Customer Reviews for

Strange Angels (Strange Angels Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 328 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(173)

4 Star

(106)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Great read by a wonderful author

Dru Anderson does not have any easy life. Despite being only sixteen-years old, she has seen and experienced more horrors than most people ever will. Her grandmother called it "the touch." Her sixth sense that lets her travel from city to city and hunt ghosts, suckers, ...
Dru Anderson does not have any easy life. Despite being only sixteen-years old, she has seen and experienced more horrors than most people ever will. Her grandmother called it "the touch." Her sixth sense that lets her travel from city to city and hunt ghosts, suckers, wulfen, corpses- you name it! Not to mention her zombie father...
Dru is introduced to two characters: Graves, a goth boy with a big crush on Dru; and Christophe, another kind of dangerous hunter that is very interested in Dru and her abilities. Together they will face off against an old enemy. The question is, can they find the one that hunts them and turn the tables in time to save their lives?

This is the author's first young adult (YA) book. Having read all her other works, this one does not disappoint. It is seen through the eyes of a teenaged girl juggling too many problems to add romance to the list, but sometimes you do not have any control over that. The heroine is faced with tragedy, tough choices and revelations in this story which is sure to have a sequel coming soon. It quickly captures the readers imagination and attention, making it hard to put it down! And the reader is left waiting to find out what will happen next to Dru.

The book has certain similarities with other great YA novels such as the Twilight and Harry Potter series, yet it is uniquely its own. It is not for the faint of heart reader, but rather filled with action, anxiety, and wonderful characters and relationships. It is a great read that is sure to please the young and old readers alike!

posted by jandersson on April 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Okay

I thought it would be better, because of how many other people seemed to like it, but I felt let down. The main character was inconsistent, to me, in her personality, and there was the repetitive use of the word goddamit, and that got tiring. The plotline wasn't really ...
I thought it would be better, because of how many other people seemed to like it, but I felt let down. The main character was inconsistent, to me, in her personality, and there was the repetitive use of the word goddamit, and that got tiring. The plotline wasn't really great. I hope the next book is better.

posted by KJSutton on January 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 330 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 17
  • Posted June 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Strange Angels is Awesome

    I had anticipated this book...I read the summary, loved it and went out and bought the book like a week or so after it came out...and immediately began to read it...and I loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVE IT!

    i really loved this book. It was great and i cant wait to read the next one!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A terrific young adult fantasy

    Sixteen years old Dru Anderson is used to traveling around; never staying in any place for more that a couple of months. Her father trained her as his sidekick killing deadly supernatural creatures and once the mission is accomplished the pair would pack up and move to the next monster nest; some of these otherworldly beasts have no English word. Her Granmama taught her mostly in dreams and occasional rare visits how to be spiritually psychically stout. As for her mom, there are the curls.-------

    Everything changed for Dru in the Dakotas the night her Granmama died. Dad acts strange as he goes out on the mission alone. When he fails to come back alive, Dru has to confront realities. The only two people in her life are dead within twenty-four hours of each other; and though she thought she was a pro at hunting, she realizes she knows nothing about what they hunted beyond her extrasensory gift of the "Touch" and even less about surviving in the mundane world. First she must live through the night as she knows mortal teen boys and creatures from beyond have caught her scent; she is not sure which is more dangerous to her existence, but then again there is her dad's killer stalking her too.----------

    The key to this terrific young adult fantasy is the supernatural creatures seem genuine with the representatives of a variety of species possessing differing personalities beyond just their basic "natural" needs. Dru is fabulous holding the story line together in a first person viewpoint as she is a typical teen with a special skill and a radically different childhood than the norm. Fans will admire Dru and her two new associates Christophe and Graves who risk all in a battle against deadly foes who should not exist in the wintry Dakotas.---------

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2014

    Something new

    Something I was curious about and I dig the way it was written. A bit of everything and I loved the twists and action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    Good read

    It was slow to start but by the middle I was hooked. Ending was great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Strange Angels was a little slow for me in the beginning. It sta

    Strange Angels was a little slow for me in the beginning. It starts off explaining what her life was like living with her dad moving from place to place killing all creatures. When one night Dru's dad does not come home human, he has been been turned into a zombie. Dru is forced to kill her father and moves on alone until her friend Graves starts helping her. Graves gets bit by a werewulf and Dru now has to explain about her abilities and how she hunts. While looking for answers about her parents, Dru meets Christophe. Christophe is a dhampire, and he knows all the secrets Dru has been searching for about her parents and her not so human blood. Dru is portrayed as a very strong 16 year old character having to face so many obstacles alone. This makes her an inspiring character, not to mention also kick ass! She knows how to fight and protect herself and others that she cares about. This shows girls are not weak and helpless. I love how Dru and Graves relationship has grown into something more than friendship, even though I like Christophe's character, he's mysterious and is very interested in Dru.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Everything changes for 16 year old Dru Anderson when her father

    Everything changes for 16 year old Dru Anderson when her father leaves on a hunt and doesn’t return. At least not as a human. Even though Dru and her father have been hunting other beings since her mother died, Dru has never been on her own, she has only used her special “touch” power to aid her father. Now she has no choice. Someone has changed her father into a zombie and that someone is coming after her next. Without knowing who she truly is and what her destiny is, Dru is left floundering until an unexpected helper in the form of a goth boy named Graves becomes her side-kick. The next savior to enter the picture is fanged and his name is Christophe. It isn’t quite clear if Christophe is good or bad but Dru needs to know more about the supernatural world and he is the only one to give her that insight. There is something slithering in the night and it is getting closer so Dru will need all the help she can get.

    I really enjoyed this first installment. I found myself cheering out loud for Dru. She is a very real character. Her vulnerabilities make her believable. It is a mix of Supernatural and Buffy, The Vampire Slayer and contains many great action scenes with the added mystery of why Dru is on the supernatural beings menu all of a sudden. This is great for the older YA paranormal lovers with caution to some that there are some descriptive gruesome scenes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Good

    This is a very good book, i just wished she wouldve made is a book series like spread it out into more than one book. I would like to see what happen to them after

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    This is driving me crazy...

    I love this book, but I'm one of thos crazy geeks who is obssessed with romance and action at te same time. WHERE IS THE ROMACE? I see te action, but there is no romanceexct for the occasional smoldering look. Agn, awesome book, great read, looking forward to the next book!
    BTW; Team Christophe... :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Great series! You can't help but love the main character Dru be

    Great series! You can't help but love the main character Dru between her tough exterior and soft heart. This series is packed full of action and romance. Who doesn't love a love triangle and some good fighting with werewolves, vampires, dhampirs and zombies. Not one of my favorite endings to a series but still worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    :D

    I love this series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    My current overview

    Well, I haven't gotten very far yet but I got hooked on the first chapter or the prolouge. The boy named Graves is at first kind of boring and creepy but I've heard that he doesnt dissapoint and a whole new character joins which also sounds pretty cool. I like her background of her mother and father and her lifestlye
    I have good feelings about this series and I hope it doesnt dissapoint

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    My opinion.

    This is one of the best series ive ever read. Im finishing up reckoning as we speak. I dont want it to end. I absoluteky love graves and christophe is simply an amazing character. Dru is one tough chick! If you liked twilght youll LOVE this. I recomend it. Its well worth the buy! This is a series youll want to go back to and read again:)) high praise for lili

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Vampire

    I loved the book because it had werwolfs and vampires

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    Zombies?

    This is a good book with Vampires and zombies!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    just finished this series..WONDERFUL !! I loved the writing styl

    just finished this series..WONDERFUL !! I loved the writing style. I can`t wait to read more by this author under the name Lilith Saintcrow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    ┬┐ber awesome

    This book is super duper good! There is a little bit of cussing but there is nothing outrageously inappropriate. This is a new idea and i think it is executed realy well and shows a new kind of charater. Dru is tough but by the end she isn't sure who she really is. This series is going to be a good one. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good paranormal book with just a little itty bitty microscopic sliver of romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Silvrerfur

    Im here! ~ silverfur

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    H

    Im here
    ~Amberclaw

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Word of advice

    Graves honey, it is an asian sin to fall in love with a bakayare hakujin aba- zure you should know that, yeah?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 330 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 17