Customer Reviews for

Straken (High Druid of Shannara Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2005

    Good but could have been Better

    This was a good book but there were some parts that could have been left out. I don't want to ruin it for you but there are a couple parts at the end that are pointless and completely ruin the point of the whole section of the series. You may like it but I thought it kind of ruined the point of the story. I admit there were some good parts and some funny parts but I'm still mad about the end. I still do recommend this book because overall it is good and it has a great plot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Great read!

    I have not read a book that Terry Brooks has written that wasn't great. He just has a knack with writing in such a way that you feel you are there. He makes his characters just come alive and you are on the edge of your seat. I couldn't put the book down, in fact, I was forced to put the book down because my eyes got blurry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Awesome

    This is terry brooks best book ever!!!"""!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    I read it again and it is quite good.

    The first time I read this third installment of the high druid of shannara trilogy i didn't care for it very much. I thought the good guys had it too easy, like the old cliche of having to slip past the one inept guard to escape lock up.
    However, I have re-read this story getting up-to-date on this story line in anticipation of Terry's next novel coming out tuesday and gained a new respect for the story and just how much Khyber Elessedil and the others have to go through just to help Pen Ohmsford and his aunt Grianne Ohmsford. Khyber is the new head of the druid council in the upcoming book and I look forward to reading more about her. As usual, Terry weaves a magical tale of suspense in a wonderful world with memorable characters.
    Great stuff!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    Terry Brooks... iloveyou!!!

    Terry hits a madter peice again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    This is a must read for anyone following the Shannara series.

    Another home run by author Terry Brooks. I have read almost all of the Shannara books and loved them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Just a great book

    Straken is a great book (obviously by the title). It had a beautiful and poetic ending. That may make it sound cheesy, but the rest of the book was really good. The only problem I see with this book is that Pied Sanderling really didn't have anything to do with the rest of the story. But The Moric was awesome. I'll tell ya, The Moric was one of the best pieces of the story. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2007

    Another reviewer

    I first discovered Terry Brooks in 1978, when 'The Sword of Shannara' came out in paperback '$2.50!'. Does he rip off Tolkien? Of course. Then again, so do most other fantasy authors. Nevertheless, he writes one hell of a novel, with great characters, and I look forward to each new novel that comes out. 'Straken' was no exception. Keep on writing, Mr. Brooks! You liven up a slow, rainy day 'or any day I have a chance to pick up a book', as well as, or better than, many other authors. May the Ohmsford line live on!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2007

    Love it!

    I love this book. I haven't quite finished it yet, but, from what I've read so far, the ending should be great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2006

    A grand conclusion

    I have been following the Shannara novels for quite some time now, and have come to one conclusion: Terry Brooks has never failed to deliver a good book. I have read some negative feedback on this particular trilogy, and couldn't disagree more. As a novelist, Brooks has three outstanding strengths: his descriptions of environments, his detailed ability to put convincing and gripping action in to print, and a decided mastery at fleshing out the deeper psychology of his characters. All three are at their best in 'The High Druid of Shannara,' and culminates in Straken to make a very moving conclusion. I, for one, was completely caught off guard at the end, and have not been so in quite a long time! Terry Brooks is at the present my most respected fantasy novelist, and I highly recommend this book and the others he's written to other fantasy readers. Brooks is at the top of his game, and I for one can't wait to see what he creates next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2006

    Very Good Not What I Was Thinking It Would Be

    I first picked up Straken because I love the author. I was hesitant to start it because I had felt the frist two books had been lacking qualities I wanted to have in a book. As I finished chapter one I had completly forgave Brooks. Though it get slow in a few parts that didnt make it anyless exiting. All in all it was a good book but it could have been better. Sertain parts towards the end seemed hurried but the very end made up for them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2005

    Great Conclusion

    This book was a great ending for the High Druid series. This book unlike some of his other books was more unpredictable, especially at the end. It left me wanting more. When I finished the book I felt bittersweet. In some ways I was happy and sad. Overall the book was a excellent addition to the Shannara series and i'm eager for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2005

    Fantastic!

    What a wonderful way to end this trilogy. I was surprised at the ending, but after thinking about it, I think it had to happen that way for everyone to have peace. I can't wait to read Terry Brook's next addition to Shannara.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2005

    Enjoyed the book, but felt something missing...

    I enjoyed the book very much. I was rather dissappointed about how certain things were resolved and I felt I was left hanging on a few 'storylines'. But overall, I was still 'pulled' into each chapter, not wanting to stop reading until I was finished with the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2005

    Disappointing

    Straken is a much anticipated book, but comes up a little short. The ease with which Grianne escapes the Forbidding without a fight, the ease Shadea a Rue is defeated, and the ease the demon is destroyed before it even gets close to the Ellcrys is out of character for Terry Brooks novels. Much too short for a climatic ending to the Shannara series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2005

    Destined for greatness

    I have been a fan for over 8 years and i love the books. i know that this book is going to thrill fans and hopefully creat more fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fantastic, compelling and thoroughly enjoyable sword & sorcery

    Grianne Ohmsford, the Ard Rhys of the Third Druid Order, was never fully trusted because of the harm she did to others as the llse witch. Certain druids led by Shadea with the aid of the Prime Minister of the Federation trapped her in The Forbidden, a dark, dangerous evil place where the dark beings of Faerie were sent eons ago. Shadea is now the new Ard Rhys and rules through fear and terror making the Druid keep of Paranor a very unpleasant place to live and learn the craft What Shadea doesn¿t know is that a demon sorcerer, Tael Riverine, in the Forbidding influenced Shadea because when one is sent to that evil place, a being is allowed into the real world. The shapeshifting demon is influencing events in the real world so that the wall of the Forbidding will come down allowing the evil creatures penned up inside to enter the Druid realm and turn it into another Forbidding. Grianne¿s nephew knows he must bring his beloved aunt home from the Forbidden, but has no idea how to find the demon. --- STRAKEN, the last book in the latest Shannara trilogy is a fantastic, compelling and thoroughly enjoyable sword & sorcery book. One of Terry Brooks greatest gifts as an author is to create characters that are realistic and believable in settings that enable the audience to suspend reality. Grianne is his greatest creation, a character who demonstrates that redemption is always possible if one wants it enough. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4