Customer Reviews for

Strange Candy

Average Rating 4
( 152 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

a reviewer

This fourteen short story fantasy collection showcases Laurell K. Hamilton¿s dark humor and strong female characters. Six are brand new three were published in 1989 four in 1990s and one in 2005. The first tale, ¿Those by Themselves¿ is an Anita Blake story back ...
This fourteen short story fantasy collection showcases Laurell K. Hamilton¿s dark humor and strong female characters. Six are brand new three were published in 1989 four in 1990s and one in 2005. The first tale, ¿Those by Themselves¿ is an Anita Blake story back in her early days when she was an unconfident inexperienced rookie and the Hamilton-Blake mythos had not quite developed for followers of the executioner this will be fun culture shock as she has come a long way baby. Three of the contributions are set in the sword-and-sorcery realm of NIGHTSEER (the author¿s first novel from the earl 1999s). The compilation is solid with most of the stories great fun. Fans of Ms. Hamilton and anyone who appreciate her dark droll fantasies will want to read this delightful anthology.------------------------- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Overpriced for 192 pages

My fault I should have review the book before purchasing, if I had I would have skipped this book and went on to the next one. The short stories were good but I think they should not have been added as one of the books to the Anita Blake Vampire Series.

posted by 4138566 on October 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 152 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    Overpriced for 192 pages

    My fault I should have review the book before purchasing, if I had I would have skipped this book and went on to the next one. The short stories were good but I think they should not have been added as one of the books to the Anita Blake Vampire Series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Not what I expected

    For those who are Anita Blake fans, you'll find a couple of stories in this, but the rest are different short stories and I found very few interesting or intriguing enough to recommend this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Heavy on the Ish.

    I love* Laurell K. Hamilton's series (Anita Blake, Meredith Gentry) so I grabbed just for the heck of it. Three or four cought my eye, but the rest were okay. Ish. -- Heavy on the ish. Not bad, but not very memorable either. It was stuck in passive tense which really annoyed me. (It had been a.. She had gone to..) I cought myself constantley changing it in my mind. I just read this book a few days ago and there are onlly a handful I even remember; a triton, vampire real estate, one about geese, magicians, and one mentioning Jean - Claude. But that's all I really remember. I was a little disappointed, but not entirely. It's one of those that you have to read, just 'cause, but it's nothing to get excited about. I guess I could recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a reviewer

    This fourteen short story fantasy collection showcases Laurell K. Hamilton¿s dark humor and strong female characters. Six are brand new three were published in 1989 four in 1990s and one in 2005. The first tale, ¿Those by Themselves¿ is an Anita Blake story back in her early days when she was an unconfident inexperienced rookie and the Hamilton-Blake mythos had not quite developed for followers of the executioner this will be fun culture shock as she has come a long way baby. Three of the contributions are set in the sword-and-sorcery realm of NIGHTSEER (the author¿s first novel from the earl 1999s). The compilation is solid with most of the stories great fun. Fans of Ms. Hamilton and anyone who appreciate her dark droll fantasies will want to read this delightful anthology.------------------------- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    I was skeptical at first about this purchase. Anita Blake is my

    I was skeptical at first about this purchase. Anita Blake is my favorite character and I was concerned that I wouldn't enjoy Hamilton's works outside of Blake's world. I'm please to say my fears were unfounded, her dark sense of humor translates and transforms in each story. I found myself wanting all of the shorts to carry on, these characters captivated me right away. I hope she will publish another compilation of short stories soon!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2014

    Alex

    You on

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2014

    Lexi

    ARGH! GTG BBL.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    Deadstar

    Is this your den Midnightstar?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Oakkit

    Pads out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    Liv post post post post post

    What true

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    Lauren to Liv post post post post post post post post

    Kayden wanta u to go to next res

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    Kayden post post post poat post post post

    Is it true liv?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    I &hearts it

    Its amazig.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    A Strangely Twisting Story<^>♛Chapter One♛ "Harvest"

    &#9813Okay this is my first thriller story so dont judge. If you like the Hunger Games & Kingdom Hearts this is your kind of story. If not, read at your own risk. Enjoy!!!!!&#9813<p>I walk through SectorThree, scrunching up my nose at the smell of dead bodies, stepping over people who died who knows how long ago. There are three sectors between Sector Five, where I live & Sector One, where I work. So, every day, I trudge unhappily through Sectors Two, Three & Four, my nose almost always pinched shut. It's bad enough going through once, but twice is enough to gag a burrfly.<p>I dont't have much time so I'll be short in my explantions. Four hundred years ago, World War III, the nuclear war everyone had been dreading, hit. The radiation from the numerous nuclear bombs wiped out almost all life. The few survivors were all North America inhabitants. The intense radiation forced them to seek shelter deep undeground. Two hundred years later, the surface was suitable for sustaning life. However, a side effet of the massive radiation waves was that the atmosphere was now messed up so that when a plant, animal or person died, they didn't decay. They just laid there. People began work to clear away enough bodies for everyone to return to the surface. Soon, enough bodies were cleared away by burning & burying. The Privimel Council, our government, created a shining center city of luxury surrouded by shining walls. No filth entered there. The five Sectors were then set up around Privimel City. To honor our ancestors who cleared away bodies to make the surface liveable, every year five boys & five girls were chosen from each Sector in an annual selection ceremony called "The Harvest." These fifty young people, called "The Harvested," were to go out past our protected nation of Kerredan(car–uh–dun) & clean out bodies through burning & burial for two years. At the end of those two years, the ones still alive would return home & live richly forever in Privimel City. Neither my father nor my step-mother were chosen. Now, it is time for The 200th Annual Harvest. And this time, I am eligble, along with all my siblings.<p>I have five anoying older step-brothers: twins Karrden & Christweln, both 19; Jaedeng, 17; Brandray, 16 & Mexiel, 15. I also have four equally annoying older step-sisters; Chefren, 25; twins Amerianga & Xeminala, 20; & Aslenj, 18. Ny name is Zexia & I'm fourteen.<p>Anyways, I get to our house about fifteen minutes before The Harvest. "Hurry & get dressed Zexia." My step-mother snaps irritably. Ugh. She's in one of those "i will have nothing to do with Zexia" moods. Means i get to curl my hip length hair all by myself. I riffle through the few desses in my closet & settle on a shimmery rose-colored one with matching low heeled shoes. I quckly curl my long blonde hair. A dash of lipstick. At The Harvest, the annoucer, Jenessa, tiptoes to the mirophone like she's excited. As if. "Ladies first." She bubbles. She reads four names I don't know. But the fifth sends everything spinning. "Zexia Jengast."<p>&#9813 Hope you liked it. Chapter Two will be out soon at 'twisting' first res.&#9813<p>Yours truly,&#9825KHfan4ever&#9825

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    These short, dark stories reminded me of why I love Hamilton's w

    These short, dark stories reminded me of why I love Hamilton's writing. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    GOOD READ!!

    SOME OF LAURELL HAMILTONS SHORT STORIES IN ONE! LETS YOU KNOW WHAT OTHER IDEAS SHE HAD RUNNING THROUGH HER HEAD!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Ty to miranda

    Hi

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Jane

    Is leaving

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Ruby

    Im sick.. i have the flu

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Gillian

    Helo?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 152 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8