Customer Reviews for

Story of a Girl

Average Rating 4
( 267 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(139)

4 Star

(75)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

40 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

A taste of the ugly side of reality.

Deanna is caught by her dad having sex with Tommy when she is thirteen. And after that things change. Tommy tells the whole school, and so she's always known just for being slutty, even though Tommy was the first and only guy she'd ever done anything with. Her dad has n...
Deanna is caught by her dad having sex with Tommy when she is thirteen. And after that things change. Tommy tells the whole school, and so she's always known just for being slutty, even though Tommy was the first and only guy she'd ever done anything with. Her dad has never been able to look at her the same after what happened, and so her entire life is changed.
Now, a couple years later, Deanna wants things to change. She makes plans in her mind that include moving out with her older brother and his family, and she tries to remain secretive about her feelings for her best friend. In the meantime, Tommy and Deanna are working at the same pizza place.
This book was so powerful and amazing, I can definitely understand how it became so popular. It's amazing how deep it was, and how I could see into Deanna's emotions and understand exactly how she was feeling. I felt like the writing was amazing and all of the characters were realistic, including the minor characters. The story was beautifully written and while it was short, it still touched me in a new way. Aside from my all time fave, K S Michaels, there really is no book like 'Story of a Girl'.

posted by BANCHEE_READS on November 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Didn't enjoy it. At all.

This book made me sit around and mope for days, and I'm not even sure why. Probably because I was already in a bad enough mood, and I had nothing else to read once I finished it. It was just depressing, and not even depressing in a makes-you-think-about-life way. It was...
This book made me sit around and mope for days, and I'm not even sure why. Probably because I was already in a bad enough mood, and I had nothing else to read once I finished it. It was just depressing, and not even depressing in a makes-you-think-about-life way. It was depressing in a boring book I read on my vacation to Florida way. Why did it win an award?

I would not recommend this book to anyone.

posted by Madamoiselle on March 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 22, 2009

    Story of a girl (Sedney,R)

    Story of a girl was a good book because I felt like I was involved in the story, and that I wasn't just looking from the outside in on her life but from the inside out. Deanna is a girl who was sexually involved with her brothers friend Tommy who was seventeen, Deanna was only thirteen. There is a phrase in the book that says "I didn't love him I'm not even sure if I liked him" and after I read that phrase I couldn't put the book down I felt like I was going through Deanna's problems and I needed to see what was going to happen next. The suspense of this book was so amazing I felt scared when Deanna was scared and happy when she was. One particular night Deanna and Tommy were in a parking lot, in a car, being sexually active when her father showed up and caught her and Tommy right in the middle of everything! After that "tragedy" Deanna felt her Dad didn't love her anymore. So considering this she made secret plans to someday move away and live with only her brother, Darren, and his girlfriend and their baby.
    Well a couple years pass and she finds herself at the end of her sophomore school year and
    people are still talking about Deanna the slut. Not only that but Deanna also seems to have a crush on her best friend, the catch to that is Deanna's best friends girlfriend is also Deanna's friend so when Deanna kissed the boy she felt she had betrayed her friend and ruined her relationship with the boy. That summer Deanna gets a job at a pizza place to help pay for the place for Darren and his family. Tommy works at the pizza place so everything from her past is always on her mind, Deanna stays strong and doesn't and in control of her emotions.
    I think that is was a great book and now when I hear about someone in Deanna's position I don't think "Ewe what a slut" I feel bad for that person. I think that this book had a great message as well it not only made me feel bad for her, it made me feel like I have to be more aware in my personal relationships with people. I think this would be a great book to read if you have had sexual encounters, a bad relationship with your parents, or you just simply want to read a great book with a great message. This book is definitely for teens, and I think it's a better message for girls because it could almost be a self help book depending on your situation. This was a great book and I will definitely recommend it to my friends and to you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    good book

    I liked this book because it was well written and showed Deanna's emotion very well. Although the ending was kind of open ended, I can relate to her feelings about her best friend dating her other friend.I would recommend this book to someone who likes reading books with a lot of emotion in it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I Liked It

    This book was kind of boring, mostly because there was no................. big problem, if you will. There were just random events put together to form Deanna's life. Overall, it really only deserves 4 stars.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2008

    Story of A Girl

    This book was okay i really didn't like the end though because well it ends the way i didnt want it to end.But it's a good book for fun if you can't seem to find a book i'd get this one.It does have an interesting story line though.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Inspiring

    This shows a whole new life a teenager. It shows not just the teenaager who gets everything that they want but the strugtle and rocky relationship of their family

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Reader1

    Great boook ! Read it yrs ago but cstill great ! Wemon- readdddddd!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Good book

    Overall i thought this was a really good book! It was better then i thought it would be

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Good but not great

    It was deffinetly a good book, i would read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Bad ending

    Overall its a really good book but i expected more from the ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    Average

    I thought that his book was alright yeah it was emotional but for me that isnt interesting enough. However i thought that the author did great job and can really tell a story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    Excellent

    I truly enjoyed this book. Although it's kind of heavy, the author, Sara Zarr, deals well with the concept of being branded with a reputation undeserved.

    The book is about when Deanna Lambert is caught with a boy, Tommy Webber, having foreplay in a car. Her father has grown distant to her since the incident, even years after. Everybody heard a twisted version of the story from Tommy Webber, and nearly every person in her town think's she's promiscuous. However, even without the slut reputation, Deanna has other conflicts in her life. Her older brother Darren had a child at a young age and their parents are also disappointed in him. And her friends got together. Will Deanna resolve the conflicts in her life? Read the book and find out?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    Emotional

    Made me cry, want to yell, and laugh alot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    I like the book

    this book is for people who knows about sex and drugs and like books about a person with a misrable life

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    very good

    i thought this book was very well. yes i agree its more for teens but it shows a real life story. i cried. its was good though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    Story of a Girl; Pretty good! Honors English

    Chioma Iheoma
    Honors English
    Purples
    September 13, 2009

    This summer I read the book Story of a Girl by Sara Zarr. I liked the book and felt as if the characters were real people. The book was more than the back cover summarized it to be and is definitely one to pick up.
    In Story of a Girl the main character, Deanna, has sex with an older boy, Tommy, when she is thirteen and is caught by her father. The boy tells everyone about it and in her small town she is called a slut. Deanna secretly makes plans on leaving the town. When she sees Tommy again she starts to think of all that happened in her past. At first the plot seems pretty heavy but you see that Deanna is living the life of a regular teenage girl; she even has a crush on her best friend. Deanna learns to confront her past and that trying to leave your past behind doesn't work.
    The book was interesting, but at times it got a little boring. I liked watching Deanna grow through the story. In the beginning she questioned herself even though she already knew the answers like when she said, "I didn't love him. I'm not even sure I liked him." That statement showed that Deanna had thought about what happened over and over. I also liked that Sara Zarr portrayed Deanna as thoughtful and caring even though she wasn't treated that way. Deanna has a crush on her best friend whose girlfriend is also Deanna's best friend. Even though Deanna was mad at her, Deanna felt bad when she kissed the boy. Sometimes I felt that Deanna victimized herself to much but she learned that she had to face her past when she found out her coworker was Tommy, the boy who told everyone of her mistake.
    In Story of a Girl, I felt that the plot was fluid and easy to follow. I never had any misconceptions. The realistic plot is about a girl who has made a mistake and is bothered by it for a long time. Zarr seemed to get in touch with the characters and portrayed her thoughts well. The characters were realistic and each character added to the story. Every event in the story had a point so it didn't seem be prolonged. The message of Story of a Girl is that you cannot get over mistakes without facing them. Also I think Sara Zarr wanted readers to learn not to be so judgmental of others since everyone makes mistakes.
    I recommend this book is to readers 13 and up. This book is for boys as well as girls because boys would understand the mind of a girl a bit more. I would not say it is a must-read, but if you want to read a good book that will keep you interested Story of a Girl is one to pick up. Teenage girls would definitely enjoy this book though. Out of five stars this book gets four stars because it is realistic, touching, but gets a predictable sometimes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    uncooked realism

    The teen novel Story of a Girl, by Sara Zarr, is raw and real, but powerful. At some parts, the story was a little more suited for adults; however, the reason for these events of the story were to teach us teens what not to do through another girl's story. The author Sara Zarr uses a writing style that appeals to teens. This works, because a teen telling other teens what is right and wrong seems to work better than adults constantly laying down the rules. In Story of a Girl, the high school student Deanna Lambert's life is completely turned upside down. She made a bad decision, the rumors spread around school, and automatically, Deanna found herself trying to strip off the reputation of being the "school slut." Deanna had said trying to explain herself, "Technically, I'm not a slut, because there was only Tommy, but it's hard to defend myself on a technicality when things happened the way they did". Along with losing friends, her parents won't support or hear her side of the story, which is why Deanna doesn't even feel comfortable in her own home. "One of the things Darren [her older brother] and me have in common is that we both let Mom and Dad down . . . And me because, well, no one wants the school slut for a daughter," Deanna said this explaining how her family life is as harsh as her school. However, using her knowledge, literal thinking, and great strength and resistance to such rumors, Deanna pushed through the jungle of high school and came to accept her decision and herself, even if she wasn't supported. This is a wonderful book for teens to read and ponder. It gives us the chance to realize what bad decisions do for our esteem and how a reputation can instantly get smashed. This is a must read for any teen entering high school. I got great satisfaction out of the book and feel as if I had a better understanding of things to look out for when entering these next four years of high school.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Surprisingly good

    This book definitely had me at "Hello." Starting with such an in your face statement about a thirteen-year-old girl being caught in by her father in the back of a car having sex with a much older boy can't help but catch your attention. However, I digress. It did actually take me three attempts to read it all the way through because that initial page is both engaging and off-putting. I thought, "Do I really want to read a book that starts out like this?" Eventually, I overcame my prudish tendencies and delved in. I mean, it did get a Newbery nod, after all, so there must be more to it.

    In fact, there is much, much more to the text. It's not about a promiscuous teenager at all, but rather a young girl searching for an identity that shatters at the beginning of her teenage years, and she spends the next several years overcoming the sense of poor self worth and insecurity that such an incident would cause.

    Her cold and insensitive father and overbearing and somewhat neurotic mother don't really help, but in the end, Deanna is able to work up the courage to become the person she's always wanted to be, and drastically effects the lives of the people around her in a positive way because of it. Ultimately, it's laced with redemption in the midst of disparaging circumstances, and Zarr leaps into the fray of reality throughout the text. I recommend this book to readers 14 - 18, skewing more toward girls.

    -Lindsey Miller, www.lindseylibrary.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Not for young teens!

    This book is a real story that needs to be discussed among teens and with parents(that are able to have healthy discussions with their sons and daughters)!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2008

    Story of a Girl

    This was a great read. Darren was my favorite character in this book, he was the protective brother. I actually liked Tommy even though the things he did I liked the way they portrayed his character. Deanna got on my nerves at times but I dealt with it. Over all I would recommend this to anyone because it was a great polt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2008

    A Good Read

    I didn't really know what to expect when I started reading this book. I had no clue if I was going to like it or if I was going to suffer through another book that depressed me. Luckily, I enjoyed reading it. This book makes you think. It really made me feel for the main character. I didn't necessarily agree with all the actions of the main character but she was relatable and somewhat endearing. This isn't the best book I have ever read but it is a good book in its own right. I do recommend that you pick it up and give it a chance like I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4