Customer Reviews for

Stranger in Paradise (Jesse Stone Series #7)

Average Rating 4
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Exciting

This was such an exciting thriller. I especially liked the real life imperfections of the characters. It read like a true life story. I love Parker's books.

posted by Anonymous on February 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Much Ado About Little or Nothing

A shallow take on how lawmen and outlaws are connected, and sometimes, mutually supportive.

posted by Desert-Square on April 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2008

    Exciting

    This was such an exciting thriller. I especially liked the real life imperfections of the characters. It read like a true life story. I love Parker's books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    solid thriller

    Apache hit man Wilson 'Crow' Cromartie brazenly walks into the office of Paradise, Massachusetts Chief of Police Jesse Stone to ask the cop to make his latest consulting job easier. Jesse reminds Crow that a decade ago, he was part of a gang that executed a deadly heist on nearby affluent Stiles Island. Crow says he had nothing to do with the homicides as he was forced to flee on a speedboat from a dangerous shootout, which Jesse reminds him led to the death of two police officers. --- Louis Francisco, reputed crime boss of South Florida, hired Crow because he knows the Paradise coast and has a reputation for success. He wants Crow to find his daughter and report back to his client for further instruction. Jesse says he will discuss an arrest with the ADA. After Crow leaves Jesse tells his staff that Crow freed the female hostages because he does not kill women, but when it comes to men, he is STONE COLD. --- Crow informs Louis he found Amber living in poverty with her mother Fiona. Louis orders Crow to kill Fiona and bring Amber to him. Since he does not murder women, Crow brazenly tells Jesse to protect Fiona. The question for Jesse is whether Crow will abduct Amber to take her south complicating matters is his ex wife TV reporter Jenn is involved as she investigates local teen gang activity. --- Crow steals the show with his odd but fascinating morality that enables him to double cross clients as he did ten years ago, kill men in cold blood, steal from the dead, and not harm a woman. Jess is at his best when he reluctantly collaborates with Crow he is at his worst when he begins to reconcile with Jenn ignoring her sexual betrayals to further her career that turned him into an alcoholic, which in turn cost him his LAPD job. Time lines since LA and the Stiles Island caper aside, this is a solid thriller, but Robert B. Parker needs one more DEATH IN PARADISE so that Jess can stop obsessing over Jenn. --- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Still a little sad at the death of Robert B. Parker...

    Still a little sad at the death of Robert B. Parker, so, as a form of tribute to him, I thought I would try a little experiment with his new (and final) Jesse Stone novel -- "Split Image." Building off the comment I made in my review of his recent Spenser outing, "The Professional," and as a play with the "Split Image" title, I thought I would read "Split Image" and his 2008, "Stranger in Paradise" simultaneously.

    I wanted to test the precision of the plotting and the consistency of character. First, I read a couple of chapters of "Stranger..." and then went to "Split..." for several chapters and back and forth through the two books. Amazing. They were a split image. Not only did they share Parker's Hemingwayesque sparseness but they were seamless in character, locale and plot.

    Parker turned formulaic into familiar and the familiar in comforting. He is a real joy to read -- even two at a time -- and will be missed. I think there is one last Spenser in the pipeline -- "Painted Ladies" due in October 2010. So, all is not lost, yet.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Much Ado About Little or Nothing

    A shallow take on how lawmen and outlaws are connected, and sometimes, mutually supportive.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2009

    I quit

    I have been a Parker fan since the first Spenser novel and have tried to read everything. Jesse and Sunny have been welcome additions to the canon and I have tried to give the benefit of a doubt when the plots got tired. In this novel Crow is a pale imitation of Hawk who is an enduring character while Crow flies by night. Without giving any plot away, Maggie completely blows it for me and I will not read another of these books. Suit is bad enough but he at least has some guilt and humility. Sorry Parker but you lose this round.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2008

    A needed addition

    In future Jesse Stone novels, a map of Paradise, especially of the harbor, Paradise Neck, and Stiles Island, would be helpful.Also,you might include this map in reprints.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2008

    Parkers batting average

    Another 5 star winner from Parker. I have read all of his books and have never been dissapointed. The Parker phraseology is always the same and that make's it more fun for me. I truly regard him as my favorite author ... Looking forward to his next work....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2014

    Parker is the BEST!

    Another great book by Robert Parker. Excellent story line, and written so you can picture the events as if they were real life. Consistent characters who have their human flaws, but work through them to solve the crimes. I always enjoy his books and this one is no exception. HIGHLY recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    The best Jesse Stone novel I have read so far. Couldn't put it d

    The best Jesse Stone novel I have read so far. Couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Jesse Stone rambles on

    When reading Robert Parker you don't expect high literature, whatever that may be. But you know what you get : fast-paced, written like an oncoming train, recognizable characters and a plot that is not so hard to unravel, but still a 'good' read. Enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2010

    Really a 'Novella'.

    The hardcover is big enough that a Parker fan may think a perfect read for a rainy weekend or weekend trip. The story is a great addition to "the Crow Saga" and has the usual twists and dark room persona's and is a book you might not put down until it's done.
    That won't take long actually as I was done reading this book not long after I first opened it. A great read while sitting out on a bench taking a break or on a plane trip, but bring an extra sometthing to read if the flight is more than 2 hours.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Will hook you on series

    Anyone familiar with crime stories is no doubt familiar with Robert B. Parker and his hugely successful books including the Spenser and Jesse Stone series. Stranger in Paradise is an entry from the Jesse Stone series that demonstrates why many consider Parker to be a master of the genre.

    Jesse Stone, once a Los Angeles cop, drunk and now police chief in the quiet Massachusetts town of Paradise, is dismayed when Wilson Crowmartie, an Apache hit man, walks into his office. The last time "Crow" was in Paradise was ten years ago when he was part of a group that kidnapped and killed people at the nearby Stiles Island. Crow managed to escape with a hefty ten million dollar booty.

    Stone is naturally concerned, but this time, Crow wants his help. He has been hired to find a fourteen-year-old girl, Amber and simply wants Stone to stay out of his way. But when Amber's father wants the girl's mother killed, Crow asks for Stone's help. It seems the heartless hit man "doesn't kill women." The two work together, never trusting each other, to save the girl, free her from the clutches of a ruthless gang member, while also dealing with the girl's mobster father and his thugs.

    Parker's easy writing style, where most of the text is conversation, quickly draws the reader into a fast reading crime story. Jesse Stone, Crow and the other characters are well developed and I found myself caring what happened to each. While Crow's animal magnetism, drawing every female into his arms, was a bit of a stretch, the overall story of saving the teen was quick and enthralling. This book has hooked me on the series.

    Quill says: Whether you're a die-hard Jesse Stone/Robert Parker fan, or a newbie to these books, Stranger in Paradise will draw you in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    ANOTHER HIT IN THE JESSE STONE SERIES.

    I CAN'T WAIT FOR THE NEXT BOOKS IN THIS SERIES. THEY ARE WRITTREN WITH GREAT HUMOR AND HAVE WONDERFUL CHARACTERS. THE CHARACTERS COME ALIVE AND I WANT TO KNOW WHAT ELSE WILL HAPPEN IN THEIR LIVES. JESSE IS A FABULOUS HERO TYPE. HE IS FLAWED BUT IS STRONG. HE IS THE PERSON YOU'D WANT ON YOUR SIDE. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK AND THE ENTIRE SERIES.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Stranger in Paradise...

    The only reason I finished this novel is that I was on a four hour plane ride and had nothing else to do. This book was not well written and was filled with run-ons and a lack of fluidity. Everyone said things, but no one asked, murmured, or showed any inflection in their speech. The cover has nothing to do with the novel. The whole book was filled with rather vulgar innuendo. I don't suggest this book to anyone who wants to read a mystery.
    The book was slightly humerous which was its one redeeming factor, and I enjoyed Jesse's bluntness and Molly's character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Escapism

    Jesse Stone had been one of my favorites from the beginning. That's about all can say. I always look forward to the next adventure in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fun read!!!!

    I like the characters and their relationships with one another. The story is unique and pushes you not to put the book down. Keeps you looking for the next Jesse Stone story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    OOOOh that Jesse Stone

    Another great book in Jesse Stone series. Loved this one just like all of the others. Could not put it down, had to read to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    stranger in paradise

    AS WITH ALL OF THE JESSE STONE NOVLES THIS ONE IS EXCELLENT IN ALL ASPECTS. PLOT, SUSPENSE, CHARACTERS., ROBERT B PARKER IS AMAZING IN HIS ABLITY TO HOLD YOUR ATTENTION.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the Best Jesse Stone novels--Like the returning "bad guy"

    Quick Read - Interesting "returning bad guy"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2008

    Paradise for Jesse Stone fans

    Solid suspense involving Florida gangster Louis Francisco, who enlists hitman/'fixer' Wilson Cromartie (from previous Jesse Stone entry 'Trouble In Paradise') to kidnap wayward daughter Amber from his ex-wife Fiona. They're living below the poverty line in Paradise and Amber is entangled with a local gangbanger, who happens to be involved with the same crew that Stone's ex-wife and TV news reporter Jenn is investigating. 'Crow' slipped through Stone's fingers years before after a spectacular and deadly heist on nearby Stiles Island, and now asks him to look the other way while he takes care of business. But when Francisco orders the hitman to kill Fiona, Stone's hand is forced - not only to protect the fourteen year old girl and her mother, but also to prevent Jenn from becoming the latest victim of lethal gang violence. With shades of the quietly menacing Hawke from the Spenser novels, Wilson Cromartie has a welcome return and the taciturn Jesse Stone gets more engaging and complicated with each book. And Parker's lean, staccato prose gives 'Stranger In Paradise' a headlong narrative drive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3