Customer Reviews for

Story Maps: How to Write a GREAT Screenplay

Average Rating 5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    This is an exciting take on story structure.

    At first I was skeptical myself, but after reading the books I am convinced this is an exceptional explanation to the craft. With the keen insight, from his years as a studio reader, Dan Calvisi lays out a tight and dramatic blue print that every movie follows. His discoveries help you mine the drama right from your own storyline. This is a must read for the 21st century screenwriter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Made me a better writer

    I'm an aspiring screenwriter and found Story Maps to be a very accessible and informative read. It offers practical advice and guidance in crafting a better screenplay and tools to help your plan and organize your ideas coherently.

    As I'm aspiring writer, not a successful professional, you may be wondering if my comments are really that valid. It's a fair call, I am in no way especially qualified to assess the quality of such a book. However, I do feel my opinion has some evidence to support it. Like many aspiring writers, I seek and swap feedback from other writers, usually through online screenwriting communities. My most recent screenplay has had an overwhelming positive response in terms of peer feedback. I really have been blown away by how well received my new script has been. It's the fourth feature I've written but the first thing I've written using Story Maps to guide me. My own assessment and that of others really makes me feel that I've taken a huge leap forward as a writer since my last screenplay. I like to think part of that improvement is from lessons learned from past efforts but I'm sure a lot of it is also due to employing the models and knowledge laid out in Story Maps.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2011

    Don't read this book. PLEASE!!!

    Shhh...The title should be changed to 'Story GPS' (as in Global Positioning System) to reflect its effectiveness. I don't like this book because as a struggling writer, I already have enough competition out there and equipped with Story Map, even a half-witted caveman could place more road blocks for me!
    Yukie Baba

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Can't Miss!!!

    As I read Story Maps, I was doubtful that writing a screenplay would be that easy. It took sometime before it hit me. Dan Calvisi made it easy for us. The labyrinth of screenwriting looks so easy since there's a road map.
    Story Maps is a compass to your stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Highly Recommended! Brief, Concise and Relevant!

    I've read pretty much every book, by every guru on the topic of screenwriting. I've read everything from Mythic Structure by C. Vogler to Sceenplay by Syd Field to even more recent books like Save the Cat, How to Write a Movie in 21 days and a 101 Reasons Why Your Screenplay Sucks. They're all informative in their own way, but Calvisi's Story Maps is the most powerful tool I've come across when it comes to outlining and identifying major story beats in your screenplay. A lot of the books on the market today don't include techniques that have adapted to suit the current state of the Hollywood film industry. That's where Story Maps is different.

    I've always been a fan of Blake Snyder's brevity in technique when in comes to beating out a screenplay, but I think Story Maps does Snyder one better. Story Maps is different because I really do think it's applicable to any genre. I feel Snyder's method (Save the Cat) is not really "genre universal." Yes, I agree structure overall is universal, but the methods utilized in Snyder's book is not conducive to the state of the industry post-recession. Calvisi is not only up-to-date, but just as no-nonsense as Snyder.

    Also, The Story Maps Calvisi includes are relevant. No, he's not mapping the classics like Tootsie or Chinatown, but things like Juno, As Good as it Gets and The Hangover. Yes, Chinatown is a kickass movie. But unfortunately, Robert Towne would be a hack if he were writing in the late 2000's. Screenplays just aren't written like they were in the 70s and 80s.

    I used Story Maps after hitting a wall in my fourth draft. It served me well. It helped identify key beats I was missing in my draft and trimmed down my overall screenplay by five pages. I highly recommend the methods in Story Maps. It's a cheap and effective tool to re-evaluate your screenplay through the lens of a professional reader and consultant.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Excellent Screenwriting Book!

    Dan Calvisi does an excellent job boiling down the screenwriting process to the important parts. This book cuts to the chase and succinctly describes the elements of writing a screenplay. No BS. The book also does a great job of comparing template films in different genres which is an asset when writing a screenplay. This is a definite must for screenwriters looking for practical advice and who are serious about writing a quality screenplay.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    Outlining can be a tricky process, but Story Maps really helped me wrap my mind around it. Now I apply it to both my feature and TV scripts. It had a great map for the Dark Knight which had an extended structure. I also found mapping some of my favorite films made them that more interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Great book!

    One of the hardest things for me to understand in screenwriting has been structure relating to the goals of my main character. I've done all the beat sheets (Save the Cat stuff) and the other structure paradigm worksheets, but always fell flat on my face. When I came across this book, I don't know, I guess it all made sense. The author uses examples from films that I actually like (The Dark Knight, As Good As It Gets, Sunset Blvd -- just to name a few) and I just saw the structure pop right off the page. His "story maps" method helps you see what drives the main character through the major beats (internal and external goals and theme). He nails it down to certain minute ranges. I've watched a few movies and so far he's been dead on. Now I'm looking for this stuff in everything I watch! It's got so much great stuff I don't know where to begin. Highly recommend!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    J

    Its a really helpful guide

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1