Customer Reviews for

Straight Talking

Average Rating 4
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Personable - Light Hearted

Jane Green has some fantastic novels and Straight Talking was pretty well written, especially since it is Green's first novel. What I liked about most was the fact that she made this novel so personable. Tasha (the heroine) pretty much told us the story by bringing the ...
Jane Green has some fantastic novels and Straight Talking was pretty well written, especially since it is Green's first novel. What I liked about most was the fact that she made this novel so personable. Tasha (the heroine) pretty much told us the story by bringing the reader in as if she were talking to us. It gives the readers a chance to kind of be a part of the story and go along through the journey with her. I also liked how a lot of woman can relate to the story; even if we didn't like all the decisions she made. The part of the book that I didnt like was the fact that the ending was so rushed. I would have liked to find out what happened with Tasha and Adam but we were left to wonder. All in all, it is a good book and any fans of Jane Green should read it.

posted by Lindsie on February 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pretty good

Way too much language! And a bit too much sexual info. That said, I did find it to be a page turner even though I disagreed with the main character's decisions. I wish the book had been a bit longer to wrap it up with an even happier ending.

Do all Green's books have t...
Way too much language! And a bit too much sexual info. That said, I did find it to be a page turner even though I disagreed with the main character's decisions. I wish the book had been a bit longer to wrap it up with an even happier ending.

Do all Green's books have this much bad language? I can deal with some but this was a bit much.

posted by 4687788 on March 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Pretty good

    Way too much language! And a bit too much sexual info. That said, I did find it to be a page turner even though I disagreed with the main character's decisions. I wish the book had been a bit longer to wrap it up with an even happier ending.

    Do all Green's books have this much bad language? I can deal with some but this was a bit much.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Personable - Light Hearted

    Jane Green has some fantastic novels and Straight Talking was pretty well written, especially since it is Green's first novel. What I liked about most was the fact that she made this novel so personable. Tasha (the heroine) pretty much told us the story by bringing the reader in as if she were talking to us. It gives the readers a chance to kind of be a part of the story and go along through the journey with her. I also liked how a lot of woman can relate to the story; even if we didn't like all the decisions she made. The part of the book that I didnt like was the fact that the ending was so rushed. I would have liked to find out what happened with Tasha and Adam but we were left to wonder. All in all, it is a good book and any fans of Jane Green should read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    I liked it. :)

    Good, fun, easy read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2006

    Superb once again....

    I have read almost all of Jane Green's books, this is another outstanding book that she has crafted. It's funny, sad, exciting, yet I feel that it leaves you wanting more at the end. That is the only reason that I gave it 4 stars. I would highly recommend this book even though the ending leaves you guessing and wanting to find out more....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Jane green books are utter drivel. I can't believe people pay mo

    Jane green books are utter drivel. I can't believe people pay money to be bored silly.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Same old song & dance.

    Exactly the same as every other book that's ever been written by Jane Green - a priviledged white lady in her 30's is unhappy with her life; she miraculously finds a man, and unrealistic romance & drama scenes soon follow. Full of dry, hollow humour and mediocre writing skills on par with those of Stephenie Meyer, the authour of Twilight. I'm not even surprised at its mediocrity; this is the norm for Green. This will be my last Jane Green novel; I've given up on her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2012

    Reminds me of Sex in the City! Humorous, sexy, and fun!

    The group of girlfriends sitting around talking and being each other's support reminds me so much of Sex in the City. I thought this book was a really quick and fun read; there's romance, steamy sex, funny moments, etc. At the heart of it all, I liked how the author did the internal monologue to describe how self destructive one can be in the long path of self discovery and happiness. It meant letting go of the past, being comfortable with oneself, etc. You find yourself reading and thinking and wishing Tasha won't make the same mistakes, hoping she'll get the happy ending she deserves. It's also fun to see the single life again through Tasha's eyes and lots of what's thought, said, and done are dead on. Overall, this is one of my favorite's from Jane Green.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Loved it!!

    I loved every moment of this book. I can completely relate to so many of the situations throughout the story! Definitely a must read for young women!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2010

    Now a Jane Green fan

    I read this book after a friend told me how much she liked Jane Green's writing. Where better to start than with her first novel STRAIGHT TALKING. I enjoyed STRAIGHT TALKING very much. The pace was light and brisk. The characters were interesting and realistic. I liked how Tasha, the main female character, talked directly to the reader about her relationships with her girlfriends and lovers (past & present), her career, her family, and her struggle with the question of whether or not passion and friendship can exist together. Tasha was not always likable, but I couldn't help root for her as she searched for true love and happiness. I look forward to reading more of Jane Green's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2008

    A common problem?

    I cried when I read this book. Not because it is sad, but because it is almost exactly the situation I 'and some of my close friends' have been through! As young women we look for the fairy tale romance. Someone to sweep us off our feet and if we don't find that initially, we look some place else for it! I dated my husband and although we had a great relationship, I went looking for something more. It wasn't till then that I realized that I already had everything that I wanted! Luckily, like with Adam and Tash, he was there waiting for me in the end. But, I have had friends who have lost something great because they went looking for passion and lust.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2008

    Fantastic story!!!

    Jane Green does it again with this book. It focuses on a topic that I'm sure every girl out there thinks about. Passion vs. friendship and which is more important. It also toys with the idea that the love of your life could be standing right in front of you!!! I fell in love with Adam and was rooting for him the whole time and sometimes would shout at the book when Tash was doing things I did not approve of!! I have to say that the ending of the book is not what I expected. I wanted Adam to propose to Tash!! I absolutely loved this book and would recommend it to all girls, married or single.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2008

    Amazing!

    i absolutely love jane green! all women can relate to this book and her other books too. 'straight talking' is funny, heartbreaking, and romantic. i highly recommend this book, and definitely enjoyed every minute of it. i seriously could not put it down, and i finished it in one day!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2006

    it was so so

    I liked it but it was kind of a bore at points. it was extremely provocative as well. almost too much information but kind of enjoyable at the same time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2005

    Not Jane Green's Best

    This book was all right. It wasn't a page turner, but I liked it just the same. I was a bit disappointed with the ending, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2005

    BECK-

    this is fantastic...truly a masterpiece. Green shows outstanding writting technique, and we can all relate ourselves or some of our friends to most of the characters, making this book much more enjoyable. A classic!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2004

    Straight Talking is pretty good

    I enjoyed reading Straight Talking. I have read other books from Green. I didn't like this book as much as I liked Mr. Maybe and Babyville. I'm waiting for to Have and To Hold to come out in paperback.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2004

    Just so so

    I thought Straight Talking was just so-so. I read Mr Maybe on a single roundtrip flight recently, and enjoyed it very much. Straight Talking, however, took me weeks to finish. I didn't find myself caring about Tasha or any of the other characters. It wasn't very compelling at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2004

    GREAT!!!!!!

    This is seriously one of the best books that i have ever read. It was the first of Green's books that I have read and I finished it in about 4 days! I would reccomend it to anyone! Since I have read the book I have also read 2 more of Green's novels and I havnt been disapointed yet!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2004

    Not Jane Green's Best

    I have read a lot of Green's books, and I have really liked all of them. Straight Talking was not my favorite, but I would recommend it--read Jemima J or Mr. Maybe first, though. Straight Talking was kind of predictable, and the ending was rushed as compared to the rest of the book. It was an easy read, though, and I look forward to reading other Jane Green books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2004

    Avid Jane Green Reader

    Jane Green's books are delightful..I like this book because it served as a realistic account that many women face when it comes to dating and relationships! It was fun, daring and realistic! I would really recommend this book because it was a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4