Customer Reviews for

Strange Angels (Strange Angels Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 328 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(173)

4 Star

(106)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Great read by a wonderful author

Dru Anderson does not have any easy life. Despite being only sixteen-years old, she has seen and experienced more horrors than most people ever will. Her grandmother called it "the touch." Her sixth sense that lets her travel from city to city and hunt ghosts, suckers, ...
Dru Anderson does not have any easy life. Despite being only sixteen-years old, she has seen and experienced more horrors than most people ever will. Her grandmother called it "the touch." Her sixth sense that lets her travel from city to city and hunt ghosts, suckers, wulfen, corpses- you name it! Not to mention her zombie father...
Dru is introduced to two characters: Graves, a goth boy with a big crush on Dru; and Christophe, another kind of dangerous hunter that is very interested in Dru and her abilities. Together they will face off against an old enemy. The question is, can they find the one that hunts them and turn the tables in time to save their lives?

This is the author's first young adult (YA) book. Having read all her other works, this one does not disappoint. It is seen through the eyes of a teenaged girl juggling too many problems to add romance to the list, but sometimes you do not have any control over that. The heroine is faced with tragedy, tough choices and revelations in this story which is sure to have a sequel coming soon. It quickly captures the readers imagination and attention, making it hard to put it down! And the reader is left waiting to find out what will happen next to Dru.

The book has certain similarities with other great YA novels such as the Twilight and Harry Potter series, yet it is uniquely its own. It is not for the faint of heart reader, but rather filled with action, anxiety, and wonderful characters and relationships. It is a great read that is sure to please the young and old readers alike!

posted by jandersson on April 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Okay

I thought it would be better, because of how many other people seemed to like it, but I felt let down. The main character was inconsistent, to me, in her personality, and there was the repetitive use of the word goddamit, and that got tiring. The plotline wasn't really ...
I thought it would be better, because of how many other people seemed to like it, but I felt let down. The main character was inconsistent, to me, in her personality, and there was the repetitive use of the word goddamit, and that got tiring. The plotline wasn't really great. I hope the next book is better.

posted by KJSutton on January 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 173 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted April 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read by a wonderful author

    Dru Anderson does not have any easy life. Despite being only sixteen-years old, she has seen and experienced more horrors than most people ever will. Her grandmother called it "the touch." Her sixth sense that lets her travel from city to city and hunt ghosts, suckers, wulfen, corpses- you name it! Not to mention her zombie father...
    Dru is introduced to two characters: Graves, a goth boy with a big crush on Dru; and Christophe, another kind of dangerous hunter that is very interested in Dru and her abilities. Together they will face off against an old enemy. The question is, can they find the one that hunts them and turn the tables in time to save their lives?

    This is the author's first young adult (YA) book. Having read all her other works, this one does not disappoint. It is seen through the eyes of a teenaged girl juggling too many problems to add romance to the list, but sometimes you do not have any control over that. The heroine is faced with tragedy, tough choices and revelations in this story which is sure to have a sequel coming soon. It quickly captures the readers imagination and attention, making it hard to put it down! And the reader is left waiting to find out what will happen next to Dru.

    The book has certain similarities with other great YA novels such as the Twilight and Harry Potter series, yet it is uniquely its own. It is not for the faint of heart reader, but rather filled with action, anxiety, and wonderful characters and relationships. It is a great read that is sure to please the young and old readers alike!

    23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    OMG!!! Best Book Ever.Love It. Great Sieries!!!!!!!

    This is a real thrilling book,I love how the author(Lili St. Crow) is not afraid to put her words on paper.Dru is just my favoite,she's not afraid to say what she's thinking.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    (Twilight Saga Forever) This book can hold its own!!!

    I Really like this book. I ended up reading it all in one sitting, I actually wasn't in store for this one but the cover caught my eye and figured what the heck. I haven't gotten so enthralled in book since the twilight saga. I can't wait for the second book in this series to come out.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing creative book!

    This book reminds me a lot of the televsion show called supernatural. I love the show and this book. A lot of books these days seem to be all about vampires but this book is more creative! I love it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good Story

    I can't wait until the second book comes out in Novemeber! I enjoyed it - and I am in my mid 30s!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A wonderful book that keeps you wanting more.

    This is one of the best books i have ever read. It has all the right things: its thrilling, interesting, crush, can't put down book, funny, edgy, exciting, etc.
    I can't wait for the next book to come out BETRAYALS.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Strange Angels is Awesome

    I had anticipated this book...I read the summary, loved it and went out and bought the book like a week or so after it came out...and immediately began to read it...and I loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVE IT!

    i really loved this book. It was great and i cant wait to read the next one!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A terrific young adult fantasy

    Sixteen years old Dru Anderson is used to traveling around; never staying in any place for more that a couple of months. Her father trained her as his sidekick killing deadly supernatural creatures and once the mission is accomplished the pair would pack up and move to the next monster nest; some of these otherworldly beasts have no English word. Her Granmama taught her mostly in dreams and occasional rare visits how to be spiritually psychically stout. As for her mom, there are the curls.-------

    Everything changed for Dru in the Dakotas the night her Granmama died. Dad acts strange as he goes out on the mission alone. When he fails to come back alive, Dru has to confront realities. The only two people in her life are dead within twenty-four hours of each other; and though she thought she was a pro at hunting, she realizes she knows nothing about what they hunted beyond her extrasensory gift of the "Touch" and even less about surviving in the mundane world. First she must live through the night as she knows mortal teen boys and creatures from beyond have caught her scent; she is not sure which is more dangerous to her existence, but then again there is her dad's killer stalking her too.----------

    The key to this terrific young adult fantasy is the supernatural creatures seem genuine with the representatives of a variety of species possessing differing personalities beyond just their basic "natural" needs. Dru is fabulous holding the story line together in a first person viewpoint as she is a typical teen with a special skill and a radically different childhood than the norm. Fans will admire Dru and her two new associates Christophe and Graves who risk all in a battle against deadly foes who should not exist in the wintry Dakotas.---------

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Good

    This is a very good book, i just wished she wouldve made is a book series like spread it out into more than one book. I would like to see what happen to them after

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    This is driving me crazy...

    I love this book, but I'm one of thos crazy geeks who is obssessed with romance and action at te same time. WHERE IS THE ROMACE? I see te action, but there is no romanceexct for the occasional smoldering look. Agn, awesome book, great read, looking forward to the next book!
    BTW; Team Christophe... :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    :D

    I love this series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    My opinion.

    This is one of the best series ive ever read. Im finishing up reckoning as we speak. I dont want it to end. I absoluteky love graves and christophe is simply an amazing character. Dru is one tough chick! If you liked twilght youll LOVE this. I recomend it. Its well worth the buy! This is a series youll want to go back to and read again:)) high praise for lili

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Vampire

    I loved the book because it had werwolfs and vampires

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    Zombies?

    This is a good book with Vampires and zombies!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    just finished this series..WONDERFUL !! I loved the writing styl

    just finished this series..WONDERFUL !! I loved the writing style. I can`t wait to read more by this author under the name Lilith Saintcrow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    ┬┐ber awesome

    This book is super duper good! There is a little bit of cussing but there is nothing outrageously inappropriate. This is a new idea and i think it is executed realy well and shows a new kind of charater. Dru is tough but by the end she isn't sure who she really is. This series is going to be a good one. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good paranormal book with just a little itty bitty microscopic sliver of romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Silvrerfur

    Im here! ~ silverfur

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    H

    Im here
    ~Amberclaw

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Great!

    This is my favorite series behind Vampire Academy. Dru is a total badass and I adore the love triangle. This series kept me guessing the whole time and I could not stop reading till I finished the series. Definitely make some time to read this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 173 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9