BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Stormy Weather

Average Rating 4
( 141 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Book

This book was quite the poetic read. The protagonist wasnt the typical strong female character but she had a lot of inner strength that helped keep her family going. She was very relatable and you cared about what happened to her, her mother, and her siblings.

The au...
This book was quite the poetic read. The protagonist wasnt the typical strong female character but she had a lot of inner strength that helped keep her family going. She was very relatable and you cared about what happened to her, her mother, and her siblings.

The author did a great job of showing how childhood scars can haunt you throughout life and that you must inevitabley learn to trust again in order to find happiness.

Poetic language throughout book. The setting was really brought to life. Sometimes I wished there was more dialogue and less setting but in the end it really worked to make a poignant read.

Recommend.

posted by amwhidden on June 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

!

Of course harriet klausner has to come along with her cliff note book report and ruin this book. Another book sale lost bn. Please get rid of this poster, delete her plot spoilers and ban her from posting. She ruins every book she supposedly reviews!

posted by 8888649 on June 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Couldn't Put It Down!

    Truly a joy to read. Jiles writes about people you care about and stories about which you wish to know more. I learned so much about the time and the place through her fantastic descriptions and emotive writing. A real page-turner.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    Stormy Weather--historical gem

    I found Stormy Weather to be an engrossing speculation of how life was lived by the families of those men who chased the emerging oil-fields across Texas during the time of the dust bowl. Not since Grapes of Wrath have I felt so caught up in the details of life during that period. I felt enlightened and entertained all in one, so much so that I promptly went out and read her previous book about the civil war.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    If you like formulaic books, you probably won't like this novel. This is the second of Paulette Jiles' books that I have read and am anxiously awaiting the next one. She reserches her books so well that it seems she personally lived the story.

    The characters in Stormy Weather feel like your relatives. That is how well developed they are. Once you have read this book, you will know what it was like to live through the Depression. I highly recommend this wonderful book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2007

    Home on the range with horses and women

    Enjoying this book was like a time travel experience. I felt that I was in the 1930's dust bowl of Texas with our 4 brave, courageous, and resourceful women. I loved the clothes and furnishings being made from any cloth that was available anywhere. The working on the land and hot dusty days actually sent me into the refrigerator for a cold bottle of water as I read. The horse racing was something different than what most of us have heard about in the 'classic' race tracks of today. I really felt like I was part of this family, and enjoyed the personalities, talents for survival, industry, and pure fun with what was available for each woman's interests. The 'historical fiction' was at it's best done by Jiles. Throw in a great love story and this book is a wonderful read for book groups. One of the best books of this kind that I have read in a very long time!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    StormyAsh TO ALL {To AutumnShade}

    She leaped onto a rock within the camp. "RainClan," she yowled. "Since I am Deputy, i will take temorary LeaderShip, she meowed before continuing, "Before EmberStar went missing," she meowed, her voice just mearly a whisper. "He was going to move camps. From now on camp is moved to: 'Rainy Days' result three. Everyone who needs a ceremony of any kind post what ceremony you need in result two," she yowled a bit louder. "Everyone move there now. Everyone MUST advertise EVERYDAY! We need to make this clan active and healthy as it once was! Everyone who has not yet posted a bio needs to do so at: 'Bios of Rain' result one. Results 2-3 are for updates," she meowed and leaped down, heading to the new camp. {Yeah, okay, AutumnShade. Honest, everyday I look at the 'Erin Hunter' books and there is NEVER a post for RainClan. Unless I post an ad for the clan, theres none there.}

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2010

    Excellent story and characters

    I admint that I was worried, but this story and its characters are amazing. Interesting and real characters with real hardships and successes make this book a best choice for reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2008

    Heartwarming story with a surprise ending

    I found this book to be a wonderful surprise. Within the first few pages I was hooked and could not put it down. Fantastic! The roller-coaster ride of Jeanine is gripping. I highly recommend Stormy Weather!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2008

    A Memorable Read

    Paulette Jiles is a gift to the American literary scene. And Stormy Weather is the confirmation of her talent. The Depression-era story set in the oilfields of Texas recalls Steinbeck while the landscape evokes Cormac McCarthy. We enter the lives of the people, the animals and the dust-bitten farms of the Texas plains through Jiles' careful prose and the soaring poetry of her settings.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2007

    GREAT WRITER TO ADD TO MY FAVORITES

    I really loved this book. I cared about all the characters and wanted them to finally get a break. I am going to read Enemy Women now and will look forward to this author's next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a reviewer

    Stormy Weather Paulette Jiles Morrow, May 2007, $24.95 ISBN: 9780060537326 In the late 1920s in Texas, Elizabeth and Jack Stoddard raise three daughters beautiful Mayme, tomboy Jeanine and scholarly Bea. Her two siblings detest the fact that their dad makes no effort to hide that Jeanine is his favorite as she is his sidekick at the races. When the drinking gambling Jack dies in 1937, he leaves behind four females needing to survive. They, accompanied by an aging capricious yet still fast racing horse Smoky Joe, move onto a run down neglected homestead overlooking the Brazos River. However, life proves hard as an extended drought has turned Central Texas into a dust bowl while the younger females begin seeing men. --- This deep family historical drama brings to life the Depression in Texas oil country through the lives of the four female Stoddards. Each member of the Stoddard quartet is a unique protagonist so that the women bring differing points of view to what is happening to them especially when they return to the dilapidated ranch once Jack dies. Fans of dust bowl character driven tales will want to read STORMY WEATHER, a keenly vivid look at life in 1930s Texas. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    To soulkit from Thunderheart

    Pads over to the kit ur hungry i meow i feed the kit my milk

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Froststorm

    Ok. Thanks.) Pads out.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Blackstripe

    A stunning obsidian furred shecat with violet eyes pads in. "Hello, may l join?" She mews.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Butterflydawn

    NIGHT!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Red

    "I respect that," she dipped her head and left. ~Red

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    Soulkit to all

    A scrawny little kit pads in

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    AURGH!!!!!!!!!! GO CHECK OUT THE BORDER!!!!!!!!!!

    URGENT URGENT URGENT!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Sootkit to all

    Check silv result one

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    To dreamywing

    Go to willow 4 resalt plz its urgent

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Wonderstruck

    She sat.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4