Customer Reviews for

Strange Attractions

Average Rating 4.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A sizzler

In Mosswood near Seattle, B.G. Grantham is the world¿s leading quantum particles expert, but between his research leaps, he enjoys studying attraction and desire in human relationships. He selects subjects and has his sexual majordomo Eric Berne negotiates with the cho...
In Mosswood near Seattle, B.G. Grantham is the world¿s leading quantum particles expert, but between his research leaps, he enjoys studying attraction and desire in human relationships. He selects subjects and has his sexual majordomo Eric Berne negotiates with the chosen one............................. For the first time, B.G. surprises his employee, lover, and friend Eric by allowing him to choose between two viable subjects. Eric selects Charity Wills, but then raises the ante by telling B.G. the rules are no one gets off until the new subject arrives. Eric visits Charity at Future Tech where she works and makes a deal she cannot refuse. His boss will pay for her to attend Harvard if she willingly spends time at a sexual retreat with B.G and him; he also stipulates she can refuse to have sex and leave early if she feels uncomfortable. As B.G. works on Charity¿s inner desires, she is attracted to Eric, who surprises himself as he wants her and not just for a quickie. Still the bisexual Eric must decide between B.G. and his beloved as his employer has actually manipulated his desires in his latest human experiment..................................... STRANGE ATTRACTIONS is a strange erotic contemporary romance starring a couple odd male characters and a feisty female protagonist. The triangle is fun to follow as Eric finds himself yanked by love along two lines. Charity is a fine player who matches and raises her two ¿opponents¿ in a game of stud poker. Filled with profanity and hands on (literally) sexual encounters, XXX readers will enjoy this wild tale and want more from the master of quantum physics in which one does the act and then seeks the desire........................... Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Imperfect Delight

This story isn't perfect, far from it actually. The quantum mechanics subplot fell flat and came to no successful conclusion. She took some liberties with the particle accelerator but all that can be excused because obviously, this story's main purpose is to arouse, whi...
This story isn't perfect, far from it actually. The quantum mechanics subplot fell flat and came to no successful conclusion. She took some liberties with the particle accelerator but all that can be excused because obviously, this story's main purpose is to arouse, which it does pretty well. Like much erotic fiction, the premise is a stretch but it's a case of the ends justifying the means.

posted by Anonymous on September 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2008

    Imperfect Delight

    This story isn't perfect, far from it actually. The quantum mechanics subplot fell flat and came to no successful conclusion. She took some liberties with the particle accelerator but all that can be excused because obviously, this story's main purpose is to arouse, which it does pretty well. Like much erotic fiction, the premise is a stretch but it's a case of the ends justifying the means.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A sizzler

    In Mosswood near Seattle, B.G. Grantham is the world¿s leading quantum particles expert, but between his research leaps, he enjoys studying attraction and desire in human relationships. He selects subjects and has his sexual majordomo Eric Berne negotiates with the chosen one............................. For the first time, B.G. surprises his employee, lover, and friend Eric by allowing him to choose between two viable subjects. Eric selects Charity Wills, but then raises the ante by telling B.G. the rules are no one gets off until the new subject arrives. Eric visits Charity at Future Tech where she works and makes a deal she cannot refuse. His boss will pay for her to attend Harvard if she willingly spends time at a sexual retreat with B.G and him; he also stipulates she can refuse to have sex and leave early if she feels uncomfortable. As B.G. works on Charity¿s inner desires, she is attracted to Eric, who surprises himself as he wants her and not just for a quickie. Still the bisexual Eric must decide between B.G. and his beloved as his employer has actually manipulated his desires in his latest human experiment..................................... STRANGE ATTRACTIONS is a strange erotic contemporary romance starring a couple odd male characters and a feisty female protagonist. The triangle is fun to follow as Eric finds himself yanked by love along two lines. Charity is a fine player who matches and raises her two ¿opponents¿ in a game of stud poker. Filled with profanity and hands on (literally) sexual encounters, XXX readers will enjoy this wild tale and want more from the master of quantum physics in which one does the act and then seeks the desire........................... Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another excellent Emma Holly book

    I love all Emma Holly's books and this one is not exception. She's great at creating sensual, highly erotic situations and pulling the reader in. The side story about Quantum Physics does not detract from the romance and is intriguing as well. Great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2008

    HOT HOT HOT

    All i can say is WOW! This is my first novel by Emma Holly and i have to say if they're all as good as this i think i would want to give up my life and read 24/7!!! This explores relationships with males and females and male with male and what it would be like to have one big relationshop and it is very very intriguing!!!! WHAT A GREAT READ!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2013

    Suprising Read

    I was really pleased with this book, not what I expected. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Great Book

    Interesting character and story. Some of the technical stuff was boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    ooo-la-la

    i agree with the last poster! the story DID fall flat when E.H. attempted to use science in her plot. her talent lies in that which is carnal, not scientific and everytime i read a bit which made no sense scientifically, i was a bit turned off to her as an author. shortly thereafter though, i'd read a bit of kink and be excited all over again lol. ooo the lust this woman inspires is just amazing. i'd like to take a romp through her mind sometime ;)

    so please, just stick to the smut, ms. holly! you've never gone wrong there lol.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2006

    TOO over the top!!!!

    when I read the back cover of the book, I was lead to believe that this was more of a story for BG. but I was VERY wrong. the story took a few twists and turns I could have done without (mystery and possible espionage in the mansion) which I think was a waste. the ending was something that was WAY to hard for anyone to believe. I have (in the past) enjoyed holly's books but after reading this one I think that I will drop her from my reading list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2005

    Erotica at it's best!!

    Who would'nt love this book. Best erotica I have ever read. I love how Emma holly gets right to the point from chapter 1, page 1 it just oozes erotica. I cant say enough about this book. Once you start reading you wont be able to put it down. I will definately be reading the rest of her books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2005

    amazingly yummy

    Strange Attractions was erotically charged and sensual from page one. I picked up the book and couldn't put it down! Make sure you clear your slate for day for great, uninterrupted reading. Then, have your spouse handy. You'll need it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2004

    It¿s All About Pleasing and Being Pleasured¿

    My initial thoughts once I realized BG ¿ ¿Benjamin¿, the self proclaimed and acknowledged ¿Master¿ researcher of human desire and quantum physics - conducted gratifying sexual `tests¿ with men and women involving multiple bisexual partners, cameras, adult toys, I thought of a modern day `Caligula¿ scenario. However, once Emma Holly developed and elucidated compassion towards each character (especially BG), I became enthralled. The story is more dripping wet erotica (sex, sex and more sex) versus romance (focusing more on plots developing into a meaningful relationship between heroine and hero). The familiar themes dealing with built up sexual tension and repressed expressions of love coupled with the need for release soared high ¿ regardless of the orientation of the recipient and method of release. The baser ¿strange¿ ambiance swirling around human DESIRE and NEED ¿ to unconditionally love and be loved ¿ won out. So forgive me for appearing totally carnal minded, BUT¿Good golly Ms. Holly! If you enjoyed Ms. Holly¿s ¿Ménage¿, you will surely enjoy this. Although I missed the sensual spontaneous role playing of ¿Ménage¿, I enjoyed BG¿s mystery mansion and gentle seductiveness; Charity¿s wittiness, maturity and level headedness in decision making; Eric¿s honesty with his sexuality and feelings of love; and the remaining characters¿ realistic personalities / individuality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2004

    Another excellent read from Emma Holly

    Emma Holly sets her new book STRANGE ATTRACTIONS in Seattle, WA and uses Quantum Physics as the background. No need to be scared ¿ you need know NOTHING of quantum anything to read this book. The heroine ¿ Charity Wells ¿ is a high school dropout who receives an offer to have her college education paid for in exchange for living for several months at the Seattle area estate of a rather unusual scientist who is working with quantum physics. Of course, there is more to the plot that little sentence, but for readers familiar with Emma¿s work, I¿m pretty sure you can figure out the rest. I wasn¿t sure I liked this book when I finished, so I waited a few days, and re-read it. STRANGE ATTRACTIONS reminds me more of BEYOND INNOCENCE then any of the Black Lace books, although it¿s closer to the Black Lace books in its premise. There is plenty of hot, steamy sex, but Emma Holly has taken the sexual encounters and infused them with strong emotional content. From the advertised plot of the book, I was mentally geared for a Black Lace type read ¿ well written, but not heavy on the emotional connection between the characters. I think that is why I had to read it a second time to decide I really enjoyed it. The main characters ¿ Charity, B.G. and Eric have strong emotional connections to each other - some were in place when the story began, and are revealed through the story, while other connections begin and continue to develop as we read. In my opinion, Ms. Holly has gifted us with a book that over time will be regarded as a classic. She builds and reveals interpersonal relationships throughout the book, and somehow brings that together seamlessly with the intense, steamy, erotic loves scenes we have come to expect from her writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2004

    flawless multi-point of view writing is dynamite!

    You never quite know what to expect from Emma Holly, which is obviously her intent. She is a writer that continually fascinates me. I don't choose erotic fiction as a matter of routine, because honestly, most of it fails to deliver on the one level I want most - makes me care about the characters. Recently in a debate about the levels of sexuality in Romance in general, some came down on the side of sizzling hot, some for chaste Regency Romances. I said, 'Frankly, I don't care which road you ask me to travel; tell a good story, and I will enjoy it.' And for me, that is so true. I enjoy Sandra Heath Regency tales as much as I enjoy Angela Knight or Emma Holly, two of the red-hot sizzling writers of today. Why Holly continually leads me down roads I'd travel less is she starts with the most important ingredient: characters. She creates very human, very alive people, reaches in and grabs your heart, and then proceeds to push emotional and physical boundaries like no other writer around. Once again, with her newest work, Strange Attractions, Holly delivers up a spicy, but emotional dish. An O.T.T. scientist is obsessed with knowing the why of everything. And the most elusive why to him is emotional response and feelings. When he is not being this era's Albert Einstein, Grantham unwinds by playing games with people - his very own human Kens and Barbies, trying to figure out what makes them react as they do. A one man Think Tank, B.G. Grantham very selectively chooses his candidates, looking for people that are strong willed, but flawed. His right hand is Eric Berne - Grantham's Man Friday and Ken doll rolled into one. It's time for Grantham to unwind from his more earth-saving pursuits, so he sends Eric out to find a new subject. Eric has chosen sexy, wisecracking Charity Willis. Charity immediately wins the readers over. She is a gal who loves being a woman, short skirt, tight tops. Coming from a less than spotless background of a mother who moved about, and 'uncles' who moved in and out of Charity's life with the regularity of the Navy, Charity has learn to protect herself. She is wound, yet resilient; she won't take gruff from people who mistake her delight in being sexy as a come on to any Tom, Dick and Harry. But life has not given Charity any breaks. She means well, but she's been fire from more jobs than she had 'uncles'. She's bright, but little applies herself, because what's the point? Charity has seen Eric around the offices where she works, Future-Tech, even had the strange sensation he was following her on several occasions. She is attracted to the sexy man, but feels that a man like him would be interested in a girl like her for only one reason. When she's called to the personnel office, she at first fears getting fired for perpetually being late. She is ushered into the office by Eric who says he has a proposal for her. Charity steels herself for the usual, and is ready to put him in his place. Instead, Eric tells about his employer, how he likes to study people, their pleasure, what makes them tick and offers her the job of being Grantham's personal Barbie Doll for a period, after which they will pay for her college education, see she gets a good position with a job that has a future. After hearing the terms of the contract, Charity agrees feeling life has never given her a chance to get ahead before. Since the contract spells out that anytime she feels uncomfortable with Grantham's requests, she just has to say the word, they will bring her back to her home and the contract will end, Charity thinks she has nothing to lose. So begins the journey of education of this touching brave young woman, that leaves the reader spellbound, with Eric as her guide. A modern twist, a cross between Svengali and My Fair Lady, done as only Holly can do. She strongly, flawlessly uses Multi-POV (point of view) to keep the reader attuned to all her characters inner emotions. Simply put, Emma Holly told me a good story and I

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2004

    Very Good Erotica

    Strange Attractions is one of the better books of erotica I have read lately (and there is getting to be more good stuff out there). There was lots of sex in this book, but the characters and plot were interesting too, which is not always the case with books of erotica. I did think it was a bit graphic at times, but for the most part in good taste. I recommend this book to women who love romance that is extra hot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2