Customer Reviews for

The Strange Case of Finley Jayne (Steampunk Chronicles Series)

Average Rating 4
( 655 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(262)

4 Star

(242)

3 Star

(102)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

A fast & entertaining read!

This prequel introduces the main character of The Girl In the Steel Corset, Finley Jane. It's starts with her being fired for sticking up for a little boy, which right away tells me what kind of person she is. This is the second time she's been fired in a short time. Sh...
This prequel introduces the main character of The Girl In the Steel Corset, Finley Jane. It's starts with her being fired for sticking up for a little boy, which right away tells me what kind of person she is. This is the second time she's been fired in a short time. She thinks something must be wrong with her and that she's evil because of her sometimes dark thoughts, super strength and hearing.

She goes home to her mother and stepfather, Silas even though she'd rather not be a burden to them. Before she even starts to look for a job, Lady Morton shows up and offers her one to be her daughter's companion. Why Lady Morton wants her specifically despite her reputation makes her suspicions, but she can't past up the chance. Finley and Phoebe becomes friends and starts to worry about the true intentions of her fiance, the much older Lord Vincent.

This is my first foray into Steampunk and I had no idea what to expect. I really enjoyed the mixture of a historical world with it's futuristic inventions. It was an interesting contrast. One of the reason I think I've stayed away from the genre is that I thought it wouldn't be easy to understand the world it's set in. Which wasn't the case.

A lot happen in this prequel. It's a great introduction to the series. I really like Finley and can't wait to find out the mystery behind her.

posted by Safari_Poet on May 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

A fun read

I enjoyed this novella, and gutsy heroines are a favorite of mine. While not expertly written, full of passive voice, unnecessary adverbs, cliche, and stilted dialogue, the story itself was well-paced and not overly predictable, and I wouldn't mind reading more of the ...
I enjoyed this novella, and gutsy heroines are a favorite of mine. While not expertly written, full of passive voice, unnecessary adverbs, cliche, and stilted dialogue, the story itself was well-paced and not overly predictable, and I wouldn't mind reading more of the series.

posted by IncompetentHausfrau on January 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 262 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    So much love.

    I loved this book. It was very well written and interesting too. I can't wait to read the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    Loved it!

    This book was amazing! Loved it cant wait for the next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Interesting

    I really like this book. It was a fast but very interesting read but i wish there was more romance to it. I'm new to the whole steampunk area.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Very good book, can't wait to read the other ones!

    It was a very interesting and mystery type book with no crap in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Great short read

    This a great little book that did it's job by making me really want to get into the series! Finley is a great heroine and I look forward to reading more about her! Nice writing, decent character build up, and good plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Unexpectedly Gooood

    I was not expecting this to be a good read. I am totally surprised. It is simple and engaging i felt the thrill all the way.. would love to read lots more in the future..

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    steampunk fans . LISTEN UP!!!

    I am a HUGE Fan if steampunk, dieselpunk, clockpunk, you name it. So when first saw this i was like...eh this is gonna suck. I ended up reading the whole thing in a day! I LOVED IT SO MUCH!! The descriptions were so great i made a cosplay for finley's clothes!! i am soo excited to get the first book and the rest of the series. READ THIS BOOK YOU WONT BE DISAPPOINTED!!! (I think i spelled that right) derp! ~Jinxx ;]

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    A facinating beginning to a new series

    Finley is a delightful character. A deliscious blending of beauty, brains and a darker side which provides a devilish amount of brawn. Add in a mystery involving an arranged marriage and a new employer. This is victorian steampunk at its best. After reading this short story I rapidly ran out and picked up the next book. As Finley's story continues in The Girl In the Steel Corset and am quickly devouring it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Firekit

    Gtg.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Twisted

    She followed Blazekit

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Great read

    I enjoyed this book from beginning to end i can't wait to read the next book by this writer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    I like Finley!

    Short and fast paced read. An excellant introduction to main character Finley Jayne. I've already reserved a copy of the next book. If you like steampunk, or if you've never read steampunk you'll like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Good Book

    I loved this book. Easy to follow and not too many pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Couldnt put it down

    The character is everything a "normal" individual would wish to be cunning wise and fierce

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Thumbs Up.

    I really enjoyed this book. Some parts left me aching for more, but books have to end. The ending was so satisfying and had a huge cliff-hanger that chilled my bones and left me wanting to read The Girl in the Steel Corset, but I'm a cheapo and will not bring frugal self to buy it. If you like suspense, historical fiction, and a little bit of horror and fantasy- this book is for you. Do not hesistate or read the reviews that say that it is crud. This is the real truth.
    -Pseudonymous Smith

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Interesting

    This story was an interesting one unlike most steampunk that i have read. Finley was a very relatiable character that many teenage girls would enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Love

    It is great. Wonderful short story. A bit predictable but most had surprising twist. Great story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    Highly recommended

    I really enjoyed this story! It would have been nice to have gotten a little more involved in the main characters background, as to why she was the way she was, but perhaps that will be in one of the following series. Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Good book

    I got this book for free and it was a great book. I really liked the main character, finnley. She was funny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Works both as a stand-alone, and as a companion piece to "T

    Works both as a stand-alone, and as a companion piece to "The Girl in the Steel Corset." Exciting and well-written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 262 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 14