Customer Reviews for

Straight Talking

Average Rating 4
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Superb once again....

I have read almost all of Jane Green's books, this is another outstanding book that she has crafted. It's funny, sad, exciting, yet I feel that it leaves you wanting more at the end. That is the only reason that I gave it 4 stars. I would highly recommend this book even...
I have read almost all of Jane Green's books, this is another outstanding book that she has crafted. It's funny, sad, exciting, yet I feel that it leaves you wanting more at the end. That is the only reason that I gave it 4 stars. I would highly recommend this book even though the ending leaves you guessing and wanting to find out more....

posted by Anonymous on April 30, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pretty good

Way too much language! And a bit too much sexual info. That said, I did find it to be a page turner even though I disagreed with the main character's decisions. I wish the book had been a bit longer to wrap it up with an even happier ending.

Do all Green's books have t...
Way too much language! And a bit too much sexual info. That said, I did find it to be a page turner even though I disagreed with the main character's decisions. I wish the book had been a bit longer to wrap it up with an even happier ending.

Do all Green's books have this much bad language? I can deal with some but this was a bit much.

posted by 4687788 on March 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Loved it!!

    I loved every moment of this book. I can completely relate to so many of the situations throughout the story! Definitely a must read for young women!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2010

    Now a Jane Green fan

    I read this book after a friend told me how much she liked Jane Green's writing. Where better to start than with her first novel STRAIGHT TALKING. I enjoyed STRAIGHT TALKING very much. The pace was light and brisk. The characters were interesting and realistic. I liked how Tasha, the main female character, talked directly to the reader about her relationships with her girlfriends and lovers (past & present), her career, her family, and her struggle with the question of whether or not passion and friendship can exist together. Tasha was not always likable, but I couldn't help root for her as she searched for true love and happiness. I look forward to reading more of Jane Green's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2008

    Fantastic story!!!

    Jane Green does it again with this book. It focuses on a topic that I'm sure every girl out there thinks about. Passion vs. friendship and which is more important. It also toys with the idea that the love of your life could be standing right in front of you!!! I fell in love with Adam and was rooting for him the whole time and sometimes would shout at the book when Tash was doing things I did not approve of!! I have to say that the ending of the book is not what I expected. I wanted Adam to propose to Tash!! I absolutely loved this book and would recommend it to all girls, married or single.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2008

    Amazing!

    i absolutely love jane green! all women can relate to this book and her other books too. 'straight talking' is funny, heartbreaking, and romantic. i highly recommend this book, and definitely enjoyed every minute of it. i seriously could not put it down, and i finished it in one day!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2005

    BECK-

    this is fantastic...truly a masterpiece. Green shows outstanding writting technique, and we can all relate ourselves or some of our friends to most of the characters, making this book much more enjoyable. A classic!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2004

    GREAT!!!!!!

    This is seriously one of the best books that i have ever read. It was the first of Green's books that I have read and I finished it in about 4 days! I would reccomend it to anyone! Since I have read the book I have also read 2 more of Green's novels and I havnt been disapointed yet!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2004

    Wonderfull!!!

    Absoutly love this one. Not usually my type of book but now I cant wait to read some others. It made me laugh, cry, and kept me on my toes. I could not put it down for to long. I can relate way to much!!! It will be recomened to all of my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2004

    Awesome Read

    This is my 3rd book that I have read by Jane Green and I LOVED it! I enjoy the way she wrote this book. How she is actually talking to you the reader. I recommend this book to everyone who has a close knit circle of friends and always wonders why she dates the men that she does.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2004

    I Love Jane Green

    First I read Straight Talking, and now I have almost completed reading all her others. She is great! Mixes comedy with a touch real life, something all women can relate too. Very Sex and the City!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2004

    Live Vicariously? Why Not!!!

    This book is a winner! If you ever desired to know about the dating game abroad, see it through the eyes of Tasha. She tells it like it is and shows you that there really is hope for women who are strong, independent, and opinionated. Cheers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2004

    Straight Talking....

    This is the first book of Jane Green Ive read, but I have to say it hit me by surprise! Its funny, sad, and in parts reminds you of things you yourself did or thought of doing! I recomend it to everybody. Buy it, YOU WONT REGRET IT!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2003

    Straight Talking

    Great Book! Read it twice, Cover to Cover. Jane Green does a great job of being very detailed oriented in her writing that you can just visualize the character(s) and what is happening in your mind!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2003

    Best book ever

    This was pretty much the first book ive ever read in my life. I bought it at an airport bookstore and finished it in 4 days. The characters and scenarios were so real I almost cried. I actually got angry in some parts. I definately recommend this book to women of all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2003

    SHE DID IT AGAIN!

    This is the story that just about every women goes through. It takes a look at not only relationships but friendships as well!! An excellent read once again by Jane Green.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2003

    AMAZING!!!!

    When I was reading this book, I just kept thinking 'How did she get inside of my head?' Everything about this book is down to earth and SO TRUE. It is unbelievable how much this book spoke to me, just like the rest of her books. She is an absolutely amazing writer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2003

    AH! She wrote about me!

    I loved this book! I've just started going through many of the transitions the main charictor goes through and it helped me so much in reading this book. I completely related to the debate over whether you want a relationship with complete drama and passion 24/7 that will diffinately lead to heartbreak, or a steadier relationship built upon trust and friendship while not lacking passion, that will be unlikely to end in heart ache just without that 'cant eat cant breath, cant sleep without him' feelings. 10 outta 10!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2003

    My new favorite

    I have red all of Jane Green's books and this has to be a favorite, possibly because I am afraid it will be me at 30. I read it in 3 days and have already passed it on to my best friend. An excellent light read and I caught myself laughing out loud on multiple occassions!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2003

    SO TRUE

    I read this book in maybe two sittings. Every line was something that reminded me of me! I am sure this book will help you learn a lot about yourself, it certainly changed my opinions on love, life and the choices I make.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2003

    Another best for Jane Green

    This book has everything your looking for. Its another great read from Jane Green. Her books always have something different in them. You will enjoy every minute of this book. it really gets inside your head and makes you question things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2003

    Just To Romantic

    This is the most romantic book I have ever read.It's about true life, and what happens in true life...beleive me I know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2