Customer Reviews for

Strawberry Shortcake Murder (Hannah Swensen Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 284 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(132)

4 Star

(92)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Strawberry Shortcake Murder

I really enjoyed this book, although it is just summer fluff reading. The recipes sound great, and the plot line is mostly interesting, although there is a little too much detail at parts. To be honest, I like her writing style and appreciate the slight overuse of detai...
I really enjoyed this book, although it is just summer fluff reading. The recipes sound great, and the plot line is mostly interesting, although there is a little too much detail at parts. To be honest, I like her writing style and appreciate the slight overuse of detail, since any story I write lacks in that specific area. I found the ending hilarious! Although in the last book I had absolutely no idea who the murderer was right up until they pulled out the gun, this one was a bit more predictable. Overall, a great book, and I just bought the next in the series! Can't wait to read it!:). Also, as an afterthought, if you haven't yet read the series, and I know I haven't read that far into it either, but anyways, the first book is my personal favorite, so you should read it!!!~Anonymous Reviewer

posted by Anonymous on June 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Call me crazy but i always enjoy these books!

No, they are not the most exciting or intriguing mysteries but i always enjoy them. The situations are so mundane that i find it interesting that the author can turn them into murder mysteries. Also, i love cookbooks almost as much as i love mysteries so the recipes ar...
No, they are not the most exciting or intriguing mysteries but i always enjoy them. The situations are so mundane that i find it interesting that the author can turn them into murder mysteries. Also, i love cookbooks almost as much as i love mysteries so the recipes are a great bonus. Cant wait to try some.

posted by Anonymous on June 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 288 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Strawberry Shortcake Murder

    I really enjoyed this book, although it is just summer fluff reading. The recipes sound great, and the plot line is mostly interesting, although there is a little too much detail at parts. To be honest, I like her writing style and appreciate the slight overuse of detail, since any story I write lacks in that specific area. I found the ending hilarious! Although in the last book I had absolutely no idea who the murderer was right up until they pulled out the gun, this one was a bit more predictable. Overall, a great book, and I just bought the next in the series! Can't wait to read it!:). Also, as an afterthought, if you haven't yet read the series, and I know I haven't read that far into it either, but anyways, the first book is my personal favorite, so you should read it!!!~Anonymous Reviewer

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    Fun Reading

    I hope I'm not at an affair with Hannah, Jessica Fletcher, Dick Van Dyke, and a few others in the same room, I'm leaving because there's sure to be a body! I just happened to see the Apple Pie Mystery, bought the book and have enjoyed it so much I'm always looking for new ones to buy. I don't keep them in my book case, but in my kitchen. Some reciepies look fun to try. Always making me laugh, sometimes hungry. Thanks From a Des Miones, Iowa satisified reader

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Delightful amateur sleuth tale

    The citizens of Lake Eden, Minnesota are very proud of hosting the first annual Hartland Flour Dessert Bake-off. Bakery owner, Hannah Swensen is the head judge and even makes it on the evening news, showing how to bake strawberry shortcake. The first day of judging is not quite as smooth as the pre-event setup. Showing no tact, last minute replacement judge, Coach Boyd Watson accurately but viciously rips the desserts of four of the contestants, irritating everyone.<P> That night Boyd¿s wife Danielle calls Hannah pleading with her to come over quickly. Hannah does only to find someone murdered Boyd in his garage. All the circumstantial evidence points towards Hannah. She was a battered spouse and even now sports a black eye. Her fingerprints are on the murder weapon, a hammer. Finally the victim¿s blood is all over her clothing. Hannah believes Danielle did not kill Boyd, but she worries that even her best friend, police detective Mike Kensington, thinks the wife killed the abusive husband. Having solved a previous homicide (see CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIE MURDER), Hannah decides to investigate because she also realizes that in this election year, the sheriff, re-running for office, will want a fast solution.<P> THE STRAWBERRY SHORTCAKE MURDER is an entertaining amateur sleuth tale starring a person who seems more like a neighbor than a character in a book. The story line is fun and Chef Joanne Fluke, who proves with this tale that she is not a one-book fluke, bakes the who-done-it to a tasty morsel. Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Call me crazy but i always enjoy these books!

    No, they are not the most exciting or intriguing mysteries but i always enjoy them. The situations are so mundane that i find it interesting that the author can turn them into murder mysteries. Also, i love cookbooks almost as much as i love mysteries so the recipes are a great bonus. Cant wait to try some.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Definitely recommend for light reading

    Love this series...mainly because there is no blood and guts. And especially because it includes fab recipes in each book. Every one I have tried have been excellent. And there is a plot and humor included.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    Whose fernlight?

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2014

    Fun. Fun. Fun.

    Fun to read again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    Raven

    Uh hey anyone remember me?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Josh

    If u ever get back n. 412-709-9899

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Dash

    Hey. Walked in

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    REMINDER TO SELF

    &#9834 is &# 9834

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Seer

    This one is here~

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Ash 璘

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2014

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    NightMare

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Where is the question

    Agh

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    ~$triking 囑

    Answered #3

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Saphirre

    Hi u here

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Tigeris

    Brings down a wolf with her super sharp claws

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 288 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15