Customer Reviews for

The Story of Edgar Sawtelle

Average Rating 3.5
( 922 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(332)

4 Star

(205)

3 Star

(161)

2 Star

(120)

1 Star

(104)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

I felt like I was right there with the characters

You have to have an open mind when reading this book or you definitely won't "get it." If you like everything tied up in a neat little package and don't like difficult words (you might even have to look some up), this is probably not the book for you. But if you enjoy...
You have to have an open mind when reading this book or you definitely won't "get it." If you like everything tied up in a neat little package and don't like difficult words (you might even have to look some up), this is probably not the book for you. But if you enjoy feeling like you're living right there with the characters and seeing right through their eyes, this author can take you there. I especially liked seeing the world through Almondine's eyes. It made me understand how my own dogs probably see the world. A terrible sadness gripped me right in the pit of my stomach at the end, but I also felt joy that Almondine's spirit was there for Edgar and I was glad Claude suffered too. I think the ending is open to interpretation, which is good because it gets people talking about the book. I felt somehow that Forte would join the dogs and become their leader, perhaps even take them to Henry. I felt like the dogs were able to almost communicate telepathically with each other. Towards the end of the book I felt excitement and fear and dread for Edgar, disgust and loathing for Claude and pity for Trudy - and I just couldn't put the book down. I actually went back and read the last three chapters one more time after I had finished. I can't wait for him to write another book!

posted by 279815 on October 31, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

56 out of 77 people found this review helpful.

Biggest letdown ever

Please do not read this book. I just finished it and have never felt more betrayed and letdown by a book before. If you would have asked me yesterday what I thought of the book, I would have told you I loved it. The characters were engrossing, the language was at once a...
Please do not read this book. I just finished it and have never felt more betrayed and letdown by a book before. If you would have asked me yesterday what I thought of the book, I would have told you I loved it. The characters were engrossing, the language was at once a combination of being sparse and detailed. There was just the right amounts of mystery and beauty, and a touch of the otherworldly. In fact, I felt that anything was possible and plausible in the world of the book. I just don't see the point after finishing it. Why did I go through all of Edgar's struggles only to be stabbed in the back by the author. To me, a story should have a reason, a lesson, a moral objective. But where was it? If it was in there it was overshadowed by the ending, which is all I can think about now. Ripping the readers guts out over the course of a book is good, if there is some kind of satisfaction in the outcome of the story. I think the books objective could have been achieved with a different ending, while still being true to the story. I don't even need a full on happy ending, thats not my point. My point is that misery for misery's sake is just pointless. I lived in Wisconsin, and I love dogs, so maybe I fell a little too hard for this book.

posted by adambomb314 on November 12, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 205 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 11
  • Posted December 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    The Story of Edgar Sawtelle

    What a lovely book if you are a dog lover, as I am. This author takes you into their minds as well as the humans. This was both a tragic and inspiring story that I found hard to put down. The author gives lots of rich detail of the characters and their environment. I wish we had a little more insight into Claude, the villan in this novel. The ending was heartbreaking but I can't really see any other way for it to have gone after thinking about it. Edgar reunited with his father and beloved Almondine, thankfully. Lots of suffering throughout the book but bright rays of light as well. I hope this author writes another novel.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it, hated it

    Loved the book, it was hard to start though, all the detail overwhelms you. At first it reminded me of a Stephen King novel as it has TONS of description and it was dragging the story along. I loved this book. I got it for Christmas from my mother. But I HATED the ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I Did Enjoy This, But...

    I have to admit there were parts that I just skimmed over as the detail about training the dogs was not interesting to me. However, some readers may enjoy this. The ending is a "form your own conclusion type" ending. I felt it went with the rest of this book. I know how I think it ended. Overall, I would recommend this book to just about anyone to read. It is very different and does contain several mysteries.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2008

    One to Remember

    This was a great book with interesting characters. I especially liked the dogs' point-of-view on the people and objects around the house.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2008

    Beautifully written!

    The characters were truly absorbing. It is a story of the heart and the power of relationships. I thought it was too long and was hoping for a different ending. I was not expecting for it to end the way it did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2008

    Good read

    After a rocky start, I found myself really into this book. The writer made the story interesting, explained dog training without making it textbook boring, and developed the plot and characters well. I had to take away a star for the book leaving me feeling unsatisfied at the end, but most people I imagine were not bothered. So, for the journey, I still recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2008

    Loved this from the start!

    What a wonderful novel. I read this quickly because it was so engrossing. The dogs come to life on the pages. Excellent.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Ending over the top

    Yes, I agree that not all stories are happy ever after, and I didn't expect this story would be. But come on the ending is a bit over the top ridiculous, and not in a good way. Too bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Recmmend

    It kept me interested. Couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    i truly loved this story. i loved/hated the ending too..because

    i truly loved this story. i loved/hated the ending too..because it made my heart ache. i know that life isnt always happily ever after. so i dont need to always read that it is. i loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    very enjoyable. great story

    very enjoyable. great story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Page turner!

    This was a pager turner...couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Great book!

    I enjoyed this book - Edgar, Gar, and Trudy were well written characters and I fell in love with all of them. I wish it would have been a different ending, though. For a large part of the book the Sawtelle's were forced to deal with hard situations and I would have liked to see it end well for them in the end. Great, heartfelt book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    This book had me glued to it the moment I read the first chapter

    This book had me glued to it the moment I read the first chapter. Though, I'm kicking myself now for reading the Prologue. David Wroblewski has a very unique and descriptive way of writing in the heart warming, yet tragic story. Some chapters will be from the dog's perspective, while the next could be from Edgar's Mother's about the same incident. The different perspectives gave me a very personal feel on things and I found myself frequently forming my own views on the subject as if I was there experiencing it. This book I found very lovely and well written with amazingly deep characters, but... not at all the best ending. I felt as if I had a noose around my neck and was just wait for the floor to drop away, but it never did. That inconclusive ending made me feel as if the author was just tired of writing this sorry or had no real idea of how he wanted to end it and just said "the end". A mix of a love story, an adventure book, and a touch of eerie darkness, I would recommend this book if you believe you can get over the ending and remember Edgar Sawtelle's story. It is after all, a story about his life, not what continued on and came after his death..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    No two people will read it the same!

    This book was wonderful! With all the details to make up a good story, but enough gaps for the reader to fill in. This is a perfect book for discussing, because everybody sees it slightly differently! I highly recommend this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2012

    an interesting read...but in a good way

    I have to admit, it took me awhile to figure out exactly how I felt about this book. Regardless of what some other people believe, a story does not have to have a lesson to be learned. A story can just be a story. This book presents an engaging and interesting story. It had some parts that were a little weird (I wasn't expecting some parts). But overall a very good read, even if it might take you a little while to digest how you feel about it. It was a positive and worthwhile experience for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    Loved this book - can't stop thinking about the ending

    The ending was "horrible", leaving me with my mouth hanging open and repeating over and over to my husband - I can't believe it, I can't believe it ended like that. BUT that doesn't make the book bad or disappointing. Read this book if you love a good story with beautifully written with vast descriptions; if you live in the real world and know that life can be wonderful and it can suck, bad things happen to good people, and sometimes there is no justice. Just like in life, Trudy will live the rest of her life with no answers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    A rich, fascinating story about life long companionship.

    I really enjoyed this book. The characters are deep and alive. The scenery inviting and vibrant. If you ever loved a dog, or had a dog who loved you, you will enjoy this story about family, companionship, love, sacrifice, duty, and devotion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    Loved it a beautiful story of real life.

    Loved it! A little disapointed in the mother she did not take care of her son, she seemed very selfish. Beautiful story of love and trust. True love of an animal. A stroy of real life. Definatly not a story of lovey gushy crap. I would take the time to read it again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2010

    Worth the time and effort

    I just finished Edgar Sawtelle. I wanted to give up on the book 300 pages into it, but glad that I stuck it out. I had a hard time with the dog breeding terms and felt, at times, that the story got bogged down by the detailed descriptions of such. I really liked the last two-thirds of the story, especially Edgar's encounter with Henry. I am not sure if I liked the supernatural aspect of the book and wondered how the plot would have worked-out if it had not been included. Would Edgar have ever found out the true cause of his father's death? Also, I was disappointed that the book jacket foretold that Edgar would return home. I would rather have discovered that through my reading of the book. Finally, the ending was incredibly sad but so is life. It presented a resolution for all the characters except Trudy, of course.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 205 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 11