Customer Reviews for

Story of the Trapp Family Singers

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Best book ever

It is very discriptive and good details. My favorite book in the world! Amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on January 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Can't find promised photos

In the description of the e-book it says that it now contains pictures from the book. Where are they?! I'm enjoying the very interesting story, but would love to be able to see what was promised.

posted by Sookie69 on February 23, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Best book ever

    It is very discriptive and good details. My favorite book in the world! Amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Can't find promised photos

    In the description of the e-book it says that it now contains pictures from the book. Where are they?!

    I'm enjoying the very interesting story, but would love to be able to see what was promised.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2002

    The Truth Behind 'The Sound of Music'

    Maria von Trapp grasped me on the first word and still didn't let go after the last. Her family's story still stays with me even today, weeks after I have read the ever so popular story. Anyone and everyone should read this story. I laughed at the story of Uncle Peter's addiction to handbooks and cried at the news that they had to leave their home in Austria. I have always loved the movie 'The Sound of Music' but never knew how different the story was. I will never look at the movie the same.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    Good historical read

    I'm typically not a historical bibliography reader but someone on my bus ride recommended this to me. And to my surprise, I really enjoyed seeing the "REAL" Sound of Music and how the Trapp Family Singers just came to be. If you like the Sound of Music, read this book to find out what happened to the Trapp Singers.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Like many, I became aware of the story of the Trapp family from

    Like many, I became aware of the story of the Trapp family from the movie The Sound of Music. In this book we learn the whole story. It is well written and hard to put down.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    One of the best books I've read in years!

    And to think, it was written before I was born. It's timeless! It will be with me for many years.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    A MUST for Sound of Music Fans!

    A very enjoyable, delightful, fast read. Although the Sound of Music movie is quite different, this true back-story is a great read for any Sound of Music fan. A great lesson in having faith and following your heart, not your ego.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Interesting, true story.

    It was a good read, that gives the real life story of a family we think we know via The Sound of Music. There was very little about the family's escape from Austria and the book focused on rebuilding their lives in the United States. Maria was an extremely religious woman and her writing reflects this with many bible quotes and relating important events in their lives to proximity of relgious days or holy days of obligation. This component of the book gets long and interupts the storytelling frequently. I recommend this book to fans of the Sound of Music who are curious about what happened next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2014

    Skylar

    Hey #11 my family is strict and mean and pick on my look 24/7 #12 moms in jail and #13 i did this to save my fily from the humiliation i am sooo this is our finale goodbye thanks for reading see ha on the other side bye

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    The Story Of The Trapp Family Singers

    Excellent.
    A good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    Ali to niall

    Ya here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2014

    Interesting Story

    I have always been a fan of "The Sound Of Music" movie, so I was drawn to buy this book. I found it very interesting to meet the true people behind the movie. Excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2014

    The Hills Are Alive...

    This book written in 1949 is a great period piece and I highly recommend it tianyone interested in pre-WWII Austria and the trials and tribulations of industrious refugees and a budding singing troupe, interspersed with a true developing love story between an aristocratic family and lower class young woman who wants to become a nun. Whew, wasn't that a badly written run-on sentence. Any who, there is a lot of reference to God from a Catholic perspective in the book, so if you don't think you can handle that much personal faith then this isn't for you. This book was the foundation for the musical "Sound of Music"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Silver

    Needs better grammer, but other that that, perfect!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    The story of the strange case of the future and chara

    "Its been who many days since you meet me?" I asked quinn " since this da.m lab came, where they mutate kids" quinn growled. True i thought, i never had much friends except all the lives i have saved not encluding the mutant animals. A newbie i gussed was pushed by are cell she had many robot parts on her "cyborg" called a boy named sam with raven or crow wings on his back. I grunted in reply. Me and quinn were the few kids that could blind into are invorments. Also the few that were over 13 . "SALE DAY" some one yelled . "Sh.t" i cursed and all h.ell broke lose, numbers flashed above are cell . The biding went on for hours you would pray and hope not to be selled. No one knew what was outside your cell. "Are cell" whimpered quinn as soon as she said it are bid went up. Tears welled in my eyes, what would happen to us i did not know , i am just a kid stuck in a lab were people play with th forces of nature.

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    amazing uplifting book

    The story of the von Trapps is even better than the sound of music

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2