Customer Reviews for

Strawberry Mansion: A Philadelphia Story

Average Rating 4.5
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Life as it really is!

This a tale of three young women who learn life's lessons the hard way. They form a bond of friendship and family that makes their journey through heartache and violence bearable. There is so much truth in here you wonder how much is fiction and how much isn't. What the...
This a tale of three young women who learn life's lessons the hard way. They form a bond of friendship and family that makes their journey through heartache and violence bearable. There is so much truth in here you wonder how much is fiction and how much isn't. What these women live through happens daily. An outstanding tale of life in Philadelphia, one that is lived by thousands across the country. Well done Julia Press Simmons!

posted by Anonymous on July 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

I need help

Have not read the book yet but wanted to know if anyone knew how I added nook friends and how the lend me thing works? I have 0 nook friends but lots of books that i would like to lend and borrow. Also is there anyone willing to lend me this book?

posted by MrsScribe on January 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    I need help

    Have not read the book yet but wanted to know if anyone knew how I added nook friends and how the lend me thing works? I have 0 nook friends but lots of books that i would like to lend and borrow. Also is there anyone willing to lend me this book?

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2008

    Life as it really is!

    This a tale of three young women who learn life's lessons the hard way. They form a bond of friendship and family that makes their journey through heartache and violence bearable. There is so much truth in here you wonder how much is fiction and how much isn't. What these women live through happens daily. An outstanding tale of life in Philadelphia, one that is lived by thousands across the country. Well done Julia Press Simmons!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Ive been holding onto this book for some time now so im happy I

    Ive been holding onto this book for some time now so im happy I finally sat down and read it. This was a quick read, the story is so heartfelt and reminds you that everyone has a story, and it doesnt matter how close you are to them you may not know their story until later.

    The story followed three teenage girls who were all best friends and each had their own family issues that they were trying to deal with and help each other with.

    Tabitha is the oldest of the girls, but that doesnt really mean she is the wisest. As you get to know Tabitha you begin to feel sorry for her and her daughter because of the way her baby father treats them.

    Lisa is the girl who is quick to defend her friends but you come to see what she cant/ wont stand up for herself. She goes through so much within her family that she leave thinking that would bring her mother closer to her but it doesnt work since Lisa's step father has been molesting her since she was younger. As you read and learn more about Lisa since is just your average teenager looking for someone to love her they way she should be loved, but will she find that?

    Shanice is the youngest and she is a mess! You can tell that so much is going on between her and her mother and she doesnt know how to address it so she starts to act out and her friends are the ones who try to keep her level headed... but will it work?

    At the end each girl is connected in a way that will bring them closer than what they already are. At the end of the day all these girls had were each other and in some way that really proves to be enough for them.

    A really good read and I enjoyed It I will e reading the rest of the series!

    **Nook Readers**

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Great read

    I loved this book. I loved that everyone had a voice. You never had to wonder what someone was thinking. I'm currenting a masters student and I don't have much time to read for fun. This book was the perfect lengh.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    Wanted more but still a good read...

    This book starts off the series on the right note; there are books and they intertwine nicely. This one gives us some good substance and speaks to some real life issues. However I felt that the story was rushed towards the end need closure on a few things related to the key characters. Then best part was the surprise revelation cudos to the author for this really saved the story for me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    I think it is a great read for young adults...the story of these

    I think it is a great read for young adults...the story of these 3 young ladies that have to learn lessons the hard way because of the choices they made but throughout it all their bond and loyalty to one another is what helps them through

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Rejoice

    I enjoyed this book. The story line was good and lessons were learned. Would recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Nice

    This was a very up lifting story about life and the choices we make. Found one error and the song that mention it was an Ashford and Simpson song noy Isley Brother.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Strawberry Masion

    I had to stop reading this book several different time,To absorb some of the contented. The rough and curel treatment That the three women absorb was to much for me to handle. I became angry. Abuse come in my form.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Good read

    Cant wait to read the next book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    Hunter

    This gus is a fake...imposter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Poolstar

    I hate imposters. Rp a cat at new pools. Go to...... third result I think.... or second. Not first

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    Scorge

    He hides underneath the sofa

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    Kitten

    Why did you bring me here?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    Hunter

    Drops the kit. They are in a house with no windows, and only one metal door, which is closed and locked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Heartfelt

    I had a crazy xonnection w/this book. It most certainly pulled at your heart strings. Welcome to the mind of Julia. Shes becoming one of my favorite authors for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Baby

    Reaches up to be picked up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    Spottedkit

    Layed down coughing and her face looking pale

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    Ivykit

    She nods and stumbles there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    Addervenom

    -she pads to BlazeClan to report.-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6