BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Strange Neighbors

Average Rating 3.5
( 239 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(58)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS BOOK!

To sum up my review of Strange Neighbors:
The characters were unique and endearing.
The love story was amazing.
The plot was interesting.
The plot twists were creative.

Strange Neighbors is a fun, easy read. I'll definitely be on the lookout for more books from ...
To sum up my review of Strange Neighbors:
The characters were unique and endearing.
The love story was amazing.
The plot was interesting.
The plot twists were creative.

Strange Neighbors is a fun, easy read. I'll definitely be on the lookout for more books from Ashlyn Chase!

posted by MelWell on February 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Don't bother!

Got pg 170 of the book and just couldn't go any further. I hate a bought book number two in advance. Maybe I'll finish it one day but the characters really just irritated me.

posted by Kenabug25 on September 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    Not bad

    Will try the next in the series

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Light, Fluffy, & Paranormal

    Strange Neighbors is a cute paranormal romance. Its many characters of varied supernatural flavors suggest potential for a long running, shifting perspective series. I look forward to future books in the series because while I didn't love this book, the premise itself is wonderful and I think some of Strange Neighbors’ secondary characters will make perfectly fascinating leads, which is good considering the author wrote two more books. Definitely a book focused more on the romance aspect with the commentary of the rest of the building to listen to in between, and while that's not necessarily a bad thing I feel like the writing would need some work to make this flow more naturally and make the romance aspect more interesting and dynamic. Not a bad read and I can see where there is a market for this style of book but it's not my favorite. I waded in and was instantly awash in the overly cliché characters and the non-effective sexual tension that leapt to the forefront immediately. But hey, it's a light read, so I settled down for a campy silly romp and hoped it picked up speed. I'm sorry to say, as I got deeper, I grew bored instead of addicted. The plot looked great. The cover is beautiful, but in the end, I thought it was just blaize. If you take this book for what it is, a light, fun paranormal romance debut novel you won’t be disappointed. However if you are looking for something solid to follow up your paranormal reading list, this might now be the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fun and passion promised

    Merry wants independence. She is 25 and have been living with her dad and brother all her life. She wants a bit of Sex and the city, and she has found the perfect flat to start her new life in. At once she catches the eye of the landlord, a certain hunky baseball player named Jason Falco. Perhaps she will get to have a bit of fun after all. Jason on the other hand is not the all American guy that he seems to be. He is a shape shifter, and he is looking for that special someone, and Merry seems to be all that and more.


    Merry is sweet, it is hard not to like her. Jason is a hunk, and lusting after her. But who said romance was easy? Throw in a paparazzi in search of a story and their fling can turn ugly. That reporter, grrr, did not like her, and that was the only time I thought Merry was too sweet, at the same time, it was the right thing to do. Do not worry she has got claws too.


    Jason wants something more, because he needs something more when he is a shifter, romance can be a bit hard, not to mention sex. He can't fall too hard to a girl, because he, he mates for life. Something you have to love in a guy.


    Did someone say sex, oh yes, Ashlyn Chase has previously written erotic romances, and trust me, she knows what she is doing, and there is some mind-blowing passion in here. For a sweet contemporary paranormal romance there is bed action too. Fear not.


    Then there are the tenants. Oh they are the best. Jason's aunt who calls the cops all the time, such a busy-body. The scary looking guy in the basement who is obviously a vampire. Konrad, who does seem to have some werewolf tendencies, Nathan who surely has something going on too. Chad, your friendly neighbourhood ghost *coughs* or should I say your annoying neighbourhood ghost who wants to keep his bachelor pad and haunts it. Then there are two witches upstairs who seems to be having mind-blowing sex all the time, or? This is not your average sort of building.


    I liked the witches, they were fun. I hope to see Nathan find a girl one day, even if he does not want it, and I have a sneaking suspicion who Konrad might fall for. And there is Chad, oh yes annoying Chad, lol, but have to love him too. He wants to find out who killed him and so this book is also a mystery when they try to find his killer.



    Now where was I, yes there is romance, hot passion, an aunt trying to snoop around, fun tenants, and some shocking details about certain persons promised. All is not how it seems, but then by reading about the tenants I am sure you guessed that so far.


    A fun paranormal with romance, and passion promised.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3