Customer Reviews for

The Strangler

Average Rating 4
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

fine historical thriller

In 1962 Boston, someone shoots and kills Irish-American police officer Joe Daley, Sr. in an alley while he is on duty. His three sons, Joe the cop, Ricky the thief, and Michael the lawyer grieve the loss of the family patriarch while the widow, their mother Margaret, d...
In 1962 Boston, someone shoots and kills Irish-American police officer Joe Daley, Sr. in an alley while he is on duty. His three sons, Joe the cop, Ricky the thief, and Michael the lawyer grieve the loss of the family patriarch while the widow, their mother Margaret, did her grieving gig for a year and now lives with the late cop¿s partner, Brendan Conroy. --- Her offspring detest Brendan and are angry with their mother for sleeping with the person they hold culpable in their dad¿s death as they wonder if he set up Joe to walk point into an ambush and why a cop killer has not been caught. However the three sons have their own issues to contend with. To pay off his enormous gambling debt to the mob Joe Jr., works for Vinny 'The Animal' Gargano. Gangster Capobianco wants Rickey beaten to a pulp for stealing diamonds from someone who pays the hooligan for protection. Michael, who works in Eminent Domain Division of the Attorney General's Office insists that Albert DeSalvo is not the Strangler, but instead just a lunatic seeking fifteen minutes of fame. When Ricky's girlfriend Amy is murdered with the Strangler¿ MO while DeSalvo is a guest of the state, the Attorney General claims he did the crime anyway Michael with the help of his siblings investigates the latest homicide. --- Using the Boston Strangler as a key link and reference point, William Landay provides a fascinating look at family bonds cemented by an odd form of honor and even stranger type of justice. The tale also implies that DeSalvo was not the Strangler, but Mr. Landay employs his theory more as an aside in support of his overall theme of unity during a crisis. Suspense thriller fans will appreciate this fine historical thriller. --- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good read

I read his last book, Defending Jacob, before this book. While this was a good read, I think I had high expectations based on the greatness of Jacob. Still a good book and would recommend.

posted by 12503560 on September 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fine historical thriller

    In 1962 Boston, someone shoots and kills Irish-American police officer Joe Daley, Sr. in an alley while he is on duty. His three sons, Joe the cop, Ricky the thief, and Michael the lawyer grieve the loss of the family patriarch while the widow, their mother Margaret, did her grieving gig for a year and now lives with the late cop¿s partner, Brendan Conroy. --- Her offspring detest Brendan and are angry with their mother for sleeping with the person they hold culpable in their dad¿s death as they wonder if he set up Joe to walk point into an ambush and why a cop killer has not been caught. However the three sons have their own issues to contend with. To pay off his enormous gambling debt to the mob Joe Jr., works for Vinny 'The Animal' Gargano. Gangster Capobianco wants Rickey beaten to a pulp for stealing diamonds from someone who pays the hooligan for protection. Michael, who works in Eminent Domain Division of the Attorney General's Office insists that Albert DeSalvo is not the Strangler, but instead just a lunatic seeking fifteen minutes of fame. When Ricky's girlfriend Amy is murdered with the Strangler¿ MO while DeSalvo is a guest of the state, the Attorney General claims he did the crime anyway Michael with the help of his siblings investigates the latest homicide. --- Using the Boston Strangler as a key link and reference point, William Landay provides a fascinating look at family bonds cemented by an odd form of honor and even stranger type of justice. The tale also implies that DeSalvo was not the Strangler, but Mr. Landay employs his theory more as an aside in support of his overall theme of unity during a crisis. Suspense thriller fans will appreciate this fine historical thriller. --- Harriet Klausner

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    STEAMROLLER SUSPENSE AND COMPELLING DIALOGUE

    The early 1960s were tumultuous times in this country - our President was assassinated and the City of Boston, often thought of as a cultural and historic mecca, was riddled with fear. Eleven women had been murdered, some of them also raped by a man who earned the sobriquet Boston Strangler. Police were stymied, and citizens in an uproar. There was a man, Albert DeSalvo, who confessed to the murders. He had able defense - F. Lee Bailey. Following a few rounds of legal maneuvering DeSalvo was given life for the rapes. Later, he would be killed in prison. There were and are many who do not believe he was the Boston Strangler. These events are the launching pad for William Landay's mesmerizing second novel, The Strangler. We meet the Daleys, an Irish cop family if there ever was one. Daley the elder was a policeman killed in the line of duty. His three sons are a complex trio. Joe, the eldest, is a cop with problems - $20,000 worth of them. He's an inveterate gambler and soon finds himself so far in debt to the mob that there seems no way out. Middle son Michael is a lawyer via Harvard who works for an attorney general with aspirations. Michael who is assigned to the Strangler case is described by his mother as ' ....her most finely calibrated son, the quickest to take offense and the slowest to forgive'. Youngest son Ricky? He's very accomplished........at stealing jewels. There you have them save for their widowed mother who is being courted by their late father's best friend. At this point in time DeSalvo is imprisoned but there are still many questions about the case. Then another woman, a friend of the Daley's, is murdered in the Strangler manner. Landay's novel has it all - steam roller suspense, compelling dialogue, and a plot propelled by actual events. It's a sure winner! - Gail Cooke

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Awesome story

    It kept me reading it til I finshed the book I loved it, this author is great!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    Couldn't put it down

    I loved this book. Fun to read about Boston neighborhoods you are familiar with. Held my interest and loved the twist at the end.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2012

    Excellent Read

    Landay's writing style is unique. The reader is forced to speculate on a situational outcome only to be surprised with the truth of the event in the next few pages. This book is right up there with Defending Jacob. Both, an excellent read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Good read

    I read his last book, Defending Jacob, before this book. While this was a good read, I think I had high expectations based on the greatness of Jacob. Still a good book and would recommend.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    good book

    Enjoying this author

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Hated this book

    I didn't finish reading this book, even though I was down to less than 50 pages. I kept trying but finally gave up. I did'nt care about the characters. This book started out very confusing and took too long to get anywhere. The story line was not believable. I would't recommend it to anyone.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2013

    Interesting enough.  Found the writing style perhaps a little to

    Interesting enough.  Found the writing style perhaps a little too expository when a more lean narrative would have  moved the  story along.
    Not sure I believed in the characters.  They seemed not to ring true.  More stereotypical characters you see in films rather than in real life.  
    Defending Jacob, Landay's recent best seller, is a more compelling and satisfying read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Great

    This book is great.the book is based of a true story and it should be made into movie


    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A CONTROLLED, COMPELLING READING

    The early 1960s were tumultuous times in this country - our President was assassinated and the City of Boston, often thought of as a cultural and historic mecca, was riddled with fear. Eleven women had been murdered, some of them also raped by a man who earned the sobriquet Boston Strangler. Police were stymied, and citizens in an uproar. There was a man, Albert DeSalvo, who confessed to the murders. He had able defense - F. Lee Bailey. Following a few rounds of legal maneuvering DeSalvo was given life for the rapes. Later, he would be killed in prison. There were and are many who do not believe he was the Boston Strangler. These events are the launching pad for William Landay's mesmerizing second novel, The Strangler. We meet the Daleys, an Irish cop family if there ever was one. Daley the elder was a policeman killed in the line of duty. His three sons are a complex trio. Joe, the eldest, is a cop with problems - $20,000 worth of them. He's an inveterate gambler and soon finds himself so far in debt to the mob that there seems no way out. Middle son Michael is a lawyer via Harvard who works for an attorney general with aspirations. Michael who is assigned to the Strangler case is described by his mother as ' ....her most finely calibrated son, the quickest to take offense and the slowest to forgive'. Youngest son Ricky? He's very accomplished........at stealing jewels. There you have them save for their widowed mother who is being courted by their late father's best friend. At this point in time DeSalvo is imprisoned but there are still many questions about the case. Then another woman, a friend of the Daley's, is murdered in the Strangler manner. Landay's novel has it all - steam roller suspense, compelling dialogue, and a plot propelled by actual events. It's a sure winner! Voice performer Stephen Hoye is another winner as his narration attests. His reading is controlled, compelling as he easily segues from character to character allowing the story, the words to take center stage. - Gail Cooke

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Liked it a lot

    Good easy read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Wouldn't recommend

    Slow moving, boring, and highly predictable. Hard to like after reading Preston and Childs, James Rollins, or Jeffrey Deaver.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    Erika

    Name look up LOOKS long blonde hair blue eyes tall tan camp half blood shirt short shorts GODLY PARENT Apollo AGE15 WEAPONS bow and arrow HOBBIES music art archery PERSONALITY fun funny attractive dare devil. STATUS single

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    Vicmars Bio

    FULL NAME: Victor Mars
    REAL NAME: Victor Mendizabal
    AGE: 13
    GODLY PARENT: Apollo
    HOBBIES: Reading, Archery, and Playing Video Games
    LIKES: Pizza, Drawing, Cats, Candy, Cats & Dogs, and Mythology
    DISLIKES: Onions, Parrots That Bite, Sisters, and Bossy Peeps
    PERSONALITY: Nice, Kind, Forgetful, Distracted, and Distracting.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    Astrid's bio

    Name Astrid Lachance age14 parent Apollo and/or Demeter face super light blue eyes and blond hair in a braid is good at: archery. competitions . Gymnastycs video games music singing and other stuff. Likes art music hunting.games (and a lot of other stuff i am not gonna say cause im bored ) is super pretty.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I've read over some of the reviews for Landay's book and see the

    I've read over some of the reviews for Landay's book and see they often are at one extreme or the other - people love it and other readers hate it. I don't typically walk away from a book without a strong feeling either way, but I do with this one. It is well written and well told; it also has some good twists and plot developments. Overall, though, it seemed to be lacking "something" - be it a strong overall plot, a better ending, deeper characters - "something" just seemed missing all the way through. This was particularly true for the final third of the book. I was enjoying it overall until then, but suddenly reached a point where I was just trying to read it quickly to get finished. Tough one to recommend for you to read or avoid. Sorry!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    Terrible

    I read this bc i liked defending jacob so much, but this was aweful. It was disconnected, several story lines with unrealistic relevance to eachother. It didn't have the suspernse it could have if he stuck with the strangler line. Instead he did this familky angle thgat wasn't necessary or a help to the story. Don't buy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Excellent!

    Having read the first three Landay novels, I await the next with the conviction that Landay will not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    POOP

    It is supid

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3