Customer Reviews for

Stranger Than Fiction: True Stories

Average Rating 4
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great book!!

Typical Palahniuk. Some of the stories were ¿creepy¿ and others just bizarre, but all were brutally honest. The more I read Chuck Palahniuk books, the more I begin to consider changing the order of my ¿top-five favorite authors.¿ He is starting to rank up there, with Vo...
Typical Palahniuk. Some of the stories were ¿creepy¿ and others just bizarre, but all were brutally honest. The more I read Chuck Palahniuk books, the more I begin to consider changing the order of my ¿top-five favorite authors.¿ He is starting to rank up there, with Vonnegut, and Heller, just to name a few. I would recommend this book to anyone that is interested in the bizarre or weird parts of life. This book is complied of a bunch of stories the authors put together that he personally observed over the years as he was reaping in the fame of Fight Club. It is my opinion that Chuck Palahniuk has a great eye for observing the stranger things in life that most of us would probably miss, and he details it in a way that lets the reader re-live the moment as if the reader had been there when it happened. The book I would sum up has entertaining!!

posted by Anonymous on January 11, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not his shining star, but a star none-the-less

Chuck Palahniuk's 1st attempt at non fiction leaves much to be desired. I am usually blown away by his fictional novels. Lonely, odd characters with sometimes skewed perceptions of the world around them. However, with Stranger than Fiction - which is made up of short st...
Chuck Palahniuk's 1st attempt at non fiction leaves much to be desired. I am usually blown away by his fictional novels. Lonely, odd characters with sometimes skewed perceptions of the world around them. However, with Stranger than Fiction - which is made up of short stories, a few small glimpses inside his own life, the rest written about people he has met and places he has been - leaves me wanting. I will say that each story is written uniquely, some more captivating than others. To be honest, after reading Confessions in Stone, and Not Chasing Amy, I went online and pulled up additional information on them. Always well written, Chuck has a very appealing voice. I have to tell you, though, i am hungry for more of his fiction.... Stick to what you're best at Chuck!

posted by Anonymous on September 4, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2005

    Great book!!

    Typical Palahniuk. Some of the stories were ¿creepy¿ and others just bizarre, but all were brutally honest. The more I read Chuck Palahniuk books, the more I begin to consider changing the order of my ¿top-five favorite authors.¿ He is starting to rank up there, with Vonnegut, and Heller, just to name a few. I would recommend this book to anyone that is interested in the bizarre or weird parts of life. This book is complied of a bunch of stories the authors put together that he personally observed over the years as he was reaping in the fame of Fight Club. It is my opinion that Chuck Palahniuk has a great eye for observing the stranger things in life that most of us would probably miss, and he details it in a way that lets the reader re-live the moment as if the reader had been there when it happened. The book I would sum up has entertaining!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An incredible collection of stories from a master storyteller

    As an avid reader of Palahniuk's fiction, I wasn't sure how to feel about this non-fiction collection. However, I was blown away by this book. Palahniuk's voice is an honest, hard-hitting force that cannot be stopped. He tackles harsh topics [sex festivals, the use of steroids], interesting stories [men who make castles, the life of amateur wrestlers, marilyn manson's interpretation of tarot cards], and intensely personal experiences [his father's murder, his volunteer work at a hospice]. Even the introduction, a short essay about writing techniques, is brilliant. This collection of extremely interesting, often disturbing true stories is a masterpiece - add it to your reading list.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2004

    Thought i was getting a lot, and got more.

    I just bought Chuck's book 3 days ago, because of work i could not finish it in one sitting, but after reading half-way through it i could not put it down, i think this book teached me how to be a good writer, you need to connect with your surroundings, and if you want to be a better writer, you need to live life 110% percent more than you are know. by doing that, youll recolect experiences as cool and life enduring as him, if you dont already have them you just dont realize it. Chuck would be surprised at the amount of hungry fans he has in Mexico, especially in the border El Paso Texas, Juarez Mexico.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2004

    Amazing as usual

    This is yet another great book from Chuck Palahniuk. If you have enjoyed other works of his, than you will love this. Also, if you are a first-time reader this is a great one to start with. Also, a note, don't look for the much talked about piece, 'Guts', in this book. It will not be out until 2005 in a book called 'Haunted.'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    ---BETRAYED---by Alfred F. Jones

    The sound of bombs exploding shook the bomb shelter where Germany and Italy hid. Italy sobbed as she held on to the blonde Germans arm for dear life. Germany held Italy and listened carefully...the bombs continued. He wondered how much damage his country was taking. As the bombs stopped, Germany stood up and held his arm out to Italy, "i think its over." Italy wiped her eyes and took his hand as she stood up too. Germany hesitated to let go of her hand but quickly turned and opened the door of the bunker and climbed a small ladder out. He looked down and nodded a quick, "its okay," to Italy. They stood shoulder to shoulder, staring at the damage. The Allies had nearly leveled the land! Germany didnt care...it could all be fixed. He would sacrifice anything to protect his ally and friend. Italy followed close behind Germany as they walked towards his home where Italy was staying. When they entered the home, Italy pulled up her sleeves and crossed her arms then headed straight for the kitchen without a word. Ludwig walked upstairs to his office and winced at the very large pile of paperwork that had gathered at his desk. He walked past the mound of papers to the window. The stern German smiled and opened the curtains to see a big red flag with a white circle in the middle. In that circle was a bold black swastika. Hitler was a good man, he thought, and he was ridding the country of the filthy Jews to make a perfect Germany. A perfect Germany. Feliciano entered the room with a plate of sphaghetti and set it on Ludwigs desk, then looked out the window where Germany stood. "Isnt it beautiful? Im going to be perfect!" He said proudly and smiled at Italy. The small Italian woman only smiled weakly and nodded then slowly walked out of the room. Ludwig frowned and closed the curtains. The pasta smell wafted from the desk and he sat down to it. There was nothing like the taste of Italys pasta, and Germany always cleaned his plate. Everytime he asked what she did to make it taste so good, she would always say, "Ve~made with love!" He laughed and lifted his fork to take another bite but stopped as heard yelling and sobbing from Feliciono's room. Germany quickly stood and rushed to the room and opened the door, "Italiono?! Are you okay?" Italy turned and sobbed again, holding a cell phone to her ear. "I have to go Romano. Si. I promise. No i- okay. Bye." Italy sighed and sobbed again as she set down the phone. Germany was suprised, the phone calls between Italy and her sister rarely ended in tears. Ludwig stepped close in front of the young woman and lifted her chin, "Whats wrong?" Italy turned her head away and said, "Nothing, Romano is just being mean." She sat down on her bed and stared at the ground. Germany kneeled down and looked up into her eyes. "Italy, whats wrong?" Feli shook her head, "You'll hate me Lud! You really will!" Germany chuckled at the ridiculous thought and shook his head. He stood up and leaned down to her level. "I promise...i will never let anyone hurt you. Ich liebe dich...ja." Italys eyes widened at Ludwigs words and Germany pressed his lips to hers. He pulled away and looked at her. "Now, whats wrong?" Italy sighed and pulled on the end of a chain on her neck. There, on the gold chain, was a Star of David. The Jewish symbol. Ludwig took a step back in horror. This changed everything. ---Authors Note: Thanks for reading this! Chapter 2 will be out soon in the next result! I hope you enjoyed Chapter 1 of "Betrayed." :) ---

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1