Customer Reviews for

Story of O

Average Rating 3
( 117 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(34)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

I don't understand why reviewers are calling this sexual abuse,

I don't understand why reviewers are calling this sexual abuse, rape etc. The book describes a lifestyle that is not led by most. The situation we find O in, is very extraordinary. However we all need to keep in mind that the acts committed are done by consenting adults...
I don't understand why reviewers are calling this sexual abuse, rape etc. The book describes a lifestyle that is not led by most. The situation we find O in, is very extraordinary. However we all need to keep in mind that the acts committed are done by consenting adults. Who are we to judge and criticize her actions?

posted by AceHigh on July 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

33 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Digital version is sloppy

The spelling errors, editing errors and dropped paragraphs spoiled this digital version. The last pages are missing. Are the nook books even reviewed after scanning them in? The frequent errors took away from my reading enjoyment.

posted by HBDAUEL on May 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    I tend to agree with those who were disappointed. Having finall

    I tend to agree with those who were disappointed. Having finally read it after hearing so much about it, the letdown was probably inevitable. There are so many modern imitations of this book that are more explicity graphic, so you're left with the "that's it?" impression. When you start with Reese Gabriel & N.T. Morley, a work like this just won't have quite the same punch. Still, it's one of the finest pieces of erotica you'll ever read from a literary standpoint and O is a compelling and enigmatic character, and a tragic one at that.

    It's $2.99. Read it because it's the seminal work of bdsm erotica.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    A classic

    All BDSM stories are diffrent as are the people who live the lifestyle. All relationships with the lifestyle are unique. Read a few softer, single couples story of the lifestyle before moving into this very intense book. O is both strong in her needs and submissive to her master. Renes' giving of her to Stephen was not totally unexpected, but it's was best for her since he couldn't use her as she needed to be. My biggest diappointment was how Stephen totally claimed her & marked her as his own, yet abandoned her. How selfish & irisponsible could a Dom get! Having her so trained, it was his resonsibility to see to her continued submisivness to someone else, before he left her. He should have only tatooed her, so it could be altered by another Dom. Instead he left her empty of the direction she needed, how just plain lazy. He shouldn't every be allowed another sub! Giving her to Anne-Marie would have been the resposible thing to do. O could have become her apprentice, so the story of O could continue for the next generation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Hi

    Hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Recommended

    A true classic of this genre.
    I was disappointed with the missing final chapter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Great boo, horrible formatting

    While i very much am enjoying this book, the formatting, typos, and MISSING PAGES are really starting to put me off. Barnes and noble really needs to get a handle on this issue, especially since it seems to be a problem with about half of the books i buy. Other than that, i love the book. The first bit about the chateau is hard to swallow, but after that it becomes very deep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    excellent

    Though awful ending. So abrupt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2000

    Erotic yet...

    Books like this are intriguing but tend to depress me. However, consider adding my CD, Table for Two at the Cafe Mystique - available at B&N (music section) and you may be in store for an erotic time.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1