Customer Reviews for

Story of O

Average Rating 3
( 119 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(36)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

I don't understand why reviewers are calling this sexual abuse,

I don't understand why reviewers are calling this sexual abuse, rape etc. The book describes a lifestyle that is not led by most. The situation we find O in, is very extraordinary. However we all need to keep in mind that the acts committed are done by consenting adults...
I don't understand why reviewers are calling this sexual abuse, rape etc. The book describes a lifestyle that is not led by most. The situation we find O in, is very extraordinary. However we all need to keep in mind that the acts committed are done by consenting adults. Who are we to judge and criticize her actions?

posted by AceHigh on July 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

34 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Digital version is sloppy

The spelling errors, editing errors and dropped paragraphs spoiled this digital version. The last pages are missing. Are the nook books even reviewed after scanning them in? The frequent errors took away from my reading enjoyment.

posted by HBDAUEL on May 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    I don't understand why reviewers are calling this sexual abuse,

    I don't understand why reviewers are calling this sexual abuse, rape etc. The book describes a lifestyle that is not led by most. The situation we find O in, is very extraordinary. However we all need to keep in mind that the acts committed are done by consenting adults. Who are we to judge and criticize her actions?

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Oh, wow.

    This is a very heavy handed erotic tale. It's not all fun and games, but I guess that is the point. I would go as far to say that it might not be for everyone out there in that it is very serious and hard-hitting--literally. Having said that, let me say that it is a classic for a reason and if you want to give it a try, to for it. It is like no other I've ever read and for that it gets five stars.

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2001

    O's Woes

    Poor O. All she wants is to be loved, first by Rene, then by Sir Stephen, and finally by Jacqueline. She's willing to under go quite a bit (humiliations, rape, beatings, genital piercing, and branding) for this love. Is she ever really loved? It's hard to say. True, she's desired and sexually used a lot, but all of her so called lovers seem to remain aloof and demonstrate their feelings towards O by ever harsher punishments. I can imagine her thinking while tied spread eagled on the raised dias where she was flogged: 'Does he really love me?' Admittedly, it's hard not to be turned on by all of O's adventures, but it's a hard book to classify - classy porn or love story? This Story of O might be a love story, but it's a pretty grim one.

    16 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Dark and perfect

    For anyone who read the sleeping beauty books from ann rice, expect the less romantisized story of master and mistress. O's point of view is cold and more than a little desperate. But its another way of looking at what it means to be willingly dominated. I loved it.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    I read this many years ago and thought it was thrilling. I had n

    I read this many years ago and thought it was thrilling. I had never read anything like it at that time. I thought it was a beautiful but sad story. Now, after reading 50 Shades of Gray, I bought this book and read it again. I have to say, 50 Shades of Gray doesn't even compare. This is a classic.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2000

    Compelling, disturbing

    The Story of O is one of those books that just about everyone who is interested in SM has read at one time or another. Many of us have read it numerous times. It is a very rich portrayal of one woman's fantasy of how a deeply intense SM relationship might play itself out, and it deals with the eternal issue of sacrificing oneself to please your lover. I've read it several times and it still makes me hot. The one thing to keep in mind about this book is that it is fiction, not a how_to_do_SM book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Look people... this is a ALT LIFESTYLE book!

    This book is clearly a book of the lifestyle.No where near Shades of grey!Please stop comparing the two,its an insult to the lifestyle and to this Author.
    This stuff does happen,and not for the faint of hearts.
    Other than that... want a good alt book to digest...? Here you go.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    The Story of O

    The author wrote this story as love letters to her lover... hard to figure out how that fits with the dark violence of the story. However, in comparison to a book like Fifty Shades, The Story of O illustrates the true emotional changes that occur when someone is a submissive. O wanted to be loved but was also afraid of the freedom that love gave her... she found pleasure in giving pleasure to others, case in point Jacquline. I have to complain that the editing errors and missing parts made it difficult to enjoy but the story itself is wonderful and full of symbolism.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Anon

    PLEASE don't go into this story expecting 50 Shades! "O" is one of the originals that left us all in pursuit of its equal. Written decades ago, it still stands alone. Fifty Shades is Disney in comparison. This reader is still searching for "O" 's rival...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Amazing! I loved it! You must understand the lifestyle to apprec

    Amazing! I loved it! You must understand the lifestyle to appreciate the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    not only sexual, but psychological. it's artistic, harsh, and li

    not only sexual, but psychological. it's artistic, harsh, and literary.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    MYOB

    Minf

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2001

    GETTING TO THE NITTY-GRITTY!

    I thought this book was excellent! It didn't beat around the bush what-so-ever. I have to be honest that I hate love stories. I tried to read an Anne Rice book, and I suffered through it ( because all of the mushy love and casual sex involved.) I loved the book 'Story of O' because it was straight to the point.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2000

    Fantastic!

    The Story of O was a very interestin read. I had never read anything like it. I am in the process of a second read and it is even better.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    Enjoyable

    I truly love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    A classic must read .

    This book gets to the heart of a born sub. Its a tale of the extreme side of S&M. Its very descriptive without being gaudy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    The Story of O is by far better written and is more erotically c

    The Story of O is by far better written and is more erotically compelling than that crappy "50 shades of mommy porn". But buy the paper version over the digital.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    This book is a classic no matter what others say. It tells the t

    This book is a classic no matter what others say. It tells the tale of lust, pain, suffering & BDSM.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Rules

    1 leader on each Team which is comprised of its Teammates names. (Example Leafkit Blackkit and Smokekit are on a Team. Theyre team is BlackSmokyLeaf.) The other rules are like soccers rules.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2009

    topic of many conversations.

    i have read this book many times and i still cannot put it down. its disturbing but very erotic.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2