BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Story of Stuff: How Our Obsession with Stuff Is Trashing the Planet, Our Communities, and Our Health-and a Vision for Change

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

This is a real winner

There are so many reasons I love this book. Its fair, its enlightening, its wise, its well written, its full of documented facts that make me a wiser person, caring person, happier person. In the introduction she notes, '1. I'm not against Stuff. In fact I'm pro-Stuff! ...
There are so many reasons I love this book. Its fair, its enlightening, its wise, its well written, its full of documented facts that make me a wiser person, caring person, happier person. In the introduction she notes, '1. I'm not against Stuff. In fact I'm pro-Stuff! I want us to value our Stuff more, to care for it, to give it the respect it deserves. I want us to recognize that each thing we buy involved all sorts of resources and labor. Someone minded the earth for the metals in your cell phone; someone unloaded the bales from the cotton gin for your T-shirt. Someone in a factory assembled that pair of sunglasses, and they might have been exposed to carcinogens or forced to work over-time.'

posted by MotherLodeBeth on April 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Waste of money

Don' waste you money. Difficult to read...Name and organization & it is being blamed for the worlds problems (walmart, imf, nra, spca. Not very objective & facts were twisted to the writers viewpoint...

posted by 220119 on May 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is a real winner

    There are so many reasons I love this book. Its fair, its enlightening, its wise, its well written, its full of documented facts that make me a wiser person, caring person, happier person. In the introduction she notes, '1. I'm not against Stuff. In fact I'm pro-Stuff! I want us to value our Stuff more, to care for it, to give it the respect it deserves. I want us to recognize that each thing we buy involved all sorts of resources and labor. Someone minded the earth for the metals in your cell phone; someone unloaded the bales from the cotton gin for your T-shirt. Someone in a factory assembled that pair of sunglasses, and they might have been exposed to carcinogens or forced to work over-time.'

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    The Story of Stuff Will Make You Think

    Annie Leonard's video has been seen by millions of people. Now Annie Leonard has written a book on the topic. It is informative and entertaining and thought prevoking! I encourage you to watch the video and then read the book. The concept of take-make-waste is so important as we amass more and more stuff. It will make you think about your decisions in product selection. Packaging, disposablity, obsolescence, shipping distance, manutacturing, materials.not just the actual item should all be considered as we look at what our stuff means. The Story of Stuff explores how things that seem unrelated are related. The interlinking of systems shows us that there is a cost vs a price! Great read!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2010

    Waste of money

    Don' waste you money. Difficult to read...Name and organization & it is being blamed for the worlds problems (walmart, imf, nra, spca. Not very objective & facts were twisted to the writers viewpoint...

    2 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    Recommend

    Although sometimes it seems hard to read it is an eye opening book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2010

    The Best Book Ever....

    This book is such an eye-opening, and so inspiring. Every single person on Earth should read it. This book helps you treat our ONLY Earth a little more carefully, and not take it for granted. Thank you Annie Leonard. I wish there were more people like you in every country and its govt.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Very interesting.....

    What we don't know... or dont want to know can be scary about all of our stuff. This is a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Excelent book!

    Veryinformative and not too wonky or naggy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    Annie Leonard is My Hero!

    This is the best book I have picked up in a while. Ms. Leonard's ability to tie together so many complex and interrelated topics is incredible. Her big picture view with all the facts and details to back it up has changed my consumer ways already. What I find inspiring is that she can make the complex seem simple, the impossible seem feasible, and moves an otherwise depressing topic into a way to empower all people. She should get the Nobel Peace Prize for her work. Read it, get empowered, and change this world!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    awesome book!

    what a closed minded person might misunderstand as 'liberal nonsense' is actually a really eye opening piece. the facts are there and they are all easily backed up by scientific facts as well as the opinions of many well known professors and scientists. this book can really help one look at the system hollistically instead of simply examining our end of the spectrum. best $10 i ever spent.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    Interesting

    The Story of Stuff isn't exactly a page turner, it will make you think about stuff and how it impacts your daily life. Stuff can either make or break this planet and at the present time, it looks pretty negative. This handbook will help you understand and figure out what you can do to make your world better. I think that the author has a lot of things right in this book. Television causes people to increase their wants and not necessarily their needs.

    Annie Leonard explains how each step of the manufacturing process creates waste and the chemicals involved are poisoning us and the earth. So far, I think there has been several things in the book, like certain plastics that are now being outlawed. She sites one idea that mailing back unrecyclable items back to the manufacturer to protest. However, I don't see how mailing back items to manufactures can make them stop manufacturing the item. That seems like a waste of energy to me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Story of Stuff

    Annie Leonard's book The Story of Stuff is filled with facts and practical advice on how we can make this a better planet by recycling and managing our consumption of both natural and artificial goods. I believe in what she writes about and am a big fan of freecycling. But to get the rest of the planet to believe is going to b a difficult task. Many people find it easier to consume and throw away than recycle and reuse. One day it will be late. Such is the world of consumerism. Maybe the corporations should learn a thing or two.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Challenging Mass Consumerism

    We live in a disposable society, which might not matter if we didn't live in a finite world. Annie Leonard, writer and producer of the now renowned The Story of Stuff video has addressed a deeply polarizing topic. Her informative and non-shaming approach to the global issues of mass consumerism challenges us to think about the way we live our lives. Written in a conversational tone, Leonard manages to incorporate economics, politics, and environmental science in a format which everyone can understand. If we want to make a difference, we must first comprehend the magnitude of the problems caused by our love affair with stuff.

    The Story of Stuff offers to change our lives for the better, if only we pick up the call. One person alone cannot combat our global demise, but together, we might just make a difference.

    Disclaimer: A complimentary copy of the book was provided by Free Press.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2