discovers that the Princess’ new baby has taken ill at nearby Pomeroy Castle. Her uncle is a physician so she has learned about medical care in addition to her lady’s education and she’s confident that she can help the royal family as a nursemaid.
    I love the way Philippa “storms” the castle with her no-nonsense, take-charge attitude. She shocks and delights Wick—and it doesn’t hurt that she’s beautiful, too. She discovers the infant has “collywobbles,” a stomach upset and proceeds to settle in until he’s well.
    Wick is immediately taken with her “silver-colored” hair as well as her quirky manner but he quickly discovers that she is a lady of quality escaping something, and he determines to find out what it is.
    And so Wick and Philippa begin a courtship of sorts as they take care of the infant with their midnight strolls in the portrait gallery of the castle. She comes to learn his true identity and he learns her secret.
    “It was as though the obscurity of the night gave them sanction to be their true selves.”
    So he’s a bastard grand duke’s son and she’s a lady working as a servant, and both are ruined in the eyes of society.  Wick feels he cannot possibly marry a gentleman’s daughter since he’s both a bastard and a servant, even if he is of royal blood. But, of course, he’s torn when he falls for her and rationalizes that it might be possible if the servant is a lady. It sounds a little convoluted, but it’s a very cute plot as each feels they are not good enough for the other.
    The Prince and Princess, Kate and Gabriel, are grateful for Philippa’s help. Gabe is as devoted to Wick as ever and Philippa notices their close relationship.
    ”’Yet he can’t manage without you? Would he not wish the same happiness for you?’”
    As in all of Eloisa James’ stories, there are many humorous, laugh-out-loud moments. Life at Pomeroy Castle is very casual, unpretentious, and family love is abundant.
    “‘You may be in a castle, among royalty of sorts…but I’m afraid you’ll find, Miss Damson, that we descend to the lowest type of behavior while in private.’”
    Memorable moments:
    “‘If I were a man, I’d be a doctor, and no one could tell me what to do.’”
    "He smelled delicious, like lemon soap and something else, like the wind on the moors."
    “‘I know the type. I think it goes along with the English ancestry. I expect he hunts, and delights in shouting absurdities like tallyho.’”
    The ending is wonderful and reminds me just why I read and love historical romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    All her works are excellent.. this is no exception.

    All her works are excellent.. this is no exception.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    well worth it

    Very enjoyable story!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2013

    Outstanding! I read this novella prior to A KISS AT MIDNIGHT,

    Outstanding!

    I read this novella prior to A KISS AT MIDNIGHT, and found the background well explained and easy to follow. Characterizations were very well done, delightful humor, well-motivated choices in hero and heroine.

    I'm rapidly collecting ALL of Eloisa's books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Great historical romance, just not long enough. =)

    Great story of a woman betrothed to a man her whole life and suddenly she realizes after bedding him that he is not what she wants. She runs away to a castle to desguise herself as a nanny and truly falls in love. Not what after her maidenhood is gone?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Saphire~note~

    Couldnt help but smile

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Wonderful

    Really enjoyed this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Silena

    U wanna go shopping

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Dalton

    Eve meet me in ur room

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I love these new versions of the old fairy tales:)

    I love these new versions of the old fairy tales:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Loved it

    I nearly cried it was so good. Fav historical read of the year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Always Recommend

    I always enjoy Eloisa James novels and this one lived up to my expectations. It was a nice quick read perfect for three hours to oneself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    Great short romance

    I enjoyed this story n didnt feel it was rushed !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    Very Sweet

    This is a fun little ditty that was a quick read. Beware they have excepts in the back that will make you want more. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5