Customer Reviews for

The Stranger Beside Me

Average Rating 4.5
( 125 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(87)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted February 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Ann Rule Worth Re-reading!

    When The Stranger Beside Me was first published, I bought a copy to read on vacation in Florida. I had to take it with me to the beach, because I couldn't put it down. Ms. Rule had me hooked from the beginning, and she can't write fast enough for me. I've read every one of her books, and she never fails to fascinate with her telling of true crime stories. Her style of writing is so easy to read, and she treats the victims with great compassion. For my birthday this month, I received a copy of the new 2008 reprinted version of The Stranger Beside Me, and look forward to re-reading the book that got me hooked on Ann Rule!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    BONE CHILLING!

    Every woman or parent should read this book! This book had to be an emotionally difficult one for the author to write because of her friendship with the killer, Ted Bundy! I was tense and on the edge of my seat all the way through this. We each have that weak, vulnerable spot, that we can be taken in. This was bone chilling!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2000

    RULE AT HER VERY BEST

    I am a advid reader of Rules's bookand this one takes the cake. Ted Bundy was a remarkable seriel killer and she captures eveything about him so that it seems almost like you know him yourself. If you are going to read a book by Rule, read this one.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    Bone chilling - highly recommended - check it out!!!!!

    This is the best book about Ted Bundy I have ever read. I bought the book thinking it would be good because it was written by Ann Rule. I was surprised to find out that she actually knew Ted Bundy personally. This book gives insight into the mind of a horrific killer and lets everyone who reads it know how a person looks does not determine what type of person they really are. Ted Bundy was handsome, charming, etc., but at the same time a serial killer who seems to have actually taken pleasure in killing. I loaned this book to a co-worker, and she had the same response to the book. We both loved it!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    Shivers.......

    The scariest book I have ever read. Ann Rule is a great writer.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2000

    Made Me Scared of anybody asking for help

    I have read this book at least 3 times and each time it amazes me how he could steal all of those womens lives in what seemed a moment --- Ann Rules writes the info & puts you where it happens. You feel the fear thru her writing

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    Impossible to put down

    I am an Anne Rule fan and have read this book at least four times. Every time I read it, it is just as compelling as the time before. it is an absolute must read in the true crime genre. You will never forget this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2010

    intense-kept me reading

    The Stranger Beside Me is an intense book to read. Ted Bundy was a typical good looking man, who started out with a normal promising life. But then he turned on the world and murdered a mass amount of women who were all alike. They had long hair parted in the middle and were all successful and smart. Ted traveled around the United States committing these crimes, and even though he got put in prison multiple times, he escaped. Ann Rule wrote this book showing that you cannot trust people. Ted Bundy would act crippled and get a girl to help him to his car. The thing I liked about this book is that it kept me thinking, and turning back pages to try and figure things out before the story told the reader. There was never a dull part in this investigating book. There's not really anything I disliked about it, it was very good and would give it five out of five stars. People should read this because it makes you want to keep reading. Rule is very descriptive and tells you exactly how it happened. I have read Rule's other books such as "The Want-Ad Killer" and "Lust Killer". I loved them just as much. Ann Rule is famous for writing these killing, mystery books.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Nightmares

    This is the scariest book I have ever read. After page 80, I could not read it alone at night in my own house. I lived in Tacoma, Washington (Bundy's hometown) and I went to UPS (like he did briefly). Every place Rule wrote about in Washington I am familiar with which is why I think it has extra creep factor for me. I was constantly amazed throughout the entire book how Bundy could lure females to him. This guy was a sicko and literally the stuff of nightmares. One of the top must reads if you are a true crime buff.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This book will change your life

    One of the reasons I read the book was because it was recommended to me through a friend. At first I didn't think I would get much out of it;but, I think it really did change my life. And for the better! Ted Bundy was a charismatic, smart, and easy for someone to trust...until he killed them. This book is a case in point for showing that the face of a serial killer has the face of both me and you. I am much more alert of my surroundings at night. And no way will I stop and walk with someone to their car. The problem is so many women are too trusting of anybody. That's too bad. I stayed up with this book until 4am for about three nights in a row. It is really hard to put down. Ted Bundy has been dead for quite some time. But he is still very alive as an American crime icon. You will learn a substantial amount of facts and information in this book regarding both his life and that of Ann Rule's. Its a great view point coming from the Author, because she knew Ted Bundy as a friend! Before he was a murderer. It's unbelieveable. Did you know Ted Bundy had a wife and a daughter? Or that he escaped prison twice? It's a good book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    Ted Bundy was a Very Smooth Man

    If Ann Rule can be taken in by a man like Ted Bundy, anyone can. As usual Ann Rule's book did not disappoint me. If anyone wants to know the real story of Ted Bundy they should read this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2008

    Title says it all

    This was a very good read from a classic true crime writer because she, Ann Rule, actually was friends w/ Ted Bundy. It is an interesting story about how she knew Bundy during the killing years and how their relationship changed as the truth about Bundy was exposed. Rule comes off as being somewhat sympathetic toward Bundy, but it is expected as she thought she knew him as a charming, good looking, normal guy. It got a little long winded during the trial and I think could have discussed the crimes a little more but overall this was a very good book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2013

    Recommended, lots of new information

    The book about a monster takes on a whole set of different perspectives when the author knows the killer personally. I found myself almost liking him. I could see why he was able to get the women he killed into his car. The fact that he unraveled in Florida is really his own undueing. Ann does a good job keeping the information in perspective.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    Ann Rule tells it like it is. very good read for anyone interested in why people kill.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Excellent even the third time around!

    This newer, updated version of Ann Rule's original "Stranger Beside Me" is even better than the first two times I read it. She is brilliant at giving you the feeling that you yourself are there living it. In addition to her humbling herself with corrections from the past book and answers to a few questions from readers.
    Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    Chiiling look into a serial killer

    Ann Rule wrote a truly scary and insightful look into the mindset and workings of the quintessential serial killer. It was not difficult to imagine the terror that his victims must have felt as he was leading them to their deaths. Her unique perspective into the life and mind of Ted Bundy allowed her write a book that almost transports you to those quiet streets and lonely back roads of Washington State, Oregon, Idaho, Utah,Colorado and Florida where these terrible crimes occured and where the bodies were disposed of. She has a singular talent. This book really opened my mind concerning the reality and existance of these horrible predators. Kudos to Ann Rule.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    Excellent

    One of the best Ted Bundy stories I have read. This book keeps you very interested and I read it in one day because I could not put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    Who Could Imagine..

    ... that someone you think you know so well is a serial killer. You just cannot make this stuff up. Ann Rule engages with this book. It has been, by far, one of the best books I have ever read. Very well written and captivating. It is a page turner!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A true monster

    This book was extremely compelling and sets into motion the security changes that would take place in colleges and schools across our nation. Ann Rule is superb in relaying the life and background in one of the countries most notorious serial killers. For Ann Rule to have actually worked beside and being a confidanat to Ted makes the book all the more terrifying. I could not put this book down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Probably Ann Rules' Best Book

    This is the definitive book by someone who actually knew Ted Bundy. This isn't just a great book about a notorious serial killer, it's just a great book, period.
    I really appreciate the insider's view point on a Jekyll and Hyde killer. Also, the periodic updates to the book are fascinating. One of the things I like most about The Stranger Beside Me is the author's portrayal of the victims as human beings who didn't deserve what happened to them. Not all true crime authors are that considerate of the victims and their families.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7