Customer Reviews for

The Story of My Life

Average Rating 4
( 220 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(109)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Helen Keller lights a fire in your soul

This is the best autobiography I have ever read by far. Helen Keller writes with a simplicity yet elegance that opens your eyes to the world of the deaf and blind. This book has told me that she was the lucky one. She saw things others might never notice. An excellent s...
This is the best autobiography I have ever read by far. Helen Keller writes with a simplicity yet elegance that opens your eyes to the world of the deaf and blind. This book has told me that she was the lucky one. She saw things others might never notice. An excellent source of literature for all ages. This will light a fire in your soul.

posted by Anonymous on May 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great story - BAD SCANNED COPY

First, I have to say that the quality of the scanned copy of this book was horrendous. There were garbled words in almost every sentence and, sometimes, it was impossible to figure out what it was supposed to be. Also, paragraphs and sentences were broken in the middl...
First, I have to say that the quality of the scanned copy of this book was horrendous. There were garbled words in almost every sentence and, sometimes, it was impossible to figure out what it was supposed to be. Also, paragraphs and sentences were broken in the middle with the book title in the middle of a page.

Leaving all of that aside, the story was mesmerizing. I cannot fathom how Helen Keller managed to accomplish all that she did with her limitations. But, reading this story, if you didn't know she was blind and deaf, you would think it was written by someone who has no disabilities. Her insights were amazing. After reading it, I cannot imagine how anyone who has not disabilities could dare to complain about anything in their lives. It is worth slogging through the terrible scanned version just to be able to experience the beauty of life through the eyes of who can see more than most sighted people.

posted by alc1967 on December 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 220 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    My review

    A pretty good story but the person above me is right. There are a lot of typos.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    :'-(

    I think this women is inspirational i love how smmart she is annd recommand it for anyonr who thought they had it rough

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    Disappointing

    While I admire the intelligence and perseverance of Miss Keller, I did not care for the book. Her Pollyanna optimism and reliance on overly elaborate prose rife with allusions to sight and sound struck me as inauthentic. In the forward to the section on her letters, even the editor mentioned that she strove to be like others, and that the best of her writing is to be found in those sections where she stripped away the need to fit in and let the reader into her own world.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Great story, many typos

    This is a beautifully written autobiography. However, there are too many distracting typographical errors. I didn't bother to get past the first chapter. Disappointing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    More Than Just a Story of Her Life

    I've always looked up to Helen Keller and thought she was a great woman, but I've never really known much about her. I always thought that she was born deaf and blind. I never knew that it was an illness that took these precious gifts away from her when she was only a year and seven months. All I knew was that she was a lady who-for some reason-was deaf and blind but still managed to communicate thanks to her teacher Anne Sullivan, but that is all. Everything else about this amazing lady and all her accomplishments I had absolutely no idea about. As I read this book, it opened my eyes to all the amazing things she accomplished that some people with out any disabilities at all fail to achieve.
    Time and time again I am amazed at the deepness of Helen Keller's thoughts and feelings and also the way she expresses herself. Every time I sit down to read her book I am amazed by her writing. Her comparisons and metaphors rival that of any other writer. The way she almost puts emotion into the person reading the book just because that emotion is felt so deeply by her and described so well in her writing, it's phenomenal. I'll just give one or two examples of her writing that are one of my favorites mostly because I did not feel the same way about the subject as she did but now I do because of her phenomenal word choice and metaphor. "Every one who wishes to gain true knowledge must climb the Hill Difficulty alone, and since there is no royal road to the summit, I must zigzag it in my own way. I slip back many times, I fall, I stand still, I run against the edge of hidden obstacles, I lose my temper and find it again and keep it better. I trudge on, I gain a little, I feel encouraged, I get more eager and climb higher and begin to see the widening horizon. Every struggle is a victory. One more effort and I reach the luminous cloud, the blue depths of the sky, the uplands of my desire" (Helen Keller 75). Just the way she talks about her desire and struggles to learn and grow makes me want to grow and experience that same sense of satisfaction that comes after all the battles have been won and opposition conquered.
    She also goes on to say that, "great poetry . . . needs no other interpreter than a responsive heart . . . it is not necessary that one should be able to define every word and give it its practical parts and its grammatical position in the sentence in order to understand and appreciate a fine poem" (Helen Keller 83). This different view opened up a new way of looking at reading for me, one where I might not understand everything I read but none the less enjoy and love what I'm reading. There have been many times where I have tried to read a book but not know what all the words meant and not understand it as deeply as maybe a college professor would but that should not keep me from enjoying the book. If a book is a good book and worth reading you will be able to tell what the writer was trying to say not only through the text on the page, but through the feeling and thoughts that were put into writing that book. If no feeling was there when written then that book is probably not worth reading. I think that this is what Helen Keller was trying to say, and this book is the perfect definition of a book full of thought and feeling.very time I pick this book up I spend more time pondering what she is saying than reading because this book is so deep and so full of ideas that it's impossible not to think about them. This book inspir

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2008

    Story of My Life

    A great book about an individual who faced 3 huge obstacles: blindness, deafness and no ability to speak. Yet wasn¿t deterred in the slightest for her yearning to learn. I liked this book and would recommend it to anyone who needs to be inspired to work harder to accomplish their dreams. Reading this book you will see parts of the story of Helen Keller that you¿ve never seen before. I liked the way the story was written from Helen Keller¿s point of view. Helen Keller was determined to learn to talk, read and write, but she couldn¿t see or hear, which often made her very upset. She would throw tantrums whenever she could not get people to understand her like the time she was given a doll and she threw it on the ground breaking it. That was all over when Helen met her teacher Anne Sullivan who aided Helen in learning her first word ¿water¿. She took off like a rocket learning lessons on science, math, and history. Her new teacher never gave up on Helen & gave her hope and the joy of speech. Which goes to show how having a good teacher can change how well you can do at anything. But Helen¿s story did not stop there. She went on to college, and learned to love canoeing and sailing, things any other person might enjoy doing. Which reminded me of boy scouts, how anyone there no matter what rank or what challenges they face can all have fun and do what they love side by side. It will never cease to amaze me how someone with such extreme disabilities would go on to live life and enjoy it 100% even during times of hardship. I have been inspired by this book to do the same. I highly recommend this book to anyone who would like a good book, it is a great success story of a girl who battles the odds to reach her dreams.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2000

    Excellent Autobiography of Courage to Overcome Obstacles!

    Helen Keller overcame feats that seemed overwhelming to the average person,not withstanding disabilities. Beautifully written. A must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    Question

    how many "pages" are there?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    I am a high school sophomore and I chose this book for my projec

    I am a high school sophomore and I chose this book for my project. Story of my life by Helen Keller was a very interesting book. I enjoyed
    it very much. Learning about what she has been through and how she became so successful, was very interesting to me. The book
    explained from when she was first growing up, all the way to her death. Helen Keller has been an inspiration to many people including
    myself. By reading this book, I learned more about her and how she truly felt about everything she faced. Her story catches the
    readers eye and engages them to want to read more. With the disabilities that Helen had to live with, it amazes me how wonderful
    she became and how much she truly enjoyed almost every little thing in life. Helen went to college and began to learn all subjects that
    allowed her to participate in. All subjects including history, english, math, science etc. With the help of her teacher Miss Sullivan, she
    was capable of doing most things that any human could do. Sullivan never gave up on Helen and pushed her to believe in herself.
    I learned that with any struggle you face, you could overcome it with just a little help. Reading about her journey was extraordinary, and
    to the point. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    I am a high school sophomore and I chose to read this book for m

    I am a high school sophomore and I chose to read this book for my project. I found this book to be the most interesting book I've ever read. What I liked best about it is that Helen Keller is very interesting and I didn't know that much about her before I started this project.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    This is such a touching story

    I decided to read this book when a teacher recomended it to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Dumb

    I cannot understand this book it is stupid

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    It is NOT kid appropriate!!!!!

    I don' t like it-don' t read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Don't get

    There is a glich that dos'nt let you read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    I love her!

    I read about helen keller in a other book she is amazing! If i was blind and deaf i would have atitudes and would not be nice to other people she is a wonder of a life time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Book

    I didn't read the whole thing because 1. I only got the sample. (My mom makes me ask before buying and my mom daid enough for one day.) 2. I was to cought up in other books. Helen Keller is amazing. Hard to imagine a world in darkness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    5 ratings

    I love this book!! Maybe just because I just like Helen Keller or I like the book too!!! I wish she was alive so I could tell her that I love her books!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Good book

    Not bad.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    The story of my life

    We talk about this book in school and we watch a video about helen on youtube and her teacher tough her how to talk but she can not see thoughtout her hole life

    I LOVE THIS BOOK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    You know hw

    You know helen keller wrote this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 220 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11