Customer Reviews for

Storm's Heart (Elder Races Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 176 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(94)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good Summer read

Another good book! After I read dragon bound, I had to read Storm's heart and was not disappointed. Good read.

posted by BookaholicTracy on August 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Good 2nd book, but not as action packed & hot as it's predecessor

Redonk Nutshell: Ascending faery princess reluctantly accepts protection from ancient friend amidst several conspiracy attempts to assassinate her

Firstly, if you haven't read Dragon Bound, the first in the Elder Races series, GET ON IT. It's amaaaaaaazing. Storm's ...
Redonk Nutshell: Ascending faery princess reluctantly accepts protection from ancient friend amidst several conspiracy attempts to assassinate her

Firstly, if you haven't read Dragon Bound, the first in the Elder Races series, GET ON IT. It's amaaaaaaazing. Storm's Heart is the next installation in the series, chronicling Niniane, aka "Tricks" and Tiago, and their unwelcome attraction to one another. I say unwelcome, but I don't think that's quite the right word. Forbidden is probably more appropriate. Niniane has recently come out of hiding in order to ascend to the Dark Fae throne, a prospect she hasn't really been looking forward to. When she leaves the safety of her Wyr friends in NYC to go to Chicago, she is immediately attacked and goes back into hiding. This of course infuriates the Wyr, and Tiago takes it upon himself to go find her. From there, he sticks like glue to her side, and the two of them work together to get to the bottom of the attacks against her.

I had high expectations for Storm's Heart, being that I fell head over heels for Dragon Bound. I was bummed out when I found myself struggling to stay invested in the story. The pacing is slower from Dragon Bound, and I found myself glazing over several times throughout. There were a few great funny moments, however, Tricks being one not to disappoint with her outrageous ways. What had me scratching my head, though, was how these two had known each other for so long but only now started to have hardcore attraction to each other. I wasn't really buying it.

I was glad when I finished Storm's Heart, feeling obligated to stick it out because of my adoration from it's predecessor. I know. I'm weird. Nonetheless, it was a fun read, though it didn't quite meet up to the bar I had set. Regardless, I'm looking forward to the third, Serpent's Kiss, which is set up in Storm's Heart and looks to be a fun romp.

Storm's Heart by Thea Harrison, 305pgs, July/August 2011

Rating: C

Romance: 1/5 Raunch: 3.5/5

posted by Acanoffleas on July 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 176 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    11/17/11

    Wonderful story. Love Tiago.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not as good as the first

    I'm very disappointed in this. I really liked Dragon Bound, and I would recommend it to anyone who likes paranormal romances, but I just could not like Storm's Heart. In fact, I couldn't even finish it. For one, I didn't like the main characters, Tiago and Tricks, because they are one-dimensional. Tiago's character is solely defined by his muscles. No, really. I got tired of the author stating over and over again how big and massive he is. He also doesn't have much personality other than being an aggressive male. I liked Dragos from Dragon Bound, because even though he was aggressive, he was learning to be less of a jerk and was respectful of Pia. Tiago has none of that. I didn't care for Tricks either. I liked her in Dragon Bound for her enthusiastic attitude, but here she lost all that spark and seems like a different character. She's more of a helpless weakling. The author also puts too much emphasis on how small and delicate she is compared to Tiago. I didn't like Tricks and Tiago's relationship, because I wasn't convinced that they fell in love with each other. I never saw any reason why they were attracted to each other. I just had to take the author's word for it. The plot is boring. The politics gets a little heavy, and there's info dumping here and there. I didn't mind the slow pacing in Dragon Bound, because it at least helped in developing Dragos and Pia's relationship, but since the romance here is lacking, the snail's pace was excruciating for me and made me drop the book. All in all, just a major disappointment for me. Not sure if I will pick up the third book, but I like the author's writing so if I see #3 in the library, I will give it try.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    Beautiful Story

    Loved It!!! I promise you will not be disappointed. It was so nice, I had to read twice!!! LOL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    Great

    Love it. Sexy and hot with mythical creatures. Paranormal in theme and suspensful yet romantic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    sexy n dominant

    Cant wait to read the next one these first 2 have been great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another GREAT read!!

    Thea Harrison is my new favorite author, at least for today. I am in such awe of people who can imagine new and exciting worlds/people/lives, and this author has done an excellent job with this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fab Fae

    The story of Niniane "Tricks" and Tiego was a good read and i did enjoy it, but I did feel like Storm's Heart had a lot of simularities with Dragon Bound. I felt like the characters were the same, i.e. Niniane is the independant and witty heroine that is on the run, hiding for fear of death threats on her life, it's a lot like Pia. Likewise, Tiego is the powerful, short tempered uber male who falls for the small fairy and will do anything to protect her, this reminds me a lot of Dragos. Don't get me wrong though, I did enjoy reading the story and Trick's witty nature made for an amusing read, I just wish that the character dynamics were different and stood out a little more. I am excited about Rune's story Serpent's Kiss and from reading the sneak peek, it looks like a good one. Overall Thea Harrison paints a vivid picture of her world that truely does take you for a ride. I enjoyed Storm's Heart and I look forward to more books from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Very well written

    This author writes really well. Cant wait for next one...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Exciting and Entertaining

    Thoroughly enjoyed this second book of the Elder Races Series. I hate having to wait for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    "STORM'S HEART" (REVIEW)

    "STORM'S HEART" BY THEA HARRISON

    This book got me excited! I love a good paranormal book with a lot of action and this one did not disappoint. The characters are wonderfully drawn out and descriptions so rich you can see them in your mind.

    Thea Harrison is a writer with a multitude of talent and I look forward to reading more of her work. Definitely pick up this series!

    -Kitty Bullard / Great Minds Think Aloud Book Club

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    She did it again!

    I was waiting with bated breath for the new book in the series to come out and it did not disappoint, i will keep this author in my must read pile. please read the first book in the series first. you'll see what i mean.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The second Elder Races romantic fantasy is an entertaining tale

    Two centuries ago Urien murdered the royal family. Only he failed to kill his niece Dark Fae Princess Niniane "Tricks" Lorelle. After witnessing the atrocities, she fled to the protection of Lord of the Wyrn Dragos. When Urien kidnaps Dragos' mate, he kills the usurper.

    In Chicago where Tricks hides, an assassination attempt on her leads to ancient thunderbird Wyr warrior Tiago Black Eagle sent to protect the new Dark Fae Queen. Each is shocked with the attraction between them. However, she knows she must prove her independence if she is to take the throne that is rightfully hers; and he knows her safety comes before his desire so he must keep her safe while ferreting out the assassin.

    The second Elder Races romantic fantasy (see Dragon Bound) is an entertaining tale filled with betrayal and blood feuds that give the story line (even with a stay in GPS Chicago) a sort of Scottish historical Highlander feel. The moderate pace allows the audience to fully dive into the Harrison realm where the supernatural seem natural. Sub-genre readers will enjoy Tricks' saga summed up by her with her adding the fourth definition of a Queen to the dictionary: "a royal pain in the ass".

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    Can't wait to read it!

    Dragon bound was a great read. Im sure this one will be just as good, maybe better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 176 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9