Customer Reviews for

The Street Lawyer

Average Rating 4
( 360 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(151)

4 Star

(107)

3 Star

(61)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Legal Thrill ride, a must read

In the book, The Street Lawyer, John Grisham pulls us threw the wild adventure that was the main character Michael Brock's last year at the prestigious law-firm of Drake & Sweeny. Michael was a hot shot lawyer in a huge D.C. firm. The money was good, and getting bette...
In the book, The Street Lawyer, John Grisham pulls us threw the wild adventure that was the main character Michael Brock's last year at the prestigious law-firm of Drake & Sweeny. Michael was a hot shot lawyer in a huge D.C. firm. The money was good, and getting better due to the fact of a coming partnership opportunity.

But when a mysterious, and homeless, individual calling himself Mister, enters the firm and start to follow Michael up to the Drake & Sweeny floors, things start to go south for the new lawyer. After cornering many of the managing partners and Michael in a upstairs office, he pulls a gun and tells begins to grill each of them about the greed and lack of donations to the poor by them. After a SWAT team takes down Mister, Michael starts to lose it.

After a large downward spiral and a lot of life changing items, Michael falls upon 14th Street Legal Clinic. The Clinic was established as a free lawyer operation serving the poor. Hard ball lawyer Mordecai Green was Michael's new mentor in the art of Street Law.

The book was amazing, and one of the best Grisham books I've ever read. He expertly portrays the hard and fast life of a lawyer already stretched thin. The best part of the storyline is how he incorporates the normal aspects into the already crazy aspects of life.

Already involved with the near death involving Mister, Michael loses his wife, his car, his apartment and the love of his family. Many of people ask him why did he do it? Why give up all the money and power of a big shot lawyer. Michael ends up with a new life and new love, and most importantly, happiness.

The book was great and is a fabulous read. I highly recommend it.

posted by Johnkeegan93 on October 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Waste of time

Totally unrealistic , nothing clever about this book. A 2 on a 10 scale , don't waste your money

posted by 7127252 on July 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 362 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19
  • Posted October 27, 2010

    Legal Thrill ride, a must read

    In the book, The Street Lawyer, John Grisham pulls us threw the wild adventure that was the main character Michael Brock's last year at the prestigious law-firm of Drake & Sweeny. Michael was a hot shot lawyer in a huge D.C. firm. The money was good, and getting better due to the fact of a coming partnership opportunity.

    But when a mysterious, and homeless, individual calling himself Mister, enters the firm and start to follow Michael up to the Drake & Sweeny floors, things start to go south for the new lawyer. After cornering many of the managing partners and Michael in a upstairs office, he pulls a gun and tells begins to grill each of them about the greed and lack of donations to the poor by them. After a SWAT team takes down Mister, Michael starts to lose it.

    After a large downward spiral and a lot of life changing items, Michael falls upon 14th Street Legal Clinic. The Clinic was established as a free lawyer operation serving the poor. Hard ball lawyer Mordecai Green was Michael's new mentor in the art of Street Law.

    The book was amazing, and one of the best Grisham books I've ever read. He expertly portrays the hard and fast life of a lawyer already stretched thin. The best part of the storyline is how he incorporates the normal aspects into the already crazy aspects of life.

    Already involved with the near death involving Mister, Michael loses his wife, his car, his apartment and the love of his family. Many of people ask him why did he do it? Why give up all the money and power of a big shot lawyer. Michael ends up with a new life and new love, and most importantly, happiness.

    The book was great and is a fabulous read. I highly recommend it.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderfully Written

    Just as the discription says this book by John Grisham is a rollercoaster. You will want to read all night, and you will if you are not careful.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Waste of time

    Totally unrealistic , nothing clever about this book. A 2 on a 10 scale , don't waste your money

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    A must read...

    One of the best books. Very interesting...did not want to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    this is a must read

    very exciting, humbling story. some times having it all can be too much. giving some is so much richer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Awesome

    This book is amazing. I highly recomend it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    Great Book

    This is one of Grisham's best. Highly recommend this along with The Testament.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2009

    An Excellent Choice

    "The Street Lawyer" provides an excellent portrayal of a man who, after a shocking experience that forces him to rethink his priorities, moves from the exclusive halls of corporate law to a position as a poorly-paid advocate for the homeless. His move puts him in direct opposition to his previous firm, who threaten him unless he drops his examination of the work of one of the firm's real estate lawyers.

    The story is surprisingly believable, and, while it is sympathetic to the homeless, it is not saccharine. The resolution is perfect.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent as Usual!

    John Grisham didn't dissapoint me. This book is as good as it gets.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2007

    A great read!!!

    The street lawyer is not one of John's best books, but I really enjoyed it. The story makes you think about the things that are really important in life. Big bucks and big dreams are not the only things that fulfills people hearts. That is what Michael Brock found out in this book when he left what he thought was his career and took a job that was more rewarding. He also learned to assist others less fortunate than him. Pick this book up for a great story of humanity and what is like to care for others.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    Awesome book!

    I loved this book. It wasn't realistic in the sense that a high powered attorney would suddenly grow a conscience and leave a job that he made nearly a million dollars a year from, but then again huge life altering events do have a way of changing you for the better. Either way, I thought that it was a great read, Mike got to stick it to his old firm, even got them involved into his new endevor into helping the homeless and in a perfect world if we all could see the errors of our ways, not let greed control our every thought and action, just think about what a better place this world could be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Rae

    *sighs*....nice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Cloud

    He gets up and leaves

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Sleeper

    I am a huge Grisham fan. But this book was boring and predictable. Grisham has been on personal crusade lately and this book falls right in line with the preachy mindset he has had lately. If I need or wanted to be lectured I would listen to NPR. The book was a waste of time and money.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Better than wat I have been reading lately.

    I liked the parts about the various homeless shelters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Love this!

    Best John Grisham book I've read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Horrible book

    The plot sucked, the charechters were flat. Dont waste your time or money.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    This was the first book I read by Grisham. I just finished it f

    This was the first book I read by Grisham. I just finished it for a second time. To me, this is the first legal thriller where Grisham structures his plot around a serious social issue. Here, it is homelessness. It's definitely a fast read, edge-of-your-seat thriller. But it also has a powerful message. I recommend this book. Solid read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    Long, slow, cardboard characters

    This book is full of cardboard characters and is so heavy in its message that the plot drags along in a slow, laborious crawl. Though Grisham's dialogue and description remain crisp, the plot and character development in this book is lacking. In his attempt to convey the plight of the homeless, Grisham pummels his characters into two-dimensional caricatures and leaves his suspense plot by the wayside. This book is neither subtle nor succinct, making it an ordeal to read. If you're a Grisham fan or interested in public law, then you may want to give this book a go. Otherwise, grab a copy of The Rainmaker or The Firm and read that instead.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    John Grisham is another old time favorite. The Street Lawyer wi

    John Grisham is another old time favorite. The Street Lawyer will give you all the lawyer drama we always expect from John Grisham plus it gives us a look into the lives of the homeless here in our nation.
    Michael Brock along with a number of his colleagues were held hostage by "Mister" a recently evicted/homeless man. That fateful day changes Michael's life significantly. All of a sudden working in a large law firm with a partnership already at his grasp was not important. He sought out the reasons for Mister's actions. He visited soup kitchens, shelters and met the street people. He also met Mordecai Green a street lawyer for the homeless who needed another lawyer to work with him at his free legal clinic. Michael Brock eventually left his high rise office and his rich clients to serve/help poverty stricken clients in an office in a poor neighborhood.
    I would recommend this book. Politically sensitive readers be aware that there is a sentence that goes "thanks to republicans" and another goes "because of republicans". Otherwise, it is a great story with the ability to make you think twice about our priorities.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 362 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19