Customer Reviews for

The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde and Other Stories (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 317 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(97)

4 Star

(108)

3 Star

(69)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

.

I have the regular book at home. Its cheaper and better on a nook. The book is haunting and suspensful, making it an awsome read. And don't think 'oh this is too hard for me to understand' beacuse I'm only 12 and love this book and has to explain Edgar Allen Poe to my 1...
I have the regular book at home. Its cheaper and better on a nook. The book is haunting and suspensful, making it an awsome read. And don't think 'oh this is too hard for me to understand' beacuse I'm only 12 and love this book and has to explain Edgar Allen Poe to my 17 year old sister.
And if its still to hard to understand....theres a dictionary to help you.

posted by 14089268 on May 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

HORRIBLE! THUMBS-DOWN FOR B&N CLASSICS!!!

I purchased this book at a retail store so that my son could read it over the summer break. Well, when he actually got around to reading it, we realized the book was bound wrong! The pages jump from 18 to 116, and then back down to the 80's. I tried returning it, but be...
I purchased this book at a retail store so that my son could read it over the summer break. Well, when he actually got around to reading it, we realized the book was bound wrong! The pages jump from 18 to 116, and then back down to the 80's. I tried returning it, but because it was more than 14 days since the purchase, they refused! What a waste of money! I will never buy a Barnes and Noble Classics again! They took my money and refused to replace the book, even though it is unreadable! Shame on BARNES AND NOBLE!!!!!!!

posted by Angry_Mom on August 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    .

    I have the regular book at home. Its cheaper and better on a nook. The book is haunting and suspensful, making it an awsome read. And don't think 'oh this is too hard for me to understand' beacuse I'm only 12 and love this book and has to explain Edgar Allen Poe to my 17 year old sister.
    And if its still to hard to understand....theres a dictionary to help you.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Classic Science Fiction

    A classic book, that should be part of anyone's permanent library. "Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde" is an excellent short story. Perfect for summer reading, in-between homework (when you just need a break), or during breaks at work. Perfect for anyone, including stay-at-home moms!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Psychological Novel

    Robert Louis Stevenson's 'Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde' is both a brilliant thriller and a psychological novel that explores the darkest aspects of the human psyche.

    The B&N edition is particulary great for students due to its low cost and the excellent introduction and text notes. Like 'Frankenstein' and 'Dracula', 'Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde' was written during the Victorian Age in England. As the introduction notes, many discoveries in science and modern medicine occured during this time period. Jekyll and Hyde reflect both the excitement of new discoveries and the dangers of intellectual pride.

    Although Jekyll and Hyde has been portrayed many times in film, the original story is just as exciting, and ultimately tragic.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent story, even better publication.

    When reviewing a classic such as "The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde", there really isn't much need in actually reviewing the book, because you know it will be an amazing story. With that, this story is very fascinating. I adore the relationship between Mr. Utterson and Dr. Jekyll, within the story you can see the true concern that Mr. Utterson has for Dr. Jekyl, It is personified in this part of the book, "'Jekyll,' said Utterson, "You know me: I am a man to be trusted. Make a clean breast out of this in confidence, and I make no doubt that I can get you out of it.", This really shows that Utterson would do anything to get Dr. Jekyll away from Mr. Hyde, and this can easily be translated into modern times. It can remind me of a scenario when a close friend of yours gets involved with drugs, You can do anything to get them away from it, your scared it will consume them, and in many cases it will. This truly is an excellent book. As a bonus, this book also contains "The Body Snatcher", "A lodging for the night", "The Suicide Club", "Thrawn Janet" and "Markheim", all excellent classics by R.L Stevenson.
    With that, I am really loving these Barnes and Noble Classics! They have commentary and a wealth of information about the author, impact of the story and many other things. Not to mention the overall print is very nice, for the price, these are certainly some of the best editions of classics that are available.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    I remembered reading Mr. Stevenson's adventures years ago and li

    I remembered reading Mr. Stevenson's adventures years ago and liking them, so it wasn't a surprise that I liked these stories as well. In fact, it was a real treat to finally find authentic suspense stories that require the lights be left on afterwards.
    Unlike many, Dr. Jekyll wasn't my favorite, possibly because of familiarity, and possibility because it is a tale of good and evil, not the supernatural. Thrawn Janet, on the other hand, is written in Scottish and in order to follow, every word counts, and that makes the suspense oh so much more penetrating. What a tale that would be in an old inn with a darkened room and fireplace blazing....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Classically wonderfull

    Great ebook version

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    12345678910

    Sexy& HOT

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    A Classic

    I am not sure how I thought the story would be, having heard and seen so many variations of the theme. It ended up being one that was a surprisingly human story. This Strange Case is worth your time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    this will stay a classic

    this book will stay a classic for a reason.if you like happy stories, though, you are being forwarned. otherwise, i loved it. (look for my other reviews of classics and other stories in the SHOP)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Classic for a reason

    We all know the story of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hide - it's one of those books we know through cultural osmosis. But if you haven't read the book, you don't really know that story. The book is a wonder of sleekly stylish writing - not an extra word or phrase is used. It's a horror novel distilled down to it's essence. The book is a scant 75 pages and tells a complete story that still retains it's punch so many years after it's original writing. I also have to commend this edition in the inclusion of other pieces of writings by Stevenson and the chapter about the things inspired by the story that puts it in it's historical place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde strange indeed!

    I was excited to find this in the $1 Barnes and Noble bin! I couldn't wait to read it; I started with the "other stories" that Stevenson wrote of. I was on the edge of my seat while reading the Suicide Club. All the stories were surprisingly awesome. I only say surprised, not because I didn't think they would be good, but that I would enjoy their dark themes as much as I did. I was so enthralled with the stories that I told them to two of my co-workers and they joined me in my horror and disbelief.
    Before reading Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, I read the introduction, which I suggest for anyone wanting to read it. Not only does it give you more depth of the characters but of the author himself--what [may have] led him to write what he wrote--and such. It was a little long, almost longer that the book itself, but worth it. After each chapter of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde I couldn't believe Stevenson's genius! He had created such a character, one I thought I knew so much about, and revealed him in such a clever way. The Jekyll and Hyde I came to know was one adapted on screen through "Van Helsing" and "League of Extraordinary Gentlemen," which did not do him ANY justice. Dr. Jekyll is a large, soft, middle-aged man who does [and seems to want to do] what it good. Mr. Hyde is a hard, twisted young villan who only thinks of his pleasures and is self-satisfying.
    You must read this if you love classics and especially if you love dark stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Journey through the human mind.

    In a sense we all have Multiple Personality Disorder. Each and Everyone of us has two different versions of ourselves. Two different personality types: One good, a kind gentle person. The other: A sick twisted monster. With every tragedy or trauma we endure, the Mister Hyde in us grows stronger and tries to destroy our good side. That is what Stevenson was saying in this story. Jekyll & Hyde is a rather prophetic tale as it was written and published almost ten whole years before the crimes attributed to one Jack the ripper, an unsolved mystery that baffles us to this day. The other stories in this book are at most adequate chillers but all important discussions stem from Dr.Jekyll and Mr. Hyde.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2006

    Mystery after Mystery

    My review will be rather lengthly because my teacher asked me to write a review for 5 of the stories in this book. I will start with Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, then go to a Lodging for the Night, then to Suicide Club, to follow with Thrawn Janet, and to Finish with The Body Snatcher. ~The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde~ Dr. Jekyll is a good looking, refined, doctor with a dream to unlock the secrets of the soul. All of his fellow physicians think is he out of his mind and should stick to having dinner parties instead of testing chemicals in his lab. Mr. Utterson, a lawyer, and a good friend of Dr. Jekyll writes a will for him in his old age and discovers that the doctor leaves everything to a Mr. Hyde. From that point on Mr. Utterson tries to discover who this Hyde is. Through snooping, letters, and blood shed he discovers that Hyde is the infamous, murderous, careless, unthoughtful, purely evil side of someone, but who? The way Stevenson, the author, writes beings a certain sophisticated and classy level to this story and example of this is on page 70 Jekyll writes, talking about Hyde. ¿All things therefore seemed to point to this that I was slowly losing hold of my original and better self, and becoming slowly incorporated with my second and worse.¿ Also Stevenson brings irony to this piece by stating that Jekyll wants to be the perfect man by drinking this potion. But by drinking the potion he turns into the worst man and kills himself. If you enjoy science fiction novels with ironic twists you will enjoy this work of Robert Louis Stevenson. ~A Lodging for the Night~ This short story tells the tale of a young struggling artist named Francis Villon. He is found writing poems in a cottage by a cemetery at night with all his friends. When suddenly two of his friends, who were playing dice, rage into a fight to the death. After the one man is dead all the other people leave the house. Villon is then left on the streets of Paris in early winter looking for lodging. When looking for food he discovers that his friends have stole all his money so he is without anything. Police are roaming the streets to get people after curfew, so Francis hides in a stairwell. Here he finds a woman dead from frostbite and takes her money. He continues searching for a lodging for the night when he stumbles upon the threshold of a lord. The lord takes him in and gives him food. The lord tries to convince him that stealing and such is wrong and he should be a honorable man, nothing can convince Francis though and the old lord kicks him out after eating. So again Villon wanders the streets of Paris in the early morning. A lodging for the night is humorous, the way Francis lives his life and how he could have so much and yet has so little. The story is about a senseless murder and a failure to profit from it. ~Suicide Club~ Prince Florizel and Colonel Geraldine are out in London under disguise in a bar. They notice a young man with cream tarts saying to everyone that if they did not accept his tarts he would eat it for them. The prince and the colonel do eat the tarts though and offer to take the young man to dinner. When the young man has finished eaten he asks them if they had ever entertained thoughts to kill themselves. The prince gives in to the question but the colonel is horrified. They then go to a house after dinner and meet the president of the suicide club. The deal of suicide went like this. A deck of 52 cards was passed out to the members, if you received the ace of clubs you must kill the man who received the ace of spades. So in fact it was not suicide but murder. The prince is enthralled with this risk and returns the next night. Sadly, the prince receives the ace of spades, but the colonel saves him by getting rid of the guy who received the ace of clubs. From that point the prince brought before him the president of the suicide club and made men watch him. But the plan failed an

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2003

    Awesome book

    Robert Louis Stevenson is a genious! Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde is one of the best books I've ever been forced to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2002

    Very Good

    A very good book. The suspense never stpped making you think, about what was to happen bewtween Jekyll and Hyde. Who is going to survive Jekyll or Hyde? The ending was a shocking ending. about Robert Louis Stevebson really wrote a book that I really wanted to finish

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2001

    Wowsers.

    This book is SO awesome! I bought it last Friday at my local Barnes & Noble and just got the chance to finish it (well, only the 'Jekyll & Hyde' part, I haven't read the other stories yet). I must admit, I prolonged my finishing it on purpose as much as I could because it's just one of those stories you NEVER want to end. I mean, wow, if you get the chance to read this story, then absolutely do so, it's worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2001

    WOWOWOWOWOW

    What a perfect book! Entertaining and VERY engrossing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2000

    A great 19th century classic.

    Like many great British and American writers of the 19th century, Stevenson in this work asks some of the greatest questions posed to mankind: Who can we trust? What will science lead to in the future? What is real? and what is just a facade? These are the issues that are discussed in this suspenseful 'thriller' that Stevenson has written. To be able to take such deeply pensive topics and then put it all into a 100-page short novela that is fun to read is a sheer miracle. This book is a good read for all, but some of the vocabulary may prove difficult for kids or other ignorant adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2000

    This is an awesome book

    This book is full of suspense and is CRAZY!!!!!! I loved it!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2000

    An Amazing Short Story

    I wish I would have been able to read this story not knowing what it was about. The movie versions do not do justice to the story. It is written almost as a murder mystery and is full of suspense. This is an awesome short story by an literary genius. I am a fan of Robert Louis Stevenson and found this to be one of his greatest works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5