Customer Reviews for

Stray (Shifters Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 692 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(377)

4 Star

(183)

3 Star

(91)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Loved this book

I read a lot of books about shapeshifters and were creatures, I had never heard of a pride of shape shifting cats and that is why I picked up this book and I'm glad I did.
It has everthing a paranormal book needs to be good. a little romance, some drama, some blood and...
I read a lot of books about shapeshifters and were creatures, I had never heard of a pride of shape shifting cats and that is why I picked up this book and I'm glad I did.
It has everthing a paranormal book needs to be good. a little romance, some drama, some blood and gore and a lot of humor.
I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys the paranormal.

posted by 1234977 on April 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not great, but enought to keep reading.

Faythe is a spoiled 23 years old daddy's little girl, who still calls him "Daddy" through out the whole book. Many times I questioned her reasonings and decisions, she is selfishly stubborn and aggravating, at times even immature. At least she can hold her own! As far a...
Faythe is a spoiled 23 years old daddy's little girl, who still calls him "Daddy" through out the whole book. Many times I questioned her reasonings and decisions, she is selfishly stubborn and aggravating, at times even immature. At least she can hold her own! As far as the writting it's OK, but some part show inconsistency. For me this book didn't get interesting until half way, I was pretty satisfy then to the end.

posted by booklover1A1 on August 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted August 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not great, but enought to keep reading.

    Faythe is a spoiled 23 years old daddy's little girl, who still calls him "Daddy" through out the whole book. Many times I questioned her reasonings and decisions, she is selfishly stubborn and aggravating, at times even immature. At least she can hold her own! As far as the writting it's OK, but some part show inconsistency. For me this book didn't get interesting until half way, I was pretty satisfy then to the end.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2007

    Okay, but not great

    This was the first book, I reading from this author and I found it a little slow. The main character is a big whiner! She complain the whole time, I'm not sure that I will read it to the end. I have put the book down about ten time and the only thing making finish the book is that I do not like to leave thing unfinished. If you are going to buy this book I recommend checking it out from your local library.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    Kies

    (pronounced keys) A black she wolf with sleek dazzling fur padded nervously in

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    Good Book... but

    Okay, so the book has a lot of potential. It has a nice plot line, good supporting characters, and a nice romance. The only problem is the MAIN CHARACTER. She could possibly be the worst main character ever. She is incredibly selfish, and she seems to argue with everyone just for the hell of it. SO many of her actions and thoughts are unnecessary. I think most of them were just put there to fill pages. But Faythe is simply infuriating. When I got to the climax i literally just started skipping pages, because without the supporting cast I couldn't deal with her. The book is nice though, so if you can deal with her main character... you might just have a good read on you hands.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    Recommend

    This is a good back...in the begining and the end. The writer spends over 200 pages of the 364 wallowing in self pity, after a while I had lost respect the main character as she put herself before all others.
    The ending was nice even though she again lost sight of the goal.
    It's nice having stronger female leads...but for the love god, let her stop whinning!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wants to be Kelley Armstrong's Bitten

    Strong, stubborn Faythe Sanders is avoiding her responsibilities as a werecat. The daughter of a Pride Alpha, she's rebelious and has run off to college five years ago. The plot is pretty good but I have to say that the book bears a striking resemblance to another urban fantasy novel...Bitten by Kelley Armstrong, the first book in her best-selling Women of the Otherworld series. The only difference in the series is a love triangle that is hinted at but really develops in later books.

    It's not that it's a bad book. The plot is good, there are some real characters in this book--strong, flawed, and just plain warped. Abbey in particular is a minor but very strong. But the romance comes back to bite the reader repeatedly in the butt in the series and while that might attract other readers, I prefer less romantic drama (which settles down after Bitten in K.A's series). I suppose because this is Harlequin rather than Harper.

    Read the Kelley Armstrong and rent this from the library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    stray

    There are so many urban fantasy series out there with a tough heroine more often than not trying to prove something to the world or herself. Faythe, the werecat turned student, actually has my attention in this believable action-packed story about a young werecat trying to make a place for herself in a predominantly male society.

    She is a graduate student who is basically going to school to avoid her family - who she hasn't seen in give or take five years. Except for those sent to keep an eye on her over the years that is. But she had good reasons for leaving - being the only daughter of one of the most protective Alpha werecat has left her feeling like she has few options other than 'obey.' Outside her normal, college student world, female werecats or tabbies as they are known are extremely rare (unlike their male counterparts) and as such are highly prized and, by consequence, highly guarded. Faythe is set never to return home when she meets a stray werecat and finds out that other tabbies have gone missing. Scared and more than a little ticked off to be forced home to face friends and family she thought she'd put behind her, Faythe discovers she isn't the only one who has changed in the last five years.

    Faythe is a believable heroine. Having grown up with four other brothers and an aggressive father, I could totally see her taking down some guy twice her size or at least giving him a piece of her mind. I also found supreme enjoyment in her inability to keep her mouth shut during an argument and the resulting consequences. Highly amusing. The action is set against some truly entertaining encounters with her overbearing brothers and dad, her ex boyfriend Marc, and the potential flame, Jace - these guys have personality to spare and really made every page come alive. I'll be sticking around for sure to see what comes next.
    seemichelleread.blogspot.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5