Customer Reviews for

Straight from the Hip

Average Rating 4
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted August 24, 2009

    Great conclusion

    Wonderful ending...can't wait for the book on the brother.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    You will love this one!

    I'm a huge fan of Susan Mallery, and this book is another one of her great ones. It's part of a series, so you must read this one and the two that precede it. Her writing and her stories will capture you and you'll have a hard time putting this one down. Hope all of you enjoy it as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    Love all her books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    ANOTHER GREAT LONE STAR SISTERS BOOK

    The books in this series just gets better and better...you will love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Fun read

    Best in the series so far, a good read but not on the same level as Lisa Kleypas who I highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book

    I found Izzy and Nick's story in this series to be entertaining and delightful. I loved how they showed their true selves to each other. At the end of the day, they find their way back to each other and life goes on. I enjoyed the book and found it hard to put down. Much better than Skye's story. I definitely can't wait to read Garth's story to find out how this series ends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2010

    Fave So Far in Series

    This was my favorite of the series so far (have not read book #4 yet). I think Izzy's character, and the personal journey she is on was an amazing story. As was the personal journey of the primary male character, Nick. The personal story lines for both characters was endearing and the building relationship between them warmed my heart. I was rooting for them in love, life, and all ways possible from the beginning to the end of the book. I loved how she left the ending, leading to the fourth book and I cannot wait to read Dana and Garth's story. what an amazing, amazing, amazing book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Third in the series

    The first two were my favorites. This one was a bit tedious to me. But I like the sisters and the story. The romance in this one was just so so.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Book!

    This is the third in the series and just as great as the first two (Under Her Skin#1) and (Lip Service#2).Izzy is the younger fearless sister,but when a oil rig blows up leaving her barely able to see, her sisters come together to find away to help her.And at the same time try to find out if their long lost brother had somthing to to with it. Hes been out to get them since book one but would he really go that far.Nick, Izzy's instructor trys to help her but at the sametime he has secrets of his past and scared if she know's he would lose her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    Susan Mallery's writing style can not be beat!

    This book is a second in a trilogy but stands alone. I look forward to anything Susan writes. Her books have a great grasp of present time relationship issues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2009

    ANOTHER GREAT LONE STAR SISTERS BOOK!!!!

    AS THE THIRD BOOK OF THIS SERIES ,IT MET MY EXPECTATIONS AS ALL OF THE OTHER LONE STAR SISTERS SERIES BOOKS. LOOKING FORWARD TO THE LAST BOOK IN THE SERIES FOR THE FINAL OUTCOME!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    Best of the Series so far!

    Love the first 2 books of this series and this one was even better than those 2! Can't wait for the 4th one!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book

    I liked this book because of the characters and story. If you haven't read any of the Lone Star Series books, you will learn about the characters in this book. The ending was short and abrupt, which I didn't like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2009

    Trite

    It's so obvious what is coming in Book 4, and I can wait. Parts of this one were really good, but I never sensed the author had dealt with disabilities. I think Catherine Anderson would have done better with this plot. I was very annoyed that the financial side of all these issues disappeared. The father of these daughters is getting less believable with each passing story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It's more than a love story, it's about why love is important!

    An amazing cast of characters and an extremely powerful and potent love story as only Susan Mallery can write! This is the youngest sister's Izzy's story where in Lip Service we learn Izzy has been involved in an explosion which has caused her severe vision problems. On top of that, her new found step brother is thought to be the cause as he wants not only to take down her father but the three Titan sisters as well.

    I can't say enough positive things about this series, The Lone Star Sisters. Once you begin to read them you'll certainly understand and each book keeps one wanting more which surely is a sign of how talented Susan Mallery is and what's made her loved by this particular reader and reviewer and put her on the New York Times Bestseller list.

    Izzy of all the Titan sisters seems the most spirited so when she's kidnapped by the strong, sexy Nick and taken to his ranch, she feels "like she's been tossed out in the trash". How could her sisters do this to her? She can't see, has no home or inheritance like her sisters and now a stranger is taking her, trying to talk her into having surgery which could leave her blind and on top of everything else wants her to work on his ranch taking care of his horses.

    The cast of characters from Nick, to his gay PA Aaron, his cook and Rita who is in charge of the stables, are quite the group. Then add to the mix her horrible father Jed Titan, her out for revenge brother Garth who has a friendship with Nick, her beautiful sisters, Lexi and Skye and friend Dana, its fabulous is all I can say.

    Life has dealt Izzy lemons in the form of a father who only wants to use her, a dead mother whom when alive never gave her the time of day and now she could possibly live in darkness for the rest of her life even if she has the surgery. However, she turns everything into lemonade and on top of it all falls in love with Nick who has secrets and is tormented by his past.

    It's more than a love story; it's a story about why love is important. As Mallery says "love is the only thing that makes us strong. It's all that matters in the end. Who we love and who loves us."

    When Nick and Garth's past are revealed it makes one understand why it's hard for Nick to love but only casts more mystery on Garth and why he's out to hurt his sisters even though it's not hard to understand why he wants to take Jed Titan down. However, in the end one gets a glimpse of what the fourth book in the series, Hot on Her Heels is going to be about and I can't wait!


    Marilyn's Romance Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    Really a good book

    As always Susan writes a book you can`t put down,Really enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A thrilling romantic suspense thriller

    The oil platform explosion left Izzy Titan with only 30% sight and mentally shattered; she had been the daredevil of the three Titan sisters and now she lives in shadowy fear. Making her even more frightened is the fact that she believes her half-brother Garth deliberately caused the incident and he will return to finish the job. Still she has to decide on a risky surgery that could restore her sight or leave her permanently blind.-----------------

    Izzy's concerned sisters Skye and Lexi hire survivor training specialist Nick Hollister to abduct their sibling; he takes her to his ranch. Irate by his cavalier attitude, Izzy lets Nick know what she thinks of him although she quietly tells herself she is attracted to the hunk. Nick feels the same way about Izzy especially as he watches her working with his horses; however regretfully he has ties to Garth. --------------

    The third Titan romantic suspense thriller (see Skye in LIP SERVICE and Lexi in UNDER HER SKIN) stars the traumatized Izzy and a man who admires her courage. Their relationship is heat and biting as they are attracted to one another, but she amusingly rips his skin for being part of her sisters' plot. When he insists he loves her; she calmly claims he is a victim of Stockholm Syndrome. With Garth still causing trouble, fans will relish this fine entry as Nick must explain himself to the siblings and the woman he loves; none will listen to him. --------------

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6