Customer Reviews for

The Stranger I Married

Average Rating 4
( 135 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Another Top Notch Erotic Historical

Sylvia Day comes through with another well-written and developed story with characters so interesting and passion so sensual that leaves the fan of the erotic romance wondering how it can ever get better. Isabel, Lady Pelham, 'Pel' and Gerard Faulkner, the Marquess of G...
Sylvia Day comes through with another well-written and developed story with characters so interesting and passion so sensual that leaves the fan of the erotic romance wondering how it can ever get better. Isabel, Lady Pelham, 'Pel' and Gerard Faulkner, the Marquess of Grayson, 'Gray' are The Ton's most beautiful and scandalous couple. They marry for the simple convenience of being able to keep their paramours and lead simple lives and although they lead lives of sexual scandal with others, they are friends. These two sensual people have anything but simple lives, as they both fell in love and were hurt at a very young age and did not realize until years later that life was not as convenient and simple as it seems. When Gray's young love Emily dies in childbirth he run off and Pel does not hear from him for four years when he suddenly returns a changed man. He has spent these years at his estates taking stock of his life and growing up and discovering that he wants a real marriage with Pel. When he returns, Pel is shocked and discovers she is sexually attracted to Gray, now the stranger she has married. She has always felt he was like her first husband, Lord Pelham, her first love who hurt her deeply when he did not return her love, but instead turned to a long string of other women, leaving her by dying in a duel over one of his paramours. Gray is determined to prove his love for Pel and feels he will begin by showering her with sensuality and passion, not realizing that this only reminds her of Pelham, but at the same time, while Pel enjoys and relishes his wild passion, she wants some sign that Gray will be committed only to her. There are family characters, Gray's mother and brother, and ex-paramours who try to put a wedge inbetween Gray and Pel's relationship that make the story interesting. The secondary side love story of Pel's brother Rhys is passionate, sexy and sweet, although a bit short and should really have its own story. Overall the book is sensual perfection and not to be missed.

posted by Anonymous on January 11, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

C Slow

Couldn't even get through half the book. Story line is extremely slow.

posted by Anonymous on June 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 138 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2007

    Another Top Notch Erotic Historical

    Sylvia Day comes through with another well-written and developed story with characters so interesting and passion so sensual that leaves the fan of the erotic romance wondering how it can ever get better. Isabel, Lady Pelham, 'Pel' and Gerard Faulkner, the Marquess of Grayson, 'Gray' are The Ton's most beautiful and scandalous couple. They marry for the simple convenience of being able to keep their paramours and lead simple lives and although they lead lives of sexual scandal with others, they are friends. These two sensual people have anything but simple lives, as they both fell in love and were hurt at a very young age and did not realize until years later that life was not as convenient and simple as it seems. When Gray's young love Emily dies in childbirth he run off and Pel does not hear from him for four years when he suddenly returns a changed man. He has spent these years at his estates taking stock of his life and growing up and discovering that he wants a real marriage with Pel. When he returns, Pel is shocked and discovers she is sexually attracted to Gray, now the stranger she has married. She has always felt he was like her first husband, Lord Pelham, her first love who hurt her deeply when he did not return her love, but instead turned to a long string of other women, leaving her by dying in a duel over one of his paramours. Gray is determined to prove his love for Pel and feels he will begin by showering her with sensuality and passion, not realizing that this only reminds her of Pelham, but at the same time, while Pel enjoys and relishes his wild passion, she wants some sign that Gray will be committed only to her. There are family characters, Gray's mother and brother, and ex-paramours who try to put a wedge inbetween Gray and Pel's relationship that make the story interesting. The secondary side love story of Pel's brother Rhys is passionate, sexy and sweet, although a bit short and should really have its own story. Overall the book is sensual perfection and not to be missed.

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    C Slow

    Couldn't even get through half the book. Story line is extremely slow.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2007

    Her Usual Stunning Best

    Lady Pelham and Gerard Faulkner, Marquess of Grayson, have a marriage most scandalous. Flouting the thin conventions of unions of convenience, they openly flaunt their preferences for other people in their respective beds. Not only that, but they dare to rub along well together, like rascally brother and doting sister. They strike a bargain--to never let love pollute the fine arrangement they have. Isabel has learned her lesson well regarding notorious rakes while Gerard is determined to enjoy his youth to the fullest: parties, routes, paramours and all the best inanities his money can buy. Why fix what isn't broken?****** But when tragedy strikes, Gerard disappears from Isabel's life completely. Fours years after, he returns home a changed man. Indeed, it is as if he is one for the very first time. Isabel isn't quite sure how to handle the serious, almost melancholy gentleman and soon his blatant interest in her turns her set routines into more of a crush than the Ton's famous balls. Everywhere she turns, Gerard stands, cajoling, begging, and teasing her body into unraveling its will to resist him. Suddenly, life's not as black and white as she'd like it to be and she begins to fear Gerard may have found a way into her guarded heart. When she begins to bend to the sway, will he know how to keep her heart safe?****** Ms. Day consistently pens storylines populated with characters readers can understand, sympathize with and grow to enjoy over the course of the book. The sensual atmosphere that is so much a part of her latest undulates beneath the surface constantly, occasionally boils over into full blazingly carnal delights and then simmers once more, teasing readers till the next exquisite encounter. Their passion is toe curling and yet at other times it is a dueling, one in which neither can fully give their hearts. At least not right away. The pacing works well throughout and there is a very interesting subplot involving Isabel's brother and a spinsterish miss. As wonderful as the writing was, I was left in wanting of more of their story. Other than that, The Stranger I Married is more than worthy to grace Ms. Day's bookshelf along with her previous installments. This is an auto buy author, a stunning mistress of sensually charged romance with characters of depth, engaging emotions and plots. Look for her next sensual historical, 'Passion for the Game', coming June 1, 2007. Reviewed for The Mystic Castle

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good book. I loved the characters. The cover. one of the be

    Very good book. I loved the characters. The cover. one of the better summer reads I enjoyed

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Spoiler Free Review 4 STARS out of 5 " I pledge my troth


    Spoiler Free Review
    4 STARS out of 5

    " I pledge my troth to you my wife. Not for my needs, as i did before, but for yours. You have given me so much- friendship, laughter, acceptance. You have never judged me or chastised. When i did not know who i was, you cared for me anyway." -Gerard in The Stranger I Married

    The once married Lady Pelham has no need for a man besides good company and sex. But when Lady Pelham(Isabel)is approached by a young Gerard Faulkner the Marquess of Grayson and he asks for her hand in marriage she can not believe it. She tells Gerard that he should be courting one of the young girls not a mature woman like herself. But her resistance proves to be ineffective because the proposal he gives is more tempting than ever. Faulkner has no wishes to be tied down with just one woman; and he knows that Lady Pelham does not desire to be tied to just one man.

    The Plan is to get married and live in companionship while having lovers to satisfy their sexual needs. Lady Pelham agrees to this and the two marry. Six months into the marriage Gerard receives a letter that changes everything. He leaves London and does not return for four years. When Garard does return he is a changed man he comes back to be with his wife and no one else. He expects the same from her, but Lady Pelham does not believe in giving away her heart again she is done with love. The Marquess of Grayson decides he will have her and will stop at nothing to win her heart!

    Thoughts
    I loved Pel and Grayson's relationship when they decided they wanted each other everyone else took a backseat for the show. I loved the sub- plot romance with Rhys and Abigal very, very steamy. This was my first historical romance and it will not be my last!

    My Ratings
    Characters- Lovable
    Writing Style- Good
    Plot/Storyline- Good
    Steam Factor- Very Steamy
    Overall- Enjoyable!!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2010

    VERY ANNOYING MARCHIONESS

    i am on page 154 of 248 and i have already grown tired of Isabel's "i want him, I don't want him" way. i gave it 2 stars because so far i like Grayson's character. I find myself rooting for Grayson's mother to be successful at her attempt to get Isabel separated from Grayson.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A fresh and very interesting regency romance

    In 1815 Lady Isabel Pelham and Lord Gerard Faulkner agree on a marriage of convenience as friends in which they can continue to pursue their ¿outside interests¿. She would remain Markham¿s mistress and he would continue to dally with Lady Sinclair, who carries his offspring. Months later he learns from his nasty mother that his beloved Emily died giving birth to his stillborn offspring. Shocked as he loved the married Emily, Gerald flees England.---------------- Four years later, Gerard returns to London no longer the carefree youth who enjoyed scandal. Instead he is gloomy and demanding. He informs his wife that he wants a real marriage with her. Stunned Pel prefers her freedom though his kisses are like none she ever tasted before. As Gerard seduces his wife with rough sexual encounters, they fall in love but neither will hand the power of that emotion to the other because trust outside of the bedroom remains lacking in their relationship.------------------ This is a fresh and very interesting regency romance that focuses on an older woman with a younger man scandalizing society when they married and more so when they fall in love. As a warning the hardball sex is graphic though well written and a major segment of the relationship that develops between this likable lead three dimensional (in and out of the boudoir) couple involves exploring sex. Sylvia Day spices up the sub-genre with her hot THE STRANGER I MARRIED historical relationship drama.------------- Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    ok

    Wasn't as good as the Crossfire serises. It was ok.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Not impressed

    I had high expectations because of Bared to You. This book did not do it for me and the end was like UGH! I skimmed thru it because the many love scenes and the dialogue just bored me. Kept expecting it to get better and it never did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Didn't hold interest

    I've read another of Sylvia Day's books but I did not like this one. It did not hold my interest nor did I find the characters to be well developed. I enjoyed Seven Years to Sin by her and also purchased Bared to You. That being said, I prefer a traditional book and the fact that this book was an ebook only may have added to my dislike.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I love a brooding hero

    Sylvia Day is a new author for me and after looking at this book several times I finally broke down and bought it. I loved it! The hero has a slight darkness to him (that brooding thing that I love) and I was entranced in their story. Now I hope that the other S.Day books are as good as this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2007

    Loved it!

    This is a must-have for any romance lover's library. Loved Grayson and Isabel - they're likeable characters with depth to them. Can't wait to Sylvia Day's other novels!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2014

    Two people who marry for the same reason.  In historical England

    Two people who marry for the same reason.  In historical England that is a rare gift.  Four years later it seems that everything has changed.  Now it appears each want something different.  Is it time to end a marriage that maybe never really had a chance to begin with?

    Usually at this point I tell a bit about the characters, to explain a bit more about them.  Most of the time, a short blurb doesn’t capture their true qualities.  I really don’t need to here.  The blurb does a fabulous job – their sensual appetites, wicked wits, provocative reputations, and their absolute refusal to ruin their marriage of convenience by falling in love.  That sums them both up to a tee.  Gerard wants his mother off his back about him getting married and Isabel wants the protection that marriage grants her with her lovers.  Both will get their wish with their unconventional marriage.

    Four years later and everything is the same, yet different.  Gerard receives a huge shock early in their marriage and suddenly leaves.  With no word from her husband during his absence, Isabel carries on with her life, the life they both agreed upon.  Once he returns, he is the one that has changed and now wants to reevaluate their marriage agreement.  Isabel will not go willingly.  She enjoys her life the way it is.  Gerard will have his hands full convincing her to agree to this new arrangement.

    Sylvia Day really knows how to tell a tale.  I was invested in this love story from the very beginning.  The Stranger I Married was beautifully written with amazing heart and passion.  You could feel his pain and her determination.  Even with such strong willed people they didn’t stand a chance.  They were both too well suited to be nothing short of a wonderful couple.  This novel had it all, grandeur, blazing hot sex, richly detailed characters and a storyline that was unique.  I also loved, loved, loved the extra bonus of Trenton.  Isabel couldn’t ask for a better brother.

    Fabulous historical read with just the right about of scorching sex and a plot that was simply amazing.  I couldn’t put it down and if you like/love this genre, I highly doubt you will be disappointed and I would recommend it over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Eh...

    Gratuitous sex that does nothing to further the story plot + modern language and trrminology in a supposedly historical setting = too many distractions to keep me interested. Didn't even get 1/3 the way through, much less inished it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    From the moment I read the description I was hooked. Reading the

    From the moment I read the description I was hooked. Reading the book only made it so I couldn't put my book down. I  can't wait to read more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Recommended!

    Loved this book! This is one of my favorite Silvia Day books. Great love story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Read and enjoy

    I enjoyed the storyline and the discoveries that author presents throughout it, engaging. The steamy interludes were well described and very heated. A book to enjoy over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2013

    Great stories

    Great story, characters and plenty of sexy scenes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Must read

    I enjoyed this book alot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Most romance novels end with a marriage leaving you to speculate as to what happens after the nuptials; however it’s safe to assume that we’re to believe that the couple lives happily ever after. ‘The Stranger I Married’ starts with a marriage and is punctuated with the highs and lows of friendship, lust, and love between two people that may not have wed under the most desirable of conditions, but ultimately find what they need in one another to make life worth living.

    I enjoyed the characters immensely. Given that this was a period novel I found it refreshing that Pel was portrayed as a worldlier woman in high society fawned over not because she was virginal, but rather because she knew what she wanted in and out of the bedroom. Grayson’s character was equally intriguing showing a true vulnerability that you don’t find with most male leads in this style of book. I found the two main characters together to be a truly dynamic combination that had me racing to the next page to see how events would culminate.

    ‘The Stranger I Married’ is an excellent novel that I not only recommend, but would gladly read again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 138 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7