Customer Reviews for

Story of O

Average Rating 3
( 117 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(34)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Oh, wow.

This is a very heavy handed erotic tale. It's not all fun and games, but I guess that is the point. I would go as far to say that it might not be for everyone out there in that it is very serious and hard-hitting--literally. Having said that, let me say that it is a cla...
This is a very heavy handed erotic tale. It's not all fun and games, but I guess that is the point. I would go as far to say that it might not be for everyone out there in that it is very serious and hard-hitting--literally. Having said that, let me say that it is a classic for a reason and if you want to give it a try, to for it. It is like no other I've ever read and for that it gets five stars.

posted by cy456 on January 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

33 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Digital version is sloppy

The spelling errors, editing errors and dropped paragraphs spoiled this digital version. The last pages are missing. Are the nook books even reviewed after scanning them in? The frequent errors took away from my reading enjoyment.

posted by HBDAUEL on May 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2005

    Wonderful work of erotic fiction

    Unlike many recent S/M novels that overtly describe the 'scenes', Story of O gets both into what happens to O and how it effects her. This novel, originally written by a woman for her lover, is excellent both as a work of literature and an intoxicating erotic novel. Highly recommended to those who are not bashful about sex/sexuality.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    wow

    If you are not into erotica....dont read this book. I was expecting something like the Sleeping Beauty Trilogy by A. N. Roquelaure/ Anne Rice, but it was totally different. Not a love story!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    Before 'Shades of Gray'

    Before there were 'Shades of Gray', there was this little gem of a story....erotic and tense and just a little bit scandalous. Without this to pave the way, there would be no shades of gray.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Be Open minded

    I read Story of O and was deeply moved by it. Here we have a woman who (in the book) is at the end of her journey. She desires and finds both empowerment and nobility in the things she does for her Master's. Many people would say how can one possibly be happy doing things. But for O it is merely apart of who she is. Things o this nature still go on today quite frequently if you see the signs and knowthis type of lifestyle. O gave her lover and Sir Stephen the ultimate gift and that was herself. Her complete surrender.

    When you read this book keep anopenmind and remember thateach person has their own views on loyalty and trust. This is a tragic love story where Oonly wants to be loved. I enjoyed this book. There were no spelling or grammer errors, you have to rememberthat Sylvia Days versionis simply a translationof the original book thatwas written in the 1950s. The grammer abc usage of words willbe different from that of which we are used to in this day and age.

    I enjoyed this bookand wou,s recommend it to anyone who has interest inthe world of BDSM. The only reason it did not receive 5 stars from me is because the last chapterwas surpressed. However this did not take away from the quality of the boik for me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    insight into a lifestyle

    I've read the Sleeping Beauty trilogy and have dabbled into the lifestyle myself; though I never realized this wstory was going to be so intense. Thoroughly enjoyed a prospective insight into a misunderstood lifestyle. Would definitely recommend to those who enjoy the not-so-normal romance. To those wh have been claiming O was raped and such: O consented to everything that happened to her. She chose that lifestyle; she was never forced.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Not typical

    Although O was captive, to a degree, her need for love and to be loved diminished her capacity to fight. One must remember when reading this book that the D/s realationships of this story are not typical. This IS just a fictional story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Good... but weird!

    Its worth reading but really weird!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Decent conversion to digital

    I was very curious to read this book and this digital version is pretty good, but there's a page/some pages missing. I've managed to get around it, although I think it should be fixed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2007

    A good read the second time too

    I read this a long time ago and just found a copy again recently. It is just as exciting the second time around as it was the first time. I like the first half of the book best. It starts to get a little weird at the end. I'm not into permanant scarring. But that's the nice thing about this story. You can take it as far as you want to go.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2005

    A Shocking Classic

    I recommend this book only because it is an exceptional adventure. What does it feel like to have someone else in control of everything? where you live, what you do, what you wear. I was apprehensive at the start of the book but as I continued I was captivated by the degrading tasks O succumbs to. It is an 'out of body' experience as she only follows her masters. It is a unique book and I doubt any other S and M story could compare.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2004

    A Must Read

    This book just blew me away! I mean the moment I started reading, I was hooked... It's a very unique story, I can't say that I've read any others particularly like this one. A terribly abused woman goes on a journey through the downs in life, she is so messed up that at times you think she'll just kill herself. Well, I wont spoil it for you... But I can honestly say that this is one of the best books I've read in a while. Enjoy!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2001

    Definately Different

    This was my first reading experience regarding D/s lifestlyes. Having no prior experience or knowledge of the lifestyle I found this book to be extremely over the top therefore making it extremely erotic. It opened my eyes to so many things. Some of which I may find interesting, some of which are best left in the realm of fantasy. Either way it's a fantastic read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2