Customer Reviews for

The Strain (Strain Trilogy #1)

Average Rating 4
( 1100 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(478)

4 Star

(385)

3 Star

(164)

2 Star

(45)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Best book I've read in several years!

I am an avid reader sometimes finishing 6 books a week. I have always loved the thriller genre and was looking forward to this book. I read it in one sitting and was not diappointed in it. I have never taken the time to write a book review until The Strain.. The boo...
I am an avid reader sometimes finishing 6 books a week. I have always loved the thriller genre and was looking forward to this book. I read it in one sitting and was not diappointed in it. I have never taken the time to write a book review until The Strain.. The book pulled me in from the very beginning at the airport and never let up. It reminded me of a conglomerate of the writing of Dean Koontz, Stephen King, and Robin Cook. Although the plot seems almost preposterous I believe the cental characters made me come to accept the storyline. It is well written and exciting and I cannot wait until Book Two!

posted by storker on June 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Are these guys for real?

I can't for the life of me understand all the positive reviews on this site.

This book is full of horrible writing, grammatical errors and ideas that have been beaten to death in a hundred other, better written books. Plus the plot is absolutely nonsensical and s...
I can't for the life of me understand all the positive reviews on this site.

This book is full of horrible writing, grammatical errors and ideas that have been beaten to death in a hundred other, better written books. Plus the plot is absolutely nonsensical and suffers from continuity problems galore. For example: (Spoiler) vampirism is a purely biological affliction, however, vampires can't cross running water without assistance from living humans. Well, why not? Does that sound like a biological problem to you? The book is filled with little things like this that just don't make any sense.

Biggest of all, the book NEVER EXPLAINS what the deal is with all the dead people on the plane, which is only the soul focus of practically the entire first half of the book.

Full of dialog gems such as:

"She could tell by the look on his face that he was troubled by the look on her face."

Just flat out horrible writing.

Del Toro makes great movies, I'll give him that.

posted by WearCleanDraws on October 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Beware

    Not a bad story, but beware if you plan to read the second and third book. They are way bad.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    I'm Sorry Guillermo!

    As part of my standard traveling procedure, I picked this up on the way to San Francisco for business back in November. What a disappointment. I still haven't been able to finish the book or even make it halfway through. The strain on my patience finally forced me to shelve it and not look back. Almost every minute of this was tedious.

    Cronin's, "the Passage," seems to more successfully and eloquently conquer the subject matter that, "the Strain," attempted to.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Waste of My Time

    This was one of the most senseless and weird books I have ever had the misfortune to read.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is a horror "Flick".

    I love fiction. I believe humanity is better for it. With that said, I believe horror stories such as this actually take away from the good in the World.

    I wish I had know this was a horror story and I would have skipped it. Unfortunately I did not know this and I inadvertently polluted myself with this junk.

    Here two examples of the what this books is all about:
    1) A deceased child eating her grieving father.
    2) A man eating his and his family's beloved pet dogs.

    I usually find something worthwhile in most everything I read. I do not normally set boundaries to ideas including books I read; however, this is just pure trash.

    I believe everyone should make up their own minds. So I would not say to not read this book; however, I also believe in full discloser - so anyone thinking of reading this book should know what is about.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2009

    Grade F - don't waste your time.

    A failed attempt to jump on the lucrative vampire band wagon. The story line is passable, the lead characters well formed. The monsters are just ridiculous, and killing them "same old, same old" over and over again - who cares that they bleed white. One of the worst books I ever read.

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    A Ghastly Disappointment

    As another reviewer said, I am extremely confused as to why this book has garnered such glowing reviews. It reads like it was written by a tenth grader on a Dracula/28 Days Later fanfic binge. The characters are overly simplistic troupes, easily discarded after you set the book down. Every plot device is DOA, having been already beaten to death in a host of better written horror and sci fi novels & movies. Sure, many scenes were "gross" and that might titilate some readers, but it wears thin after the same description is regurgitated the sixth time over. I love Del Toro's work in cinema, with his attentive and nuanced use of folklore, but that attention seems to have been spent elsewhere; the application of traditional vampric folklore mixes badly here, with little end purpose.

    I honestly wish I hadn't purchased this. I will not be satisfied until I have bought a used copy of this book, and purified the land by heaving it's maligned binding into a bonfire. It'll make me feel better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Boring Vampires?! The Strain is an Excruciating Waste of Time!

    Usually I don't waste my time with a B&N review, unless its a read that is truly remarkable or completely heinous. This is the latter. I'm not crazy about this flood of vampire lit that is entering the market, however its the summer and you can't read non-fiction all the time. I'm not a Charlaine Harris fan, but I do appreciate an awesome horror. The Historian by Elizabetha Kostova and Stephanie Meyer's Twilight Saga are both great reads and instant page-turners. The Strain is something that should be found in a cesspool.

    I don't know how you can make vampires boring, but the Strain manages to do that. Take the romanticism, folklore, and mysticism surrounding vampires, and just throw them out the window. Apparently, the only thing unique about these vampires is the tongue/stinger that paralyzes their victims, and, oh yeah, they have white blood. Neato! I guess. Imagine vampires that are more like zombies. This has a really bad Hollywood movie series written all over it. The characters are somewhat developed, but even the "historical" backstory is bland and boring. Even "The Master," the stories evil vampire lord, is completely devoid of all personality. He possesses all the charm of a DMV bureaucrat and none of the eroticism that encompassed the legends of the Victorian era. Extremely disappointing.

    For all fans of vampire literature, please take a pass. Apparently, the authors have two more books in line; I guess the publisher is betting on cashing in on the Twilight phenomena. I do however suggest taking a peak at my recommendations. Hint: NO CHARLAINE HARRIS!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    To Joseph

    Cough. Rp owner has always been here. I was waitin for more bios to start accepting. Joseph, start rpin at 'moby di<_>ck' all res.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2