BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Stormy Weather

Average Rating 4.5
( 126 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(87)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Wacky trip into a post-hurricane Florida

I had heard a lot about Carl Hiaasen, especially from some friends whose taste in books I trust, and so on their suggestion, I picked up Stormy Weather. Because his books are shelved in the mystery section of most bookstores I visit, I expected this one to read like a m...
I had heard a lot about Carl Hiaasen, especially from some friends whose taste in books I trust, and so on their suggestion, I picked up Stormy Weather. Because his books are shelved in the mystery section of most bookstores I visit, I expected this one to read like a mystery. Instead it seemed more of a combination satire, slice of life, and environmental commentary. Even so, or perhaps precisely because of these things, I enjoyed the book enormously. Hiaasen's writing is clever and deft, full of a vivid eccentricity of people and place that effortlessly drew me in. I look forward to reading more of his work.

posted by slimikin on April 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Horrible book can't wait to finish it..if it gets any worse I mi

Horrible book can't wait to finish it..if it gets any worse I might not finish it. To many characters to keep track off and a silly plot. Hope the next book I read by him is better.

posted by 3858718 on August 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wacky trip into a post-hurricane Florida

    I had heard a lot about Carl Hiaasen, especially from some friends whose taste in books I trust, and so on their suggestion, I picked up Stormy Weather. Because his books are shelved in the mystery section of most bookstores I visit, I expected this one to read like a mystery. Instead it seemed more of a combination satire, slice of life, and environmental commentary. Even so, or perhaps precisely because of these things, I enjoyed the book enormously. Hiaasen's writing is clever and deft, full of a vivid eccentricity of people and place that effortlessly drew me in. I look forward to reading more of his work.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2006

    Funny read

    At first I was a little hesitant with this book, but it proved me wrong. My first Carl Hiassen book was skinny dip and I was totally addicted. The same happened with this book. The characters are just so unique...especially Skink. You get so into the story that you never want to put it down no matter how much your eyes hurt...

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Stormy Weather

    For me, Carl Hiaasen is a hit or miss. I either read him compulsively or get bored and can't finish. This is my favorite of his novels. It just struck my funnybone; whether it was the idiot husband wanting to stormchase or the politician on the skids, I literally laughed until tears were streaming down my cheeks. A ridiculous and delightful blend of wackadoo characters and situations. Your mileage may vary.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2007

    Good but not his best

    I've pretty much read all of Hiassen's books and thought this was one pretty good but not his best. I actually think he just had slightly too many characters in this story with their own separate storylines that kind of interrupted the flow of the story. Hiaasen though is an incredible storyteller with a unique and twisted sense of humor and I am looking forward to future stories from him.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Falconshade

    Gtgtd b back after

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Inferno & Co.

    [Hnph. '-'] Inferno shrugged, "Eh..." He stared at his Paws. -Inferno <p>

    Daysorrow blinked, "Good. You?" She nosed the Mouse. "Share?" -Daysorrow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    MAP

    First things first, DO NOT POST HERE!!! This is for the map, and the map only. Second, the numbers of the reses will be known in incraments of five. <p>

    High Branch <br>
    Map <br>
    Leader's Den <br>
    Main Clearing <br>
    Medicine Cat Den (5)<br>
    Warriors' Den <br>
    Burial Area <br>
    Nursury <br>
    Apprentices' Den <br>
    Training Hollow (10) <br>
    Elders' Den <br>
    Sunning Rocks <br>
    River <br>
    Dirtplace <br>
    Rainclan Description (15)<br>
    The Great Tree <br>
    River <br>
    Forest (18-30) <p>

    'bios of rain' <br>
    Bios <br>
    Bio Updates <p>

    'discovering cats' <br>
    Rainclan Border (13)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2013

    Read & Enjoy

    Another fast-paced fun adventure!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is my second Hiaasen book and won't be my last.  As a previ

    This is my second Hiaasen book and won't be my last.  As a previous reviewer comments, these books do NOT belong in the &quot;mystery&quot; section in your local bookstore (or online for that matter!).   This is a great book with a number of subplots, over the top characters, love interests, escaped monkies, a Skink and plenty of scams.   Hiaasen draws his characters with depth and, while some stretch reality, we can all see traits that we find in friends, family members, coworkers and those in the daily headlines.   Definitely &quot;slice of life&quot; as described by another review.   Now onto another of his novels.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1