Customer Reviews for

Storm's Heart (Elder Races Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 172 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(93)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good Summer read

Another good book! After I read dragon bound, I had to read Storm's heart and was not disappointed. Good read.

posted by BookaholicTracy on August 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Good 2nd book, but not as action packed & hot as it's predecessor

Redonk Nutshell: Ascending faery princess reluctantly accepts protection from ancient friend amidst several conspiracy attempts to assassinate her

Firstly, if you haven't read Dragon Bound, the first in the Elder Races series, GET ON IT. It's amaaaaaaazing. Storm's ...
Redonk Nutshell: Ascending faery princess reluctantly accepts protection from ancient friend amidst several conspiracy attempts to assassinate her

Firstly, if you haven't read Dragon Bound, the first in the Elder Races series, GET ON IT. It's amaaaaaaazing. Storm's Heart is the next installation in the series, chronicling Niniane, aka "Tricks" and Tiago, and their unwelcome attraction to one another. I say unwelcome, but I don't think that's quite the right word. Forbidden is probably more appropriate. Niniane has recently come out of hiding in order to ascend to the Dark Fae throne, a prospect she hasn't really been looking forward to. When she leaves the safety of her Wyr friends in NYC to go to Chicago, she is immediately attacked and goes back into hiding. This of course infuriates the Wyr, and Tiago takes it upon himself to go find her. From there, he sticks like glue to her side, and the two of them work together to get to the bottom of the attacks against her.

I had high expectations for Storm's Heart, being that I fell head over heels for Dragon Bound. I was bummed out when I found myself struggling to stay invested in the story. The pacing is slower from Dragon Bound, and I found myself glazing over several times throughout. There were a few great funny moments, however, Tricks being one not to disappoint with her outrageous ways. What had me scratching my head, though, was how these two had known each other for so long but only now started to have hardcore attraction to each other. I wasn't really buying it.

I was glad when I finished Storm's Heart, feeling obligated to stick it out because of my adoration from it's predecessor. I know. I'm weird. Nonetheless, it was a fun read, though it didn't quite meet up to the bar I had set. Regardless, I'm looking forward to the third, Serpent's Kiss, which is set up in Storm's Heart and looks to be a fun romp.

Storm's Heart by Thea Harrison, 305pgs, July/August 2011

Rating: C

Romance: 1/5 Raunch: 3.5/5

posted by Acanoffleas on July 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 23, 2012

    4star ssssssizzler! All of the Elder Races thought there would

    4star ssssssizzler!

    All of the Elder Races thought there would be trouble when long lost heir to the Dark Fae throne Thistle “Tricks” Periwinkle/Niniane Lorelle ascended. What they didn’t know was that she’d come to claim her throne with her own personal Wyr Warlord in the form of T-Bird/Dr. Death. Tricks & Dr. Death (Tiago Black Eagle) were great together while living the adage of opposites attract as every aspect of their looks and personalities were opposite.

    The hazards of political intrigue, assassination attempts and roiling emotions serve as a perfect backdrop for this volatile couple to find their way to the land of HEA. The absurdity of some of Trick’s shallow antics felt true as they made you laugh out loud and commiserated with Tiago as he could only shake his head. They also underscored the growth arc for her character.

    The layers unraveling the assassination plot were expertly woven with the layers of the romance making both very satisfying threads for the overall story. There are brief peeks at the secondary characters bringing us up to date and laying the foundation for the next installment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2014

    I liked the first book just fine, but this book just made me wan

    I liked the first book just fine, but this book just made me want the whole series.  I really enjoyed this one.  I love Tiago and what he’s capable of as a Thunderbird.  Niniane is cute and fierce – deadly in her own right.  Their chemistry is scorching and I adored them together.  

    The conflict was a little predictable and all, but that’s really my only complaint.  I loved the different species and the travel to other lands.  There’s action, romance, and mystery – what’s not to love?

    Storm’s Heart is an emotional ride that will leave you hooked on the series and anxious for your next hit.  With characters that are sexy and cool and an exciting plot, you won’t be disappointed with this awesome read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Dude Has Lightening Bolts in His Eyes!

    I listened to this as an audiobook, narrated by Sophie Eastlake, so my review is based on that version.

    This is the second book in the Elder Races series, but it could have been listened to without hearing the first book, Dragon Bound. There are references to things that happened in the first book but not enough so that you would have been lost if you didn¿t read it.

    This story takes up where the first left off and is the love story of Tricks (cute little dark Fae princess) and Tiago (Big ole Thunderbird). There are many circumstances that keep Tricks and Tiago apart including themselves. Although they both feel an attraction to each other, they are hesitant to take the big step that will mate them for life.

    There are also many Dark Fae that don¿t want Tricks to ascend to the throne so every once in a while there will be an assassination attempt on her. Between the assassination attempts and the friends that are trying to keep them apart, the world just seems against the possibility of Tricks and Tiago ever being together.

    This story had a slow build up to the ultimate conclusion. There was a point where I was just thinking ¿get on with it and mate already will ya?¿ but that is just my impatient self. Overall it is a good second book and I believe those that enjoyed the first book, Dragon Bound, will also enjoy this story.

    The Narration Review
    This audiobook was narrated by Sophie Eastlake who was also the narrator for the first book. She has a great story telling voice that is very easy to listen to. Sophie sounds youngish, so I always blush for her when she has to say sexually explicit things. LoL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Very well written

    This author writes really well. Cant wait for next one...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3