BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde and Other Stories (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 315 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(96)

4 Star

(108)

3 Star

(68)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

.

I have the regular book at home. Its cheaper and better on a nook. The book is haunting and suspensful, making it an awsome read. And don't think 'oh this is too hard for me to understand' beacuse I'm only 12 and love this book and has to explain Edgar Allen Poe to my 1...
I have the regular book at home. Its cheaper and better on a nook. The book is haunting and suspensful, making it an awsome read. And don't think 'oh this is too hard for me to understand' beacuse I'm only 12 and love this book and has to explain Edgar Allen Poe to my 17 year old sister.
And if its still to hard to understand....theres a dictionary to help you.

posted by 14089268 on May 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

HORRIBLE! THUMBS-DOWN FOR B&N CLASSICS!!!

I purchased this book at a retail store so that my son could read it over the summer break. Well, when he actually got around to reading it, we realized the book was bound wrong! The pages jump from 18 to 116, and then back down to the 80's. I tried returning it, but be...
I purchased this book at a retail store so that my son could read it over the summer break. Well, when he actually got around to reading it, we realized the book was bound wrong! The pages jump from 18 to 116, and then back down to the 80's. I tried returning it, but because it was more than 14 days since the purchase, they refused! What a waste of money! I will never buy a Barnes and Noble Classics again! They took my money and refused to replace the book, even though it is unreadable! Shame on BARNES AND NOBLE!!!!!!!

posted by Angry_Mom on August 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 319 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    .

    I have the regular book at home. Its cheaper and better on a nook. The book is haunting and suspensful, making it an awsome read. And don't think 'oh this is too hard for me to understand' beacuse I'm only 12 and love this book and has to explain Edgar Allen Poe to my 17 year old sister.
    And if its still to hard to understand....theres a dictionary to help you.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2010

    Very good horror classic

    Again, a classic. I do love my classics, and I'll post this review just in case someone wants to know my opinion.

    As the title indicates, this book is a collection of Stevenson's short stories, the main one being Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde. The story begins with the protagonist, Mr. Utterson, discovering a creature known as Mr. Hyde committing certain atrocities. He further investigates and links the man to his good friend, Dr. Jekyll. He soon discovers that Dr. Jekyll has succeeded in creating an alter ego in Mr. Hyde that allows him to seperate his good and evil inclinations and house them in seperate bodies. What happens next is truly horrifying, but you must read the book to find out; I'm afraid I may give too much away if I keep explaining. I must admit that I have not read Stevenson before, and I was pleasantly surprised by his ability to depict horror without boring or disgusting me, as modern horror literature often seems to do. For those who enjoy mild horror, not quite Poe-level, Stevenson would be a good fit.

    The other stories are quite good, although none as good as Dr. Jekyll, in my opinion. One story in particular that I did enjoy was The Misadventures of John Nicholson. I was quite amused by the many misfortunes that the poor protagonist had to suffer through; it would be perfect for those looking for a quick and light read. A Lodging for the Night was also funny, but in a more satirical way. My only complaint would be the dialect used in Thrawn Janet, it was difficult to decipher at times, especially with the additional slang terms. But otherwise, I really enjoyed this collection of short stories and would recomment them to everyone.

    If you would like to read more of my reviews, please visit my blog at ayushi30.blogspot.com

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Classic Science Fiction

    A classic book, that should be part of anyone's permanent library. "Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde" is an excellent short story. Perfect for summer reading, in-between homework (when you just need a break), or during breaks at work. Perfect for anyone, including stay-at-home moms!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Psychological Novel

    Robert Louis Stevenson's 'Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde' is both a brilliant thriller and a psychological novel that explores the darkest aspects of the human psyche.

    The B&N edition is particulary great for students due to its low cost and the excellent introduction and text notes. Like 'Frankenstein' and 'Dracula', 'Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde' was written during the Victorian Age in England. As the introduction notes, many discoveries in science and modern medicine occured during this time period. Jekyll and Hyde reflect both the excitement of new discoveries and the dangers of intellectual pride.

    Although Jekyll and Hyde has been portrayed many times in film, the original story is just as exciting, and ultimately tragic.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    recommended

    like it so far good classics

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent story, even better publication.

    When reviewing a classic such as "The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde", there really isn't much need in actually reviewing the book, because you know it will be an amazing story. With that, this story is very fascinating. I adore the relationship between Mr. Utterson and Dr. Jekyll, within the story you can see the true concern that Mr. Utterson has for Dr. Jekyl, It is personified in this part of the book, "'Jekyll,' said Utterson, "You know me: I am a man to be trusted. Make a clean breast out of this in confidence, and I make no doubt that I can get you out of it.", This really shows that Utterson would do anything to get Dr. Jekyll away from Mr. Hyde, and this can easily be translated into modern times. It can remind me of a scenario when a close friend of yours gets involved with drugs, You can do anything to get them away from it, your scared it will consume them, and in many cases it will. This truly is an excellent book. As a bonus, this book also contains "The Body Snatcher", "A lodging for the night", "The Suicide Club", "Thrawn Janet" and "Markheim", all excellent classics by R.L Stevenson.
    With that, I am really loving these Barnes and Noble Classics! They have commentary and a wealth of information about the author, impact of the story and many other things. Not to mention the overall print is very nice, for the price, these are certainly some of the best editions of classics that are available.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Highly unique

    A must-read title; not only a classic, but also an opportunity to enhance your literature and personal library. Due to its size, I found it quite comfortable for almost any occasion.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2006

    Wholesome, Undetailed, Mysterious Goodness!

    I found this book, which I read for a book report, to be very suspensful and a good read overall. I usually like to read books with a lot of details given, so I thought, when I first started reading the novel at least, that I would not like the book.However Stevenson uses a lack of details, such as peoples' inability to physically describe Hyde, to create an aura of evilness around Hyde, and to build suspense in the novel. I also like the fact that Robert Stevenson includes the narratives of both Lanyon and Jekyll, to give the story more than one point of view.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    I remembered reading Mr. Stevenson's adventures years ago and li

    I remembered reading Mr. Stevenson's adventures years ago and liking them, so it wasn't a surprise that I liked these stories as well. In fact, it was a real treat to finally find authentic suspense stories that require the lights be left on afterwards.
    Unlike many, Dr. Jekyll wasn't my favorite, possibly because of familiarity, and possibility because it is a tale of good and evil, not the supernatural. Thrawn Janet, on the other hand, is written in Scottish and in order to follow, every word counts, and that makes the suspense oh so much more penetrating. What a tale that would be in an old inn with a darkened room and fireplace blazing....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Kept me intrigued all the way.. Want to read again!

    This book is such a fantastic classic. Dr.Jekyll and Mr.hyde is a short story they may confuse at times but will never bore you. The science fiction used set in London in the nineteeth century makes it even more mysterious. Robert stevenson did a spectacular job with this story and the rest of his other works in this book. Including The Suicide Club which my 2nd fav in this book. I highly reccomend this to be read, even if it was one of my summer readings it is truly a great piece to be read by modern readers!!! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It feels presumptuous to be "Reviewing" Stevenson's no

    It feels presumptuous to be "Reviewing" Stevenson's novel. While we might argue that writing a novel was harder then or today, writers like Stevenson shaped the legacy of novel and it's effect in our world (at the very least in English-speaking countries). While this might remind the modern readers of many other successful books of this genre, however THIS IS THE ORIGINAL NOVEL THAT HAS INSPIRED ALL OTHERS.

    Dr.Jekyll and Hyde is a psychological thriller that is set in Victorian England when many scientific discoveries were being made, in which literally made Science feel like magic in late 1880's. Things that seemed impossible, out of the hands and reach of man, skills belonging to the realm of God became to be believed, practiced and owned by the masses. Such enormous changes in technology altered expectations and changes in societies in which made the individuals of the said societies feel out of place, left behind, and in a struggle to catch up. Quite literally, this novel is inspired by the science or magic question and the effects of such new discoveries; Dr. Jekyll and Mr.Hyde's story is one that feels magical, distorted, disturbing and a cautionary tale of how such discoveries can and eventually will corrode away our sense of selves and morals.
    Stevenson quite literally launched a whole new canon we know of today with this novel. Although the modern reader might feel that this topic is overdone, and the plot counter-intuitive, however, it was unprecedented in his day and as such is the brilliance of Stevenson. The theme that every man has two sides (one ugly, one innocent) and the schizophrenic patients, double and or secret identities was unprecedented in his day and inspired many novels and books, movies and etc., today (while consciously or unconsciously). The book really delves down into the human soul, psyche and how such new discoveries can shape, change men. Dr.Jekyll is a cautionary tale for the scientific man, who messes up with the nature of humanity, therefore ending up deforming both his body and corrupting his morals, he loses both himself and the respect he has gained as being a man of learned studies. He is "punished" for his atrocities against the nature of God.
    Although written so long ago and the modern reader might have a difficulty with the jargon and might have to stall their reading due to the style, syntax and diction of the novel, it is well worth the effort to go through book. Regardless of such challenges of the book the modern reader is easily able to locate literary elements, feel a sense of familiarity and continue to analyze without a difficulty of the characters, motives, plot and the themes which are quite literally duplicated by other writers expanding into today.
    This is a well recommended book which will both expand your horizons and really take you back to the beginning of the such canon and give an in-depth understanding to the modern reader that is unavailable in our books today. This is how it all began and Stevenson does this so well.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    HORRIBLE! THUMBS-DOWN FOR B&N CLASSICS!!!

    I purchased this book at a retail store so that my son could read it over the summer break. Well, when he actually got around to reading it, we realized the book was bound wrong! The pages jump from 18 to 116, and then back down to the 80's. I tried returning it, but because it was more than 14 days since the purchase, they refused! What a waste of money! I will never buy a Barnes and Noble Classics again! They took my money and refused to replace the book, even though it is unreadable! Shame on BARNES AND NOBLE!!!!!!!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2014

    Okay, not great

    This was better in the movies I was lead to believe this was going to be a dark,creepy story but really it was more like an outline for a bigger better story...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    A little bit better than what I have been reading lately.

    Not much action and a lot of talking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Classically wonderfull

    Great ebook version

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    12345678910

    Sexy& HOT

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    Not pleased

    I have read this book before in my Literature class. And I do not recommend it. In fact, I cannot say I recommend any books by Robert Louis Stevenson. I have also read another book of his, Treasure Island. I honestly hated them both.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Good for a required reading

    I didn't love it, but compared to all the other books on my summer reading, this one was by far the best. A quick, fairly simple read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    A Classic

    I am not sure how I thought the story would be, having heard and seen so many variations of the theme. It ended up being one that was a surprisingly human story. This Strange Case is worth your time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 319 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16