Customer Reviews for

Strange Angels (Strange Angels Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 326 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(173)

4 Star

(105)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Great read by a wonderful author

Dru Anderson does not have any easy life. Despite being only sixteen-years old, she has seen and experienced more horrors than most people ever will. Her grandmother called it "the touch." Her sixth sense that lets her travel from city to city and hunt ghosts, suckers, ...
Dru Anderson does not have any easy life. Despite being only sixteen-years old, she has seen and experienced more horrors than most people ever will. Her grandmother called it "the touch." Her sixth sense that lets her travel from city to city and hunt ghosts, suckers, wulfen, corpses- you name it! Not to mention her zombie father...
Dru is introduced to two characters: Graves, a goth boy with a big crush on Dru; and Christophe, another kind of dangerous hunter that is very interested in Dru and her abilities. Together they will face off against an old enemy. The question is, can they find the one that hunts them and turn the tables in time to save their lives?

This is the author's first young adult (YA) book. Having read all her other works, this one does not disappoint. It is seen through the eyes of a teenaged girl juggling too many problems to add romance to the list, but sometimes you do not have any control over that. The heroine is faced with tragedy, tough choices and revelations in this story which is sure to have a sequel coming soon. It quickly captures the readers imagination and attention, making it hard to put it down! And the reader is left waiting to find out what will happen next to Dru.

The book has certain similarities with other great YA novels such as the Twilight and Harry Potter series, yet it is uniquely its own. It is not for the faint of heart reader, but rather filled with action, anxiety, and wonderful characters and relationships. It is a great read that is sure to please the young and old readers alike!

posted by jandersson on April 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Okay

I thought it would be better, because of how many other people seemed to like it, but I felt let down. The main character was inconsistent, to me, in her personality, and there was the repetitive use of the word goddamit, and that got tiring. The plotline wasn't really ...
I thought it would be better, because of how many other people seemed to like it, but I felt let down. The main character was inconsistent, to me, in her personality, and there was the repetitive use of the word goddamit, and that got tiring. The plotline wasn't really great. I hope the next book is better.

posted by KJSutton on January 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted October 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reminds me of the Supernatural tv show.

    Dru can sense The Real World (the paranormal world, not the tv show), and she travels around with her Dad, who's a down-and-dirty monster killer. When she's left all on her own--in a dramatic and heartbreaking fashion, I might add--she's in big trouble because something seriously bad is gunning for her.


    So much to like, here. 1. St. Crow has an earthy, realistic writing voice with a Deep South feel. The prose style is enjoyably descriptive, and we get simple but lovely lines like, "My mouth tasted like day-old coffee mixed with ash" (pg 106). So good. 2. Most of the character behavior is totally justified, frex: this is a gritty, dark book, and one of the ways the grittiness manifests itself is in some pretty heavy language for a YA, but it all feels natural, considering the MC's rough background. 3. Great secondary characters. It takes a little while, but Graves gets pretty amazing, though he bugged me at first. Then there's Christophe, who doesn't really put in an appearance until halfway through the book but moves the story forward in marvelous ways. 4. The mythology is fresh, complex, compelling, and the longer you read the more interesting it gets.

    Another big reason I find Strange Angels appealing is that it's a good example of the kind of writing I'm going to arbitrarily call "Scrape Fiction" where, unlike many novels where the characters have two states: perfect health or almost-dead-from-stab-wounds-and-bullet-holes, the MC can gets little cuts, sprains, and headaches that hurt in a standard bearable fashion, but are annoying or interfere with the MC's activities. In this type of book, busted lips and bruised knuckles are the order of the day instead of broken bones or lopped-off limbs, though those may appear, too. Gotta say, I'm a fan of this approach. In that way, Strange Angels reminds me of one of my favorite tv shows of all time: Supernatural, where the lighting is dim, the monsters are abundant, and the setting feels lived-in and unglamourous. Though now that I think about it, this book's similarities to that show are huge--the backstory is, Dru's and her dad bounce from town to town fighting whatever monster is in residence, with only each other for company. Dru's dad is even a fan of classic rock a la AC/DC.

    Dislikes: 1. It's presented as part of Dru's overall gruffness and insensitivity, but I cringe when she mentally refers to Graves, who is part Asian, as a "half-breed". It just sets my internal racism alarms a-ringing. 2. Dru's awesome and tough--sometimes so much so that her POV feels male. Can we have a tough girl protag without making her sound like a dude? Tall order, I know. 3. "Werewolf" in this book is spelled "werwulf," and I can't get behind that. It's like when someone spells vampire as "vampyre," and while I'm fine with more obscure supernatural species being spelled however you like (faery/faerie, selkie/selchie), if you're going to write vamps and wolves I prefer you call 'em that. Leave off the fancy sauce and just give me the chicken.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Surprise of a Good Read

    At first, I thought this book was going to be awful. It took me three, count them, THREE turns at picking up this book between others to finally get into it!! Once I got about a third of the way through, and got over Dru's hideous language quirks (ie. "Goddamn", "Kid"), and really started getting into her story, the book really picked up and I was hooked! Dru ended up being much more endearing and vulnerable than I ever expected she could be, and Graves' honest-to-goodness and strength made him more than a little interesting...not to mention the introduction of Christophe, who I suspect will just be simply yum! Another surprise for me was that as I got more interested in the story, I again started to feel let down as I saw the many similarities forming with Vampire Academy, BUT as I read on and now that I've started Betrayals, I feel encouraged that St. Crow has taken on her own twist on the Vampire, Djamphir, Boarding School storyline. I'm excited to continue reading the series now, and would definitely recommend to others! A surprise indeed!!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    Kick Butt Kinda Girl!

    I really liked "Dru" in the novel. She is kind of a teenage "Anita Blake". I hope all the books in the series (as it seems there will be sequels) are as good.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    it was different but good.

    i liked this book for many reasons but i also had some issues.one of the good parts about this book was that the charchter of dru. i love the way her attitude is throughout the whole book. her confidence is very contagous. one of the issues about the book, for me, was that it went kind of slow. i think, in my opinion, that the author over discribed some parts and took to much time in doing so. i am still going to buy the next book in the series because i am curious about the charchter,dru. i hope in the next book, it explains her mother more. i would still reccomned this book to the supernatural readers and i hope the next book does well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Strange Angels by Lili St. Crow

    Dru's mom died when she was young, and she ended up spending a lot of time with her grandmother and father. When her grandmother passes away, Dru must scour the country with her dad, a hunter, looking for paranormal beings to kill. With Dru's help using "the touch" her dad's hunts have been very successful, until one night when he goes without her on a hunt, and she fails to tell him about her bad feelings. With her father dead, Dru has to figure out how to survive on her own, decide who she can trust, and find the monsters responsible for her father's death. All this while watching her own back for whoever is hunting HER.

    I really enjoyed Strange Angels, there is nonstop action which I love! Dru is a strong protagonist, but she also has her weaknesses like all teenage girls should have. She's scared and is determined not to let that show, even when she begins to feel vulnerable around her new friend Graves. St. Crow is a genius when writing intense and heavily emotional scenes. Her descriptions of the "real world" (no, not the reality show), which are shown through Dru's eyes, are dark, scary, and vivid. She has built a world full of intriguing creatures including; Zombies, Weres (werewulfen), Vampires (suckers), and all kinds of big and small monsters.

    The only part that sort of got old was that Dru likes to repeat a lot of the same phrases or lines. Which I'm going to go ahead and say is because of the traumatic death of her father.

    Overall Strange Angels was a very exciting book, and fans of Lilith Saintcrow's adult series will also enjoy her YA. I'm anxiously waiting to see what happens in book two of the Dru Anderson series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Great book- but read my whole reveiw below

    This book does, I will admit, take a rather long time to get off the ground and get going with the good part- but when it does, it's AMAZING! Definetly worth the money, and the book is great for you if you want to read about a girl who can kick serious *** when needed, a zombie invasion, and two boys who'll risk everything for the girl- but at the same time, are fighting for her love.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Compelling first novel of a series

    Written in first person narrative in what I can only describe as 'common' language and phrasing, which I did feel lowered the intelligence of the story but can easily be attributed to a 16/17 year old girl. Mild use of bad language which although fits in with the characters is not really necessary for the storyline.
    The actually layout of the book is very visual with the start of each chapter having black misty swirls at the top of the page, making it look sinister and instilling a feeling of dread.
    The story starts with a shocking twist that draws the reader right into the plot. The idea of an alternate world inhabited by monsters/vampire/werewolves/etc living side by side the human world brought to mind Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr and The Night World Series by L.J.Smith, I actually think at one point there is a reference to the Night World in the plot. We are drawn into the protagonists (Dru) world where she is trying to maintain a normal facade when her life is anything but.
    The writing is very descriptive with lots of dramatic tension and some gory imagery. The description of the weather in particular actually made me feel cold. There are lots of references to snakes (not good if you have a snake phobia like me added together with my technicolour imagination) I could actually feel my skin crawling at the descriptions, which I guess is the point.
    The characters were well developed and interesting, there 'secrets' have yet to be fully revealed so there is plenty of scope to develop them further in Betrayals. Reminiscent of The Twilight Saga with the love triangle element. I am actually taking bets with myself at the moment to see if one of the main characters will have green eyes. The relationship between the characters is believable and easy to relate to (especially that of the friendship between Dru and Graves).
    Although the action is fast paced very little of the plot is revealed. There is a major cliffhanger ending; although some plot questions are answered there are a lot more left to be revealed (hopefully) in the next book, Betrayals.
    In conclusion, a good read if you like paranormal romance and lots of fast paced action and dramatic tension but be warned you will be left with a lot of unanswered questions and definitely have to read Betrayals to get more of the answers (great marketing strategy). Not for those looking for a stand alone story, this is definitely a series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good Vamp Read

    The writing style is hard to get use to. But the story is good and the Characters are fun. It takes the Vamps and Were story to a different level. She was almost real, with her trials and troubles. I love a strong heroine but i can relate to one better when she has the Occasional break down too. i recommend anyone to read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    Good read

    It was slow to start but by the middle I was hooked. Ending was great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Everything changes for 16 year old Dru Anderson when her father

    Everything changes for 16 year old Dru Anderson when her father leaves on a hunt and doesn’t return. At least not as a human. Even though Dru and her father have been hunting other beings since her mother died, Dru has never been on her own, she has only used her special “touch” power to aid her father. Now she has no choice. Someone has changed her father into a zombie and that someone is coming after her next. Without knowing who she truly is and what her destiny is, Dru is left floundering until an unexpected helper in the form of a goth boy named Graves becomes her side-kick. The next savior to enter the picture is fanged and his name is Christophe. It isn’t quite clear if Christophe is good or bad but Dru needs to know more about the supernatural world and he is the only one to give her that insight. There is something slithering in the night and it is getting closer so Dru will need all the help she can get.

    I really enjoyed this first installment. I found myself cheering out loud for Dru. She is a very real character. Her vulnerabilities make her believable. It is a mix of Supernatural and Buffy, The Vampire Slayer and contains many great action scenes with the added mystery of why Dru is on the supernatural beings menu all of a sudden. This is great for the older YA paranormal lovers with caution to some that there are some descriptive gruesome scenes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Great series! You can't help but love the main character Dru be

    Great series! You can't help but love the main character Dru between her tough exterior and soft heart. This series is packed full of action and romance. Who doesn't love a love triangle and some good fighting with werewolves, vampires, dhampirs and zombies. Not one of my favorite endings to a series but still worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    My current overview

    Well, I haven't gotten very far yet but I got hooked on the first chapter or the prolouge. The boy named Graves is at first kind of boring and creepy but I've heard that he doesnt dissapoint and a whole new character joins which also sounds pretty cool. I like her background of her mother and father and her lifestlye
    I have good feelings about this series and I hope it doesnt dissapoint

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Awsome

    Dru Anderson with her friend Graves and her kinda friend Christophe are amazing characters that bing tis book to life dont hesitate to read it. And if your one of those people who think zombie books are weird and creepy and are skeptical of this book dont be i hate zombies and thought this book was fabulous!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Got to love it

    I really love Dru Anderson. She's the type of female with that hard shell, sarcastic wit, and has no problem kicking butt. This book sucked me in and I couldn't put it down. I'm already on the 3rd book, so if you like action and having the main charactor being the rule breaker, kick ass type, this book is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    Kick Ass!

    This book was amazing! I couldn't put it down. Crow has a very creative view on the supernatural and things that go bump in the night! There's a lot of interesting emotional twists, but Dru is a very strong female lead. I loved the action and the characters. Graves is a great balance to Dru's personality traits. However, the 2nd and 3rd book in this series are even better!!! I can't wait until the 4th one comes out. I'll be dying of suspense until it does!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Overall Good but..

    I had high hopes for this book because of how many people rant about how great it is, but I was a little disappointed. The plot and ideas are great, but at times I thought the writing was hard to follow and Dru is either always cussing or completely broken down. Also, for the guys in this book, they seem to really like her but she treats them awful! Don't get me wrong, this is a good read, but I think it had more potential.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2010

    Pretty good.

    I only bought this book because it was on sale, but I'm glad I did. It was quite good, if you can get past all the cursing. Graves definitely became my favorite character with his humor which is much needed in this book. Dru is a bit too foul mouthed and angsty for my taste but I can kind of get where she's coming from. Overall there is a good amount of action and some interesting things that supernaturals can do. The only thing I don't like in this book is with the two guys "fighting" over Dru. Apart from what she is, I don't find her to be a great prize. I will be ordering the next in the series mostly because I want to know what happens with Graves. I know my review is kind of contradicting but if you can find it on sale or borrow it, I suggest you give Strange Angels a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great start for a seires

    I can't what to read the next one. This one was really good all over. If you don't like seires don't read it. It cuts of nicly at the end but huge cliff hanger. I would recomend it to 14 and up if you don't mind a little cusing here and their, lots of action and a little romance! Although I really wish their was a kiss!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Keeps your attention

    I happened to see Strange Angels in the store and bought it on a whim...and am glad that I did. This is another book I wish they allowed for half star ratings...this would be 3.5 stars. It seemed to start off slow for me but after a few chapters St. Crow had captured my attention. I'm not that big into zombies and was glad that it only took up a small amount of the story. I have read a lot of different vampire books and still found Strange Angels unique and fascinating. I like that Dru seems like a real teenager who isn't instantly turned into an unstoppable fighting machine. We get to see her struggle through the circumstances she has found herself in which allows you to relate to her. Can't wait to get Betrayals and start reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    This book was given as a Christmas gift.

    The receiver started reading this book shortly after it was opened. She is collecting all of Lili St. Crow's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6