Customer Reviews for

The Story Girl

Average Rating 4.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

I love thia book

I luv this book because : first of all , i love to read second of all this book is emotionalbol and i read over 200 books and im only 11 years old

posted by 9945893 on June 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

?

Im twelve and havent read the book :p

posted by 9534039 on August 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    I love thia book

    I luv this book because : first of all , i love to read second of all this book is emotionalbol and i read over 200 books and im only 11 years old

    8 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Threasa's Review

    Loved rereading this delightful story as much as I did the first time I read it as a child. However much of the charm was lost due to the puntuational and grammer issues this copy of the story had. Still I would recommend this book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Awsome

    What a great book i know tht this book is good for me and im only 11!

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    ?

    Im twelve and havent read the book :p

    1 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Guys

    Hey yall should stop using this as an personal chat room. These are meant to help people as they look for books to read. Thats why its called reviews.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2014

    The Story Girl is a beautifully-written classic. A perfect piece

    The Story Girl is a beautifully-written classic. A perfect piece of literature that could be enjoyed by anyone, young or old. Beverley and Felix (two brothers) get to visit their father's childhood home on Prince Edward Island. They meet up with the rest of the 'clan' living there, including several cousins and friends their own age, that they get to while away the summer with. The passing days include playful fancies, raucous romps, and poetic tales (as narrated by their cousin Sara Stanley, the Story Girl). 

    No matter what the children are up to, the Story Girl always has an amusing incident to tell about, whether truth or fiction. As the chapters flew by, I found myself amazed at just how many stories the Story Girl conveniently had memorized. It must be nice to have such enchanting things to tell, especially at just the right moments to share with others. 

    One thing to note: The children do get quite curious about religious subjects, and sometimes, when several of their young minds all give individual opinions, end up having a muddled view on certain points of the Bible. For me, this just added an extra bit of laughter! 

    L.M. Montgomery has a lovely writing style, always knowing how to convey the whimsical parts of story just right to give an extra spark, and playing out all the other emotions so appealingly. There are many scenes in this book which I just love, whether it was the children's banters, schemes, or naive tragedies. I don't think I'll ever grow tired of reading of her books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Deondria

    Im 13

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Harley C

    Im 13 and ive read different veersions of this book. I also love rick riordans books.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Awsome

    Im 11 to

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    :)

    Oh my gosh it is truly a awesome book :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    Wow three 11 year olds ( including .yself)

    And one twelve year old

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Carter

    I was told to come here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Beth to all homeschoolers!

    Go to "little women" all results! This will be our new homeschool book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Arielle

    Not cool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Arielle

    Leave us alone b&n!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Arielle

    Hello

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3