Customer Reviews for

The Strange Case of Finley Jayne (Steampunk Chronicles Series)

Average Rating 4
( 658 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(264)

4 Star

(243)

3 Star

(102)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

A fast & entertaining read!

This prequel introduces the main character of The Girl In the Steel Corset, Finley Jane. It's starts with her being fired for sticking up for a little boy, which right away tells me what kind of person she is. This is the second time she's been fired in a short time. Sh...
This prequel introduces the main character of The Girl In the Steel Corset, Finley Jane. It's starts with her being fired for sticking up for a little boy, which right away tells me what kind of person she is. This is the second time she's been fired in a short time. She thinks something must be wrong with her and that she's evil because of her sometimes dark thoughts, super strength and hearing.

She goes home to her mother and stepfather, Silas even though she'd rather not be a burden to them. Before she even starts to look for a job, Lady Morton shows up and offers her one to be her daughter's companion. Why Lady Morton wants her specifically despite her reputation makes her suspicions, but she can't past up the chance. Finley and Phoebe becomes friends and starts to worry about the true intentions of her fiance, the much older Lord Vincent.

This is my first foray into Steampunk and I had no idea what to expect. I really enjoyed the mixture of a historical world with it's futuristic inventions. It was an interesting contrast. One of the reason I think I've stayed away from the genre is that I thought it wouldn't be easy to understand the world it's set in. Which wasn't the case.

A lot happen in this prequel. It's a great introduction to the series. I really like Finley and can't wait to find out the mystery behind her.

posted by Safari_Poet on May 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

A fun read

I enjoyed this novella, and gutsy heroines are a favorite of mine. While not expertly written, full of passive voice, unnecessary adverbs, cliche, and stilted dialogue, the story itself was well-paced and not overly predictable, and I wouldn't mind reading more of the ...
I enjoyed this novella, and gutsy heroines are a favorite of mine. While not expertly written, full of passive voice, unnecessary adverbs, cliche, and stilted dialogue, the story itself was well-paced and not overly predictable, and I wouldn't mind reading more of the series.

posted by IncompetentHausfrau on January 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 264 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    Great Novella

    Nice quick lively read. It is a Novella 78 pages to be exact. Read it in a sitting.

    24 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    Excellent Book! Well written & great characters.

    I'm stunned I liked this book after avoiding reading it for a while. Somehow it makes weird interesting. The characters are well developed & the story line in excellent. You find yourself rooting for Finley & booing the mean people in the story. I will certainly read another of this author's books.

    21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Take some time and enjoy a bit of Steampunk!

    Finley Jane has just been canned. Apparently, knocking the governess's teeth out is frowned upon. Even when said governess has smacked her young charge.

    Yes, Finley knows that it's it's inappropriate to do and say the things that she does, but, well, quite frankly, sometimes she doesn't even know they're coming until it's too late. Perhaps, the devil lives in her, as the latest housekeeper suggested.

    When a lady comes looking for Finley the following day, she can't help but wonder why on earth she's wanted.

    I SO can't wait for the next one in the series!!

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    W I want more!

    Left me wanting more. What an awesome movie this would be. Finley has won my heart.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Good Stuff

    A finely written and engrossing page turner. It will make you want to read the rest of the series.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    Awesome introduction

    I wasn't sure if I wanted to read Girl in the Steel Corset, but this short story has me sure that it's my cuppa tea.

    Good build, not too fast or too slow (hard in a short story). Good character development. Good wrap up (really hard with a prequel without giving stuff away). I don't feel like I've learned anything that will effect the full novel, but I feel satisfied with the short story.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    :)

    Fyi it does start out a little slow but once the action does start it never stops! Keep on reading its so worth it

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    WONDERFUL!

    For it being a short story I fell in love. I would like to see whatever is going to happen to Finley and what her past is. I was excited right out of the gate. The mystery that is the lovely Finley Jayne. I will find more by this author. Love this.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Hcnjnvj

    I forgot if this book was free or not ? Can some tell me

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Great book

    I'm not much of a reader. But I couldn't out it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Fruitloop909

    Nice little read :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Highly recommended

    This was actually a very book and I wished it was longer. It is a very short read only about 78 pages. I loved the main character Finley Jayne and will consider buying the follow up book to find out more information about her.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    Really good, but a little short

    1 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2014

    Great Read!

    This book was a great short story read to lead into the series it is part of.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2013

    Good prequel.

    I liked it. Finley Jayne intrigued me and I enjoyed her character. Good plot for a short prequel. I decided to read the Steampunk Chronicles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Great for a prequel

    SpiritRane: What a surprisingly good book. It is not very long but it is certainly action packed. I have never before read anything from this author but I think I will be looking into more of here stories. Her charactor are very likable and the plot was quite the scandle. lol Enjoy!! Blessed Day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Perfect quick read

    Perfect hour and a half story that makes me want to read more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    I love this book!

    I like this series, in the book store it is shelved under 'Teen Supernatural'.
    However, it appeals to any age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Yugjiguneugj gjyu

    Djlupjayjk uxpcndj
    Wpoucngj

    Nzgb

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Free and short.

    But a very good short story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 264 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14