Customer Reviews for

Strange Angels (Strange Angels Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 328 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(173)

4 Star

(106)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Great read by a wonderful author

Dru Anderson does not have any easy life. Despite being only sixteen-years old, she has seen and experienced more horrors than most people ever will. Her grandmother called it "the touch." Her sixth sense that lets her travel from city to city and hunt ghosts, suckers, ...
Dru Anderson does not have any easy life. Despite being only sixteen-years old, she has seen and experienced more horrors than most people ever will. Her grandmother called it "the touch." Her sixth sense that lets her travel from city to city and hunt ghosts, suckers, wulfen, corpses- you name it! Not to mention her zombie father...
Dru is introduced to two characters: Graves, a goth boy with a big crush on Dru; and Christophe, another kind of dangerous hunter that is very interested in Dru and her abilities. Together they will face off against an old enemy. The question is, can they find the one that hunts them and turn the tables in time to save their lives?

This is the author's first young adult (YA) book. Having read all her other works, this one does not disappoint. It is seen through the eyes of a teenaged girl juggling too many problems to add romance to the list, but sometimes you do not have any control over that. The heroine is faced with tragedy, tough choices and revelations in this story which is sure to have a sequel coming soon. It quickly captures the readers imagination and attention, making it hard to put it down! And the reader is left waiting to find out what will happen next to Dru.

The book has certain similarities with other great YA novels such as the Twilight and Harry Potter series, yet it is uniquely its own. It is not for the faint of heart reader, but rather filled with action, anxiety, and wonderful characters and relationships. It is a great read that is sure to please the young and old readers alike!

posted by jandersson on April 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Okay

I thought it would be better, because of how many other people seemed to like it, but I felt let down. The main character was inconsistent, to me, in her personality, and there was the repetitive use of the word goddamit, and that got tiring. The plotline wasn't really ...
I thought it would be better, because of how many other people seemed to like it, but I felt let down. The main character was inconsistent, to me, in her personality, and there was the repetitive use of the word goddamit, and that got tiring. The plotline wasn't really great. I hope the next book is better.

posted by KJSutton on January 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 173 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Swearing

    I absolutely loved this book but my mom thought the swearing in the book was not appropriate for me so i had to stop... :-(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Fantastic!

    I literally could not put it down! I read it in nearly 3 hours, but thats cuz im a freaky fast reader. I definatly recomend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Jazzkike: loved it

    This book starts out a little slow but it is worth the wait. Once u get in to it. You will not be able to put it down.
    The main character Drew is sassy, tomboyish, unexpected, smart, tuff, and more. She will have you rutine for her every step of the way.
    If you combine:
    ZOMBIEZ+VAMPIRES+GHOST+MAGIC+WEREWOLVES+More= one awesome book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Of what i did read

    Of what this sample gave me i loved it ,very entertaining

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    Great!"!""!

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    Words of Wisdom

    Great book! You won't want to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another Must Read for Buffy Fans

    If you are a fan of the "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" television show, you are going to love this series by Lili St. Crow. This is not your typical girl has tradegy, enter boy, fall in love kind of story. This book (heck, the entire series!) is an action packed adventure., chock full of girl power. Fans of "The Vampire Academy" book series will appreciate the continuity of information St. Crow uses in her novels. You'll have to check out those books to to understand. Describing it may give away events related to this book, and I don't want to spoil the fun! St. Crow does a great job of getting the reader into the mind of main character, Dru Anderson. During a fight with whatever creature comes, the reader is treated to a play by play of commentary in the mind of Dru, complete with pep talks and witty comments. Lili St. Crow's writing style is simply one word . . . ADDICTIVE! I flew through these books like there was no tomorrow. The characters in the book(s) are genuine, and the interactions they have with each other are memorable. The twists and turns St. Crow incorporates into this series provide an enjoyable reading experience. I can totally and completely see this series becoming a television series, or possibly . . . a movie? A must have for any fan of the vampire genre. Pick up this book and get lost in the world of Dru Anderson, where your zombie turned father comes back to kill you, and you have to choose between a newly turned werewolf and a sexy half-breed vampire. Who will you choose? Team Christophe!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    Very very well done

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Thrilling!

    A thrilling story. A whirl-wind of emotions. And one tough chick.

    Dru Anderson has grown up tough. With her mom dying when she was five, she has traveled with her dad hunting things that shouldn't be real. Dru has what her grandmother calls "the touch" and Dru seems to be able to sense things that are happening. After something goes horrible wrong with her dad, Dru befriends Graves and Christophe in hopes finding out more about herself and well, keeping herself and her friends alive.

    This story was anything but rainbows and butterflies. It was raw, tough, and thrilling. There's constant action, always something lurking around the corner. Dru is so tough, she knows how to fight and shoot a gun, yet at the same time she's not afraid to cry.

    Along with Dru we have her only friend Graves, who she tried to constantly push away, and yet he stuck by her. He's a sweetheart, with bright green eyes that glow against half-asian skin. And we all know I have a weakness for green eyes :). Along with Graves we have another snack named Christophe, who is strong, cocky, and sexy, with bright sky blue eyes. I love the focus on the eyes, it's one of my favorite features.

    I loved the story and the character and am excited to find out more about Dru and her friends in Betrayals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    BEST SERIES EVER!!!!!

    This book had caught my eye and i was thimking oh this looks interesting....so i picked it up and started reading it and i felt like i was really there in every battle when ever Dru got hurt i would inhale deeply like it had happened to me and everything just came to life!!! If you like mystical creatures and lots of action and romance then this seriesbwas MADE for you!!!! I have every book thats out and waiting for the 5th one too.....i would recomend this to ANYONE i see!!!! I would have to say only one yes ONE kind of negative thing about the whole series (and thats 4 books and i cant wait until the 5th one comes out) is that it has cursing.....but its not like everyother word type of thing its here and there.....BUT i would still recomend it to ANYONE and EVERYONE!!!!!! Its a have to read type of a series so im begging you to read this series and i promise you that you'll LOVE it!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    wow

    i didnt buy it but I got it at the library. its great! interesting book. loven it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    Better than twilight!

    I absolutly love this series! its the perfect combination of were-wolf and Djamphir (half human-half vampire) action! i love the twilight series but after awhile it became predictiable, however in this book series just when you think you know whats going to happen the unexpected occurs. Overall this book is a great read, you wont want to put it down, i know i didnt ;) and you'll be begging for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    Many Actions that Will Draw U in!

    Lili Crow does a excellent job in putting a lot of details in the book, to the point where i tell myself when does the good part comes! stop giving details! lol.
    but when it comes to the action/fighting scenes in the book, the details really put u right into that spot! seriously, sitting in my room with my blanket i can feel the chilly cold weather that the character Dru experience in the novel too. The first book series is slow on the love chemistry, but thats why i already bought the next 2 books^^
    but this book is a must if u like the story to drag very long, but keeps u still attach to the book and feeling chilly and creep out when ur alone~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    I LOVED IT.

    This book was awesome. I loved all the characters and the whole thing was amazing. I was so happy to start the next one. I did and loved that one also. The ending is so good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2010

    Not so Strange.

    Loved it. That's all I can say. I'll add that the first few chapters were kinda slow but once you really get in it's the kinda book you can't put down till your finished. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2010

    very good book

    this book is delicious and refreshing to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2010

    I would absolutely recommend this book to everyone! You must read it!

    I'm a huge fan of fiction novels, like Vamp Academy, The Black Jewels Trilogy, and hundreds of others I just can't keep up with. I was a hair skeptical on the zombie factor at first, but this book is amazing and awesome! You're not going to want to put it down! It is sad beginning for Dru Anderson, but man can she kick A!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read!

    Dru is not your average girl. Dru and her father travel from town to town hiding away fighting the unseen. Dru life has been hard on her. She just wants a break. Then her fathers disappears returing as something else. What a way to live your life! This book was great. Action-packed, full of surprises and best of all a kick butt herione!




    The book was something out of this world. I enjoyed every single bit of it. The plot and the drama was a lot. Every page was definitely a pager turner only revealing more and more secrets. The paranornmal twist was great. I love The Orders and all the secrets it held.




    Dru was an amazingly great written character. Her rough stance, and rought life is well put together. I love her attitude and the way she handle things. Even at such a young age with plenty of break downs, she picked herself right back up and knew exactly what to do. I admire her greatly for that.




    There was one thing that did bother me. There was lots of cursing in this book. I mean lots. I think the book could have been just as great withhout it, but I can see how it did work well with her rough character. Other than that, the book is a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2010

    GREAT!!!!!!!!

    I started readin the 2nd book 2 this seris.I did that because i didnt know that their was a series 2 this.Well...the 'Strange Angles' is the 1st book waich is this book,of coures.Then it is 'Betrayals'.The 3rd book is 'Jealousy'.I read 1&2 because the 3rd isnt out yet.It comes out July 29,2010.Well....this book is Great.I just could not stop reading this book.I loved Graves,christophe,and dru's character.They are realistic,funny ,and cool.I love the fightin and action.It is really detail.I really recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This was a great supernatural book!

    I loved this book. Dru faces many problems like having to kill her zombie dad. The plot is very well put together and the character make you want to scream at them like they can hear you. If you enjoy nail chewing books that leave you speechless and begging more, you can't go wrong with this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 173 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9