Customer Reviews for

The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr Hyde

Average Rating 4
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

the horror hits you afterwards

'Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde' is very well-written and intriguing. The true horror of the tale is not so much the fate of the experimental Dr. Jekyll as a result of his tampering with his soul, but rather the chilling possibilty presented to the reader that if he or she had...
'Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde' is very well-written and intriguing. The true horror of the tale is not so much the fate of the experimental Dr. Jekyll as a result of his tampering with his soul, but rather the chilling possibilty presented to the reader that if he or she had the same opportunity for evil, the story might well be the same. This novella left me wondering if the potential for such evil as is present in Mr. Hyde really exists in the recesses of everyone's soul. The creepiness of this tale isn't strongly present during the reading of it, but upon contemplating it afterwards, the eeriness sets in.

posted by Anonymous on July 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Opinion of a student...

I'm 14 years old, and recently had to read Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde for my English assignment. The assignment was comparing this fiction text, to a non-fiction text about crimes in a similar era. I think that Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde was good for this assignment, however it w...
I'm 14 years old, and recently had to read Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde for my English assignment. The assignment was comparing this fiction text, to a non-fiction text about crimes in a similar era. I think that Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde was good for this assignment, however it was a bit too slow moving for me.

posted by Anonymous on December 18, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2008

    the horror hits you afterwards

    'Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde' is very well-written and intriguing. The true horror of the tale is not so much the fate of the experimental Dr. Jekyll as a result of his tampering with his soul, but rather the chilling possibilty presented to the reader that if he or she had the same opportunity for evil, the story might well be the same. This novella left me wondering if the potential for such evil as is present in Mr. Hyde really exists in the recesses of everyone's soul. The creepiness of this tale isn't strongly present during the reading of it, but upon contemplating it afterwards, the eeriness sets in.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2002

    Opinion of a student...

    I'm 14 years old, and recently had to read Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde for my English assignment. The assignment was comparing this fiction text, to a non-fiction text about crimes in a similar era. I think that Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde was good for this assignment, however it was a bit too slow moving for me.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    not my type...

    Too many errors and many spelling errors. Could not get through this book.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Half of the words are messed up!

    It says stuff like chapter 18* chApER 1% and crap like that,atleast on mine.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Read before seeing the musical production!

    I had an invitation to see Jeckyl and Hyde the musical production that is on its way to Broadway. I wanted to review the story before I went. I was really happy that I read the book as it gave me great insight into the plot of the production. The production was quite different that the synopsis of the book. The Nook book was easy to navigate and I enjoyed reading the Old English literary style.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stev

    The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson may have a long title, but it's a short book to read.

    The Strange Case is about the duality of man: good versus evil, and how everyone has that inside of them.

    Mr. Utterson, the lawyer, finds it odd that his good friend Dr. Jekyll has amended his will in order to leave everything to Mr. Hyde. This is strange because Mr. Hyde is an unappealing man, possibly deformed, not to mention evil, having caused major disturbances and a horrific crime.

    Dr. Jekyll won't get into his relationship with Mr. Hyde, but Mr. Utterson is going to get down to the bottom of the situation eventually!

    I really enjoyed this book. It was short, and while I kind of knew what the premise was, there were pieces I did not know, which made it a better read. You should read it if you enjoy classics, a little bit of horror, and short novels!

    Everyone has good and evil inside of them, and most people work on a balance between the two, shifting more to the good side than the evil side.

    But what if those two sides could be separated?

    Would you want to separate your good side and evil side into two separate people?

    Thanks for reading,

    Rebecca @ Love at First Book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Love it but hate it

    I love the story, but for some reason a lot of the words are gibberish. Like the word "protege" is spelled "prot^g^."
    D

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Scary

    I liked it but i'm gonna sleep with the lights on tonight.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Abridged

    The original is good. This isjt. Its abridged

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2003

    GREAT BOOK!!

    im a 14 year old who read this book over the summer for high school next year. I thought it was one of the better books i have read. I would recommend this book to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    Good story but this edition garbled

    This ebook was clearly not created by a human. The text is garbled.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Chilling and NOT dumb

    This is an amazing book about the good and evil sides in a man. It was wonderfully creepy and made me think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Dumb

    Dumb

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Unreadable

    Too many errors make this copy unreadable.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    Very good read, ebook copy missing last few pages

    Overall, this is a very good read, rather short, but it held my interest.

    The nookbook version however, is missing the last three or four odd pages as in, instead of something like 156 157 158, the pages appear as 156 and 158. This does not, however interfere with the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Awesome

    Horrific but not d same as d original the strange case of dr.jekyll and mr.hyde

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2006

    Outstanding!!!!!

    this book shows what good and evil are. I impressed a lot from this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2003

    Well Written

    Conscience impedes our sinful desires. Yet, at some time or another, we all wish to indulge (and sometimes do), while our moral and ethical nature attempts to prohibit us. If we could do so vicariously through another, unrecognizable body, we might permit ourselves to these gratifications. Robert Louis Stevenson explores this concept in Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde. I thoroughly enjoyed the book because of its concise, conclusive nature. It avoids extensive detail and description, sticking to the mystery and plot. The upper level language is copious, but brilliantly implemented, and most can be derived from the context. As a result, the book takes longer than one would originally anticipate for completion, but the reader will not be bored; thus they will not notice this extra time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2003

    Wonderful Mystery!!

    Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde is a beautifully written, highly entertaining mystery. I highly recommend this book if you enjoy thrilling action and a philosophical plot. Known as a classic tale, this story explores the struggles between good and evil that exist in the minds of every member of mankind. Despite uses of sophisticated language in the text, I would suggest this story to readers of nearly all ages. Not only is it a quick read, the suspenseful actions of the plot are presented very directly and avoid wordiness. The universal ideas and ingenious organization of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde create an exceptional, mysterious story not to be forgotten on the lists of classics. Frankly, you won¿t want to put the book down!! The concepts in this tale travel beyond the words printed on the page; Steven expresses the profound idea of the contrasting nature of man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2003

    Jekkyl and Hyde, two men trapped in one body.

    Jekkyl is a man who is damned to live a life of murder and horror as a monster known as Edward Hyde. I love this book. This Halloween, I am choosing to go as Jekkyl and Hyde. If you like theatre, I recommend getting the Jekkyl and Hyde soundtrack. This is the classic tale of Good vs. Evil.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5