Customer Reviews for

Strange Neighbors

Average Rating 3.5
( 240 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(59)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS BOOK!

To sum up my review of Strange Neighbors:
The characters were unique and endearing.
The love story was amazing.
The plot was interesting.
The plot twists were creative.

Strange Neighbors is a fun, easy read. I'll definitely be on the lookout for more books from ...
To sum up my review of Strange Neighbors:
The characters were unique and endearing.
The love story was amazing.
The plot was interesting.
The plot twists were creative.

Strange Neighbors is a fun, easy read. I'll definitely be on the lookout for more books from Ashlyn Chase!

posted by MelWell on February 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Don't bother!

Got pg 170 of the book and just couldn't go any further. I hate a bought book number two in advance. Maybe I'll finish it one day but the characters really just irritated me.

posted by Kenabug25 on September 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 240 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Rating: 4.5 Stars Heat Rating: 4 out of 5 The Title: The title

    Rating: 4.5 Stars
    Heat Rating: 4 out of 5

    The Title: The title of this book just says it all for strange neighbors are what Merry gets when she moves into her new apartment.

    The Cover: The cover artist for this book did a superb job! The swirls easily convey the whimsy that is contained in this story. I just love the eyes along the right border. If you look closely you can see a witches hat as well as some fangs. Very cool!

    The Story: Merry MacKenzie has finally left the nest to live on her own. Too long had she lived with her extremely overprotective dad, taking care of him and her little brother after her mother passed away. It was time for her to be out on her own so she could spread her wings (are you getting the aviary imagery?). She was so pleased with her apartment and even more so with her hottie landlord, star baseball pitcher, Jason Falco. The only thing was, her neighbors were kinda... strange. The building had a residential ghost, two witches, a vampire and shapeshifters. How was it that all of a sudden she found herself surrounded by the supernatural?

    Shapeshifters and witches and vampires, oh my! Ashlyn Chase's writing is delightfully witty and I found myself laughing out loud numerous times. I laughed so much that I had members of my family questioning my sanity because they could hear my laughter rooms away!

    I have only one complaint about this book and it's this: the POV was constantly shifting. While in itself this isn't a really big deal to me, it seemed that it also bounced from first to third person and back again. It made my head spin but I can only take a little away for this because I enjoyed the story so much.

    This story was light and fun, the sex steamy, and I had a hard time putting it down. The secondary characters were a hoot (especially Gwyneth) and they rounded out the storyline nicely. This apartment building is full of all sorts of possibilities. I can't wait to read more!

    Funny line...
    “I do declare! I'd rather jump barefoot off a six-foot step ladder into a five-gallon bucket full of porcupines than see anything bad happen to you."
    "I don't think that's necessary, but the situation scares me a little”

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful

    What a cute cozy paranormal mystery! I loved this book and so look forward to reading the others in the series. What I really appreciate is that it seems as if the others in the series go through stories of different characters. Of course, this is not what I would call a "great work of literary fiction" like something by Larsson or Dickens, it was a nice, easy fun read. I highly recommend!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    AWESOME READ

    See my review for Werewolf Upstairs..... I need to add though that those complaing about the sex scenes are wrong... They're not drawn out nor are they giving too much detail. In my opinion, these sex scenes are tame.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS BOOK!

    To sum up my review of Strange Neighbors:
    The characters were unique and endearing.
    The love story was amazing.
    The plot was interesting.
    The plot twists were creative.

    Strange Neighbors is a fun, easy read. I'll definitely be on the lookout for more books from Ashlyn Chase!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Don't bother!

    Got pg 170 of the book and just couldn't go any further. I hate a bought book number two in advance. Maybe I'll finish it one day but the characters really just irritated me.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    Not to be missed!

    Refreshing, fun, sexy romp. Vampires and Werewolves and Witches have never been so much fun as they are in this series. A little bit of everything for the adult paranormal reader with a sense of humor.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    What a Disappointment!!

    I thought this sounded like a fun book but man what a let down. First of all, I found Merry whiny and indecisive. she had no problem accepting that the apartment building had a ghost, two witches, and her vampire father, yet she had a major freak out when she discovered her boyfriend was a shape shifter. The way she acted most of the time, I could have sworn she was a spoiled sixteen year old. I wanted to slap her. As for her boyfriend--Oy. Jason was a hottie and that's about all he had going for him--oh and the money he made in baseball. He was a wuss. It was so irritating that he and Merry fall in love in practically the first chapter--and so unbelievably--and they spent the rest of the book waffling. The secondary characters weren't all that fascinating either. Her biological father was not the brightest light bulb on the family tree. His whole story of his wife's death and how he became a vampire was pitiful. Add that to the fact that he's living in the basement and you got to wonder about the lack of intelligence in that family. The ghost was boring and his insistence about finding his killer was understanding but that whole thing kind of fizzled out. By the end I didn't care and I knew he wasn't going anywhere. The witches were interesting but wholly one dimensional. Oh and Aunt Dottie was a walking cliche. This whole book was a mishmash of uninteresting characters and plots sandwiched between the sex scenes. I wanted to like it--it had a good premise but in the end I felt ripped off.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent

    Loooved it

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Loved this book

    It is a great quick read

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Cannot recommend it - didn't even finish it.

    I read a lot and this was such a disappointment. I didn't even finish reading it and that is almost a first for me. I am sorry this is even in my Nook. I would not recommend this book nor will I be interested in reading any other book by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    Not bad

    Will try the next in the series

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The book was light and funny.. I liked the fact that when you we

    The book was light and funny.. I liked the fact that when you were for sure something was going to happen or go down the book changed on you.. It was a good read.. Happy Reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Don't bother!

    I could not finish this book. It was trully ridiculous. Merry acted like a teenager most of the time. Between being whinny and dumb, I just couldn't like her. Sorry, but I really feel like I wasted my time reading as much as I did. The sex was a little much, but I guess the author thought it might save the book. I don't think so.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    cute book but....

    It is a cute book but definitely not for everyone. The detailed description of the sex act between the characters is unnecessary and has nothing to do with the story. I would not let my mother or teen-age daughter read this book; too bad; as it said it is a cute story until someone told the author to add in some trash.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Disjointed

    I wanted to like this book. I even tried reading it at two different times and both times I could not get through it. The story jumps around too much and after 89 pages there is no clear plot. I can guess what is going to happen, but even that isn't enough to hold my interest to continue reading. What I find most frustrating is the characters and premise isn't bad, but what is missing is a clear story to drive this forward. I am missing a reason to continue reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    really like this story

    Really good story with lots of places to go with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    A Fun Read

    This was a fun and light paranormal romance. The writing was a little awkward at times, but keep reading because the storyline is a good one. I love the neighbors and can't wait to read more about all of them! The incredibly amusing scenarios and dialogue kept me hooked. The details and scenarios were quite unpredictable, and the intimacy wasn't over the top. I recommend that you give this story a chance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    H

    Ddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddsddddd















    ddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddfdddddddddddddddd























    Dddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddfdddfddddddddddddddddddddd







































    dd

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Loved it

    I cant wait to start the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    This was such a fun book. It had me laughing at unexpected momen

    This was such a fun book. It had me laughing at unexpected moments. I have to admit that at times I found Merry a bit frustrating when she was so indecisive, but everything worked out in the end. I recommend this book it was an enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 240 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12